We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST EXPERIENCE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottage Inn & Spa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sonoma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cottage Inn & Spa
310 First Street East, Sonoma, CA 95476   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
July Massage Special
Ranked #1 of 14 Sonoma B&B and Inns
Crescent City, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A MUST EXPERIENCE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Absolutely beautiful, relaxing and luxurious. A class all it's own. No detail left out to comfort and ambiance. Fresh beautiful flowers, and pastries in the morning, such a wonderful touch! 6 stars! Charlie and Denise

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    496
    52
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
19
436
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I decided on an extended stay in Sonoma to get away from the oppressive heat in the South and the Cottage Inn and Spa in Sonoma was the perfect retreat. The location is ideal, half a block from Sonoma Plaza and numerous great dining options, and less than 10 yards from the Sonoma bike trail. The inn feels like you are in the country, very peaceful and quiet, and yet you are within walking distance of vineyards, stores, cheese shops and many excellent restaurants.
The proprietor, Faye, and her staff made us feel welcome and accommodated our every need with grace and enthusiasm. This is a great choice for wine country.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

As part of a Las Vegas and California tour, my fiance and I stayed at The Cottage Inn and Spa - and what an amazing experience we had. We booked the accommodation after reading the great reviews on Tripadvisor and did not regret our decision. We had a two night stay here and were reluctant to leave. We stayed in the new Studio Suite which was lovely with a private outside patio area with sun loungers, which was lovely to sit in at breakfast time enjoying the early morning sunshine. We had fresh organic fruit each morning and the pastries were delicious, with additional cereals and orange juice also provided. All the staff, especially Paula, were a credit to the Inn. We also met the owners Faye and Tom who were delightful and so friendly. We were lucky enough to be in Sonoma when a Summer Festival was held, when the whole town met up in the City Square to party - I have never met so many friendly and accommodating people, most of whom were introduced to us by Paula. We were also provided a free wine "passport" to a number of vineyards and wine tasting rooms, which we used in the town and also while going on our own bike tour of vineyards. Bikes were available to rent from the Inn at $25 each for the day. We were also given a map from the Inn of an 8-mile route to follow - great directions, we never got lost once. An absolute must - highly recommended, you will not be disappointed. We will definately be back!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

The Cottage Inn & Spa is a wonderful place to chill out and re-connect with someone special. Faye, the owner and manger of the Cottage Inn is lovely. She is super friendly and goes out of her way to make you feel welcome and lend a hand if needed. The property is peaceful and gives you that spa type feel. The fountains and sitting areas are great to sit and listen to the breeze while enjoying some fine wine you may have found during your day in the valley. They have a variety of rooms, but if you stay in one of the suites you are sure to be delighted. They are all spacious and well appointed. We stayed in the Mission Suite and had a ton of room. It has a breafast nook/kitchen area that is great if you want to cook something up on your own, but we just used it to have breakfast, grab a snack or a cold drink from a fridge. The room also had 2 outside private access areas to relax in. The first was a nice patio overlooking the street where we sometimes sat and had our breakfast. The other a small area with chaise lounges where you could take a nice nap against a background of bamboo. We also enjoyed watching the "candle" fireplace as another way to unwind. As for location, it is a short walk off the main plaza in Sonoma. This allows walking to shopping and most "in town" dining. Sonoma has many wineries and you are only minutes away from them. Two things to note. First, there are no televisions in the rooms. This was fine for us as we really wanted sometime to "unplug". We popped the I-pod in the music system and relaxed. Second, this is not a traditional B&B in terms of breakfast. The room has cold water, juice, and milk in the fridge along with some fuit to snack on. For breakfast, you get a basket each morning on your door handle with a few muffins or croissants from the local bakery. Their also was a choice of cereal or granola from containers in the room. It was a simple but tasty breakfast, and given our lunches and dinners it was a fine way to start. Each day the basket also had a romantic quote/note with it that was a nice touch. We have stayed many placed around the world, but this one was special and we expect to make a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My wife and I were in town for just one night. Now I wish we had stayed a week. The ladies that run Cottage Inn think of everything. Candles, wine corkscrew, fresh fruit in your room on arrival, and fresh pastries waiting at your door in the morning. The Inn is just one block from the town's historic square making it a convenient walk but away from the traffic (what little there is).

They even give you a free wine tasting card to take with you to the wineries.

I just can't say enough about this place. You'll want to go back!

Room Tip: If there's availability, ask for a room with a fireplace and/or jacuzzi tub. The fireplace in ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed at the Cottage Inn & Spa based on the recommendations here on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed! The Inn is ideally located only 2 blocks from the downtown Plaza, so we were able to walk into town for dinner each night. The Inn is also only 1 block from the Sonoma bike trail, perfect for an afternoon bike ride! Everyone at the Inn was very friendly and eager to make recommendations. We were able to rent bikes right from the Inn and they also provided us with a good map for a recommended bike route.

Another great value was the B&B Wine Tasting Card, which provided us with complimentary tastings at over 20 wineries.

The Inn itself is beautiful. It feels like an old spanish villa with the white buildings, plants and fountains everywhere. Our room faced a small courtyard where we could enjoy breakfast and could relax with a book in the afternoon.

I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

My fiancé and I arrived to California for our July elopement at a local vineyard. We were delighted to find that our accommodations for the two day stay - the Cottage Inn and Spa - completely exceeded both of our expectations. Faye, the proprietor, was absolutely wonderful, our east room suite was clean, bright and beautiful, and the Inn was just steps away from the charming downtown Sonoma. We especially loved the private patio and the fresh fruits, juice, and baked goods delivered every morning! We can't rave enough about this place, it was great for us. We'd definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Cottage Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Inn & Spa

Address: 310 First Street East, Sonoma, CA 95476
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A block from Sonoma’s quaint town square, step into The Cottage Inn &Spa and be transformed by its peaceful courtyards and award-winning Mediterranean architecture. Luxury private suites feature cathedral ceilings, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, and king beds. A Zen Garden Spa offers therapeutic couples massage treatments in a calming atmosphere. Complimentary wine tasting passes to many Sonoma Valley wineries, WIFI and health club privileges are included. Experience romance and relaxation in one of the most charming areas of the world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cottage Hotel Sonoma
The Cottage Inn And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cottage Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Cottage Inn & Spa to your Saves list