We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Special Sonoma Sanctuary!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottage Inn & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Cottage Inn & Spa to your Saves list
The Cottage Inn & Spa
310 First Street East, Sonoma, CA 95476   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Spa Special
Ranked #2 of 14 Sonoma B&B and Inns
Granada Hills, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A Very Special Sonoma Sanctuary!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Our son was recently married in Sonoma. As part of the wedding weekend arrangements, he and his then fiancee chose this remarkable spot as the place they wanted us, our family and friends to stay. The Inn is comprised of eight unique rooms, and three adjacent cottages, each decortated with a charming, elegant, unique and warm "country" feel. Each room offers its own individual personality with different shower styles, bath tubs (ranging from jacuzzi to soaking), fireplaces (large and small), kitchens (stocked with cereals, in-room coffee and tea service, and preparation areas ranging from full size to a sink and small refrigerator), inviting beds (king or queen) and a fully set dining table for two. Each morning, a basket of fresh baked goodies is delivered just outside your room door affording an "en-suite" breakfast in complete privacy. From the moment you arrive until the moment you leave you are treated as family by the inn's owner, Faye and her remarkable staff, each gracious and eager to assist with virtually any and every request. The Inn is also located an easy, short, one block walk to the charming Sonoma Square with it's beautiful park, array of restaurants, shops and tasting rooms. Though this was one of many visits to Sonoma, it was our first to The Cottage Inn and Spa...and it most definitely will not be our last. If you are considering a trip to Sonoma and planning a visit of one day or more, The Cottage Inn and Spa is where you want to stay.

Room Tip: Each room has its own personality and each is priced to appeal to a different budget, providing you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    58
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
20
465
14
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had the smallest room at the Cottage and loved it! The European bedding, table set for two and window alcove immediately welcomed us into our retreat. The double head (and controlled) shower was another luxury. Everyone is warm, friendly and can't do enough for any request.
Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We could not have been more impressed with everything about The cottage Inn. We just wished we could have stayed longer. On this trip, we only allotted one day to Sonoma before heading to the city. The staff was exceedingly helpful and warm. We stayed in the Mission Suite. The minute we walked in the door, we decided we could just stay forever. There is a private little patio with lounge chairs and a bamboo garden. We enjoyed the selection of soothing and classical CDs on the nice sound system. Everything, including the kitchen, was extremely clean. The little basket of goodies in the morning was a special touch. We will be back- for longer!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We rented the Tulsi Cottage at Cottage Inn & Spa for a full week and the experience was nothing short of fantastic. The cottage is clean and well appointed and the owner and staff are responsive, knowledgeable and professional. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I was invited to big birthday event in Sonoma and needed to find a place to stay. After spending quite some time researching online, I made a reservation for the smallest room at the Cottage Inn and Spa. Good choice on my part! I was upgraded to a generous suite upon check-in which was a complete treat. Everything about the place is fabulous - the decor, the location (one block off the noisy plaza area), the amenities, the staff. I had the pleasure of meeting the owner as I checked out. She gave me a tour of some of the other rooms, including the small room I had reserved. It is much larger than it appears on their website. I will definitely return to Cottage Inn and Spa next time I need a room in Sonoma. They offer a discount for return visits. I compared notes with other friends who stayed at various other places in Sonoma - and it appears, I was the lucky one!

Room Tip: All the rooms I saw are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Great short walk to the wonderful Sonoma square. Room was nice but not perfect. My only recommendation is to update the bed. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Every day we were provided fresh pastries from local bakery and fresh milk, juice & fruit. Room was tiddied up each morning.

They provided a lot of complementary wine tasting coupons and great suggestions of places to go and visit. It was small, quiet, and relaxing. Sonoma square is worth the visit with great shops, winery tasting rooms and top notch restaraunts. Almost every bite of food was locally organic - farm to table.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

As eight people who have known each other for more than forty years, we were astounded to find ourselves at this remarkably lovely hotel that catered to our every needs. Since we were there for five nights, the owners were more than generous to give us information as places to go for restaurants, wineries and local happenings. We would return from our outings to thank the staff for their constant concern and help that they gave us every day. Cottage Inn & Spa is a jewel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cottage Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Inn & Spa

Address: 310 First Street East, Sonoma, CA 95476
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A block from Sonoma’s quaint town square, step into The Cottage Inn &Spa and be transformed by its peaceful courtyards and award-winning Mediterranean architecture. Luxury private suites feature cathedral ceilings, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, and king beds. A Zen Garden Spa offers therapeutic couples massage treatments in a calming atmosphere. Complimentary wine tasting passes to many Sonoma Valley wineries, WIFI and health club privileges are included. Experience romance and relaxation in one of the most charming areas of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Cottage Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage Hotel Sonoma
The Cottage Inn And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cottage Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.