We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be sure to eat here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of LaSalette Restaurant

LaSalette Restaurant
452 1st St E, Suite H, Sonoma, CA 95476-6757
707-938-1927
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
LaSalette Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 107 Restaurants in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Brazilian, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Spain Street
Description: Fresh, Inventive Mediterranean and Iberian Cuisine in the heart of the Sonoma Valley Wine Country. Seafood and Portuguese Cuisine are our specialties. We offer a unique variety of fresh local and imported seafood specials daily including whole fish. The seafood selections on our menu are complimented by a variety of meat dishes ranging from the popular Pork Tenderloin stuffed with almonds, olives and figs to the, hard to find, Tripe Porto Style. Many of these dishes come steaming hot out of the wood-burning oven and fill the dining room with the exotic aromas of true Mediterranean cuisine. The menu reflects the commitment of Chef and Owner Manuel Azevedo to creating the unique culinary delights of his native Portugal and its neighbors. LaSalette Restaurant is proudly one of Zagat Surveys top rated restaurants in Sonoma. See our web site for the complete menu and a look inside our dining room, which features an open kitchen and decor that sends you back in time to old Lisbon.
Toronto
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Be sure to eat here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

if you like refined tasting food and a quiet European atmosphere. While the menu focuses on seafood(and it is good), don't rule out trying the pork loin with its subtle stuffing of fig, olive and almonds. Our puppy enjoyed her drink on the patio.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    112
    31
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Lovely environment and delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

A friend and I had a long, leisurely and lovely lunch at LaSalette which bills itself as Cozinha Nova Portuguesa. On this early Spring day, there was a bit too much wind for us to sit outside on their patio and, instead, we sat inside in their very nice dining room. First we were served an amuse bouche which was a slice of linguica with melted cheese and an olive. While there were many recognizable Portugese dishes on the menu including Caldo Verde and a Paella we opted for more standard fare. She had a BLT on wheat and cole slaw. I had the fish and chips which were not greasy at all and delightfully seasoned. At the end of the meal we were served a scrumptious truffle -- just a bite -- a dessert amuse bouche. The lunch prices were very reasonable . The restaurant is in a great location right off the Square.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

The food was terrific. The restaurant and servers were warm and helpful. It is a small and busy place and one can tell that the chef cares greatly about quality and presentation.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unique and wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Had a large group (8) for dinner. Food was outstanding. Unique choices that satisfied everyone in the group. Well worth the visit.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Awesome food but simply not enough of it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

The food here is terrific. I loved my meal. However, I could have eaten two of what they gave me. It was too expensive for the amount of food. There is a hostess/manager there who works as a Jill of All Trades and she just seemed to keep the place humming. I was impressed watching her. The service was ok, but I felt rushed and I wanted to relax and spend more time there. I would not go back unless I went somewhere else for apps first!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LaSalette Restaurant also viewed

Sonoma, Sonoma County
 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to LaSalette Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LaSalette Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.