We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hamburger” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saddles Steakhouse - MacArthur Place

Saddles Steakhouse - MacArthur Place
29 East MacArthur Place, Sonoma, CA 95476
707-933-3191
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 107 restaurants in Sonoma
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hwy 12/Broadway
Description: As Sonoma's premiere steakhouse, we specialize in artesian raised beef, USDA prime steaks, chops, and fresh seafood. Saddles martini bar offers over fourteen signature oversized martinis. Saddles wine list has earned the Wine Spectator's "Award of Excellence" the past two years. Saddles is located in our historic barn. Relax and enjoy comfortable leather sofas, original paintings and unique seating in authentic western saddles. Outdoor dining is also available on our beautiful veranda.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Hamburger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We ate diner at Saddles two evenings during our stay at Macarthur Place. The first night we enjoyed some of the best burgers ever in the tavern/lounge. Our second dinner was in the actual restaurant. 2 of us opted for steak. The steak was good but I would not consider it more than average. The service was prompt and friendly. My wife was so pleased from our previous visit she asked for a burger from the tavern menu while the rest of us went for steak. The waiter said it is restaurant policy to not allow diners in the restaurant to see the tavern menu. He could bring a burger but my wife needed to go to the tavern to pick out her food. That seemed a little odd and unfriendly. Otherwise Saddles is an average to very good restaurant. Are entire party agreed after the average steak and troublesome hamburger ordering that we probably should have eaten somewhere else. The great burgers save this from being an "Average" rating.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    62
    40
    14
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East Of Eden
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Hard to Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Since we weren't staying at the Hotel, even with a GPS, it was not easy to find, because we didn't know it was in a hotel until after we had driven the street a couple of times. Food was excellent. Service efficient and personable. Beautiful place with a lovely veranda for dining.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“and they also serve Merlot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Looking for an wine/steakhouse experience similar to the scenes in "Sideways" we choose this steakhouse and was not dissappointed. I expected a good steak and the filet produced. All sides are al la carte and the wine list is extensive. Wait staff was very friendly and attentive but not hovering...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great decor and good food but slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

If you are a beef lover, you'll enjoy Saddles. French fried onion rings or calamari are best shared
which is something a waiter should advise but didn't. Food is nicely prepared but they would benefit from more staff as service was a bit slow - 3 hours for dinner... Next time we'll advise that we are on a timeline.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a very comfortable hotel restaurant in the heart of Sonoma. The restaurant decor was relaxing and friendly, we had a corner table. The menu was very nice as was the wine list. Our server was extremely pleasant and knowledgeable. From appetizers to salads to main courses the service and timing were excellent. This will definitely be a restaurant we will visit again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saddles Steakhouse - MacArthur Place also viewed

 

Been to Saddles Steakhouse - MacArthur Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saddles Steakhouse - MacArthur Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.