We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottage Inn & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Cottage Inn & Spa to your Saves list
The Cottage Inn & Spa
310 First Street East, Sonoma, CA 95476   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Special
Ranked #2 of 14 Sonoma B&B and Inns
Duluth, MN
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2008

My wife and I honeymooned in Sonoma and stayed at the Cottage Inn and Spa. We were lucky to pick such a beautiful place to spend our honeymoon. We stayed in the mission suite which was a beautiful room with a jacuzzi tub and its own privite garden. The garden is perfect to have your breakfast of fresh rolls every morning which are hand delivered to your door. The staff was very helpful in recommendations of wineries and resturants to visit. A couples massage from willow is a must as soon as you arrive at the spa. All I know is that we had a great time and will be staying at the cottage inn and spa again the next time we visit sonoma.

  • Liked — Very welcoming.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    58
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
20
465
14
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

Our four days and nights at Cottage Inn & Spa were most relaxing and enjoyable, from the moment we arrived at the property and were greeted in a most welcoming and friendly manner, to the time we checked out to head to San Francisco for a conference.

Cottage Inn & Spa has quite a warm and relaxed ambience throughout the place, and "Good Karma" was readily apparent to me.

The location just one block from Sonoma Town Square is most convenient. There are so many varied restaurants, bars, and wine shops in Sonoma, which gave us ample time to indulge in our passions of food & wine (Hamrony Lounge at The Ledson Hotel, 599 Thai Cafe, The Girl & the Fig, and Cucina Rustica at The Depot Hotel being our favourites).

In-room spa tub was nice and relaxing, with plenty of oils and salts being available to use with the spa.

The room was well stocked with provisions for breakfast (cereals, coffee, tea, milk, orange juice) throughout our four night stay, that more than met our needs (we're not big breakfast eaters) with freshly baked items being delivered outside our door every morning.

Cottage Inn & Spa is a perfect place to stay for a peaceful, quiet, relaxing, and romantic getaway.

  • Liked — Peaceful, quiet, relaxing atmosphere.
  • Disliked — Having to leave...
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

My husband I went to the Cottage Inn and Spa for his 50th birthday and had a wonderful experience. The owners were extremely helpful to us as our info guides around the Sonoma wineries. The Inn was beautifully quaint, clean and convenient. We would definitely book again!

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2008

Faye and Gaeta, the owners of the cottage are great hosts, friendly staff, laid back atmosphere and very helpful in navigating around wine country. Rooms, service, quality and cleanliness are excellent. Good romatic spot and with walking distance to Sonoma town centre, an ideal location to tour the Sonoma and Napa valley regions. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Liked — People, room, decor
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimokenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

We got married in wine country last weekend. Our families stayed in vacation rentals throughout Sonoma while we stayed in the Vineyard View suite at the Cottage Inn and Spa in Sonoma. The room was amazing and the inn was very romantic. Loved it! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape neddick Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

We stayed in the North Suite - It was incredible!

  • Liked — the rooms
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2008

The Cottage Inn and Spa is the perfect place to fall in love or remember why you fell in love in the first place. This couple's retreat exudes romance. We booked directly with the Inn and they were extremely helpful from beginning to end. Before we arrived they sent us area information, vendors and activities which we used in planning our trip. We were not disappointed with any of their recommended vendors.
When we arrived we were greeted by Faye who is extremely warm and genuine and made us feel at home right away. Her love for the inn and making guests experience a special one is apparent in all the details throughout.
We stood in the East Suite which had a fireplace, Jacuzzi and a small private patio with lounge chairs. The room was sparkling clean and inviting. We had a cozy breakfast area where we snacked on the pastries which were delivered each morning. The basket included a sweet saying about love each day. We looked forward to reading the word of the day.
The Inn's location was perfect only a block from the Plaza and within walking distance of some of the wineries. We rented a tandem bike from Good Time Touring and rode to all the wineries within an 8 mile distance. The tour company provided us with a map and helped us plot our course. The bike was in good condition and a fun alternative to driving.
At night we enjoyed sipping wine by the fire at the "Romantico Paradiso" or in our private patio. For my birthday they had given us a bottle of Champagne and had taken care of the arrangements my boyfriend had made. We were sad to leave but look forward to coming back!
I whole heartedly recommend The Cottage Inn and Spa not just as a place to stay but for an "experience".

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cottage Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Inn & Spa

Address: 310 First Street East, Sonoma, CA 95476
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A block from Sonoma’s quaint town square, step into The Cottage Inn &Spa and be transformed by its peaceful courtyards and award-winning Mediterranean architecture. Luxury private suites feature cathedral ceilings, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, and king beds. A Zen Garden Spa offers therapeutic couples massage treatments in a calming atmosphere. Complimentary wine tasting passes to many Sonoma Valley wineries, WIFI and health club privileges are included. Experience romance and relaxation in one of the most charming areas of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Cottage Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage Hotel Sonoma
The Cottage Inn And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cottage Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.