We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ledson” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ledson Hotel & Centre du Vin

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sonoma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ledson Hotel & Centre du Vin
480 First Street East, Sonoma, CA 95476   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 Complimentary Tastings
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Sonoma
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“ledson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

BEYOND beautiful, accommodating and hospitable! Justin, Travis, Angel and Michelle did an awesome job taking care of us. everything was very classy and high end. from the bathroom marble to the hard wood floors to the furniture to the paint on the walls. the food was incredible! the complimentary breakfast was delicious and substantial. every drink we had was tasty. HIGHLY recommend!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    7
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
56
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The rooms are exquisite. With only 6, there is an obvious need to book ahead, but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Staff is attentive.
Other review that considers the breakfast to be limited is certainly accurate -- don't stay here for the breakfast! We did find the view, bed, furnishings to be excellent, competing with some of the wonderful hotels we have visited in Paris, London, Chicago & NY.
Definitely do the private tour of the Ledson Winery, as that elevates the experience to truly unique and undoubtedly positively biases your opinion, but it is part of what you pay for!

Room Tip: Views of the square!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The rooms were a step back in time. Done very much in old European style with lot of marble, a fireplace, and some other interesting touches. At first glance it seemed really nice. Internet and entertainment system worked very well. The bed was not good. Lumpy mattress with flaccid pillows, some of which were down with feathers coming through them. Upon arriving we were given a card with a person who we could call after hours for all of our needs. His name as Angel and he was very attentive. He seems to be the jack-of-all-trades at this hotel and appears to do everything from cook breakfast to cleaning the rooms and making the beds. He was great, but that's about where the greatness ends. Breakfast was an issue. Very sparse and oddly placed in the restaurant. We were not told when breakfast would be served an upon arriving, what little food their was was covered in plastic wrap. We were somewhat unsure as whether or not to help ourselves or not. When we turned around we did see a person there and we introduced ourselves and she introduced herself as Michelle. We did ask if the granola provided at breakfast had peanuts as my wife is allergic to peanuts, but she told us that it was not made on premises and could not tell us what the granola had in it. The quiche at breakfast was watery and and the only other thing to eat was some julienne of apples and slices strawberries with some yogurt parked off to the side. I guess if you really, really want to stay on the plaza in Sonoma then you might want to stay here. For the price of the stay I would probably stay elsewhere. It just was not our cup of tea. The private tasting they give you at the Ledson Winery is truly spectacular and we thoroughly enjoyed that perk.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms in front of the hotel that overlook the plaza. We spoke to a couple who had rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel was top notch, my favorite of the three we've stayed at in Sonoma over the last few years! Only 6 rooms, so very personalized, and all the staff was quite nice. Breakfast included each morning was very tasty, and they even brought it up to our room one morning unprompted when my sister and I were moving slowly! The included tour at their winery was nice, and the grounds were quite beautiful. The rooms were elegant, and the balcony over looking Sonoma square was very fun. The only thing this hotel misses is a spa, but we just booked our services at MacArthur place, just a few minutes away, where we'd strayed before. I'd choose to stay at this hotel again, over the others I'd been too, as it's location, coupled to the experience, can't be beat in Sonoma.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to overlook the square!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

My fiancée and I stayed at the Ledson this past weekend. What an incredible experience! The first thing we noticed was the incredible location. The Ledson is located right in the heart of Sonoma Plaza. The rooms are absolutely magnificent. We stayed in Williams's Room, which was the most luxurious and elaborate room in which I have ever stayed. The room comes with a complimentary wine tasting in their restaurant Centre du Vin, as well as a private VIP tasting in a castle at Ledson Vineyard. What an incredible experience that was! The service was magnificent. The hotel has a do-it-all employee named Angel who makes amazing frittatas and fruit salad for breakfast, prepares the rooms, helps with bags, and gives hotel history and neighborhood recommendations. His bright personality and kindness really takes the Ledson from being good to great. I would highly recommend this hotel, especially if you're in sonoma for a special occasion. Worth the price!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

The Ledson is a perfect place to relax and decompress. My wife and I stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed every minute. The rooms are opulent and the history connected with the property is fascinating. Michelle and her staff do an excellent job of making you feel at home and the experience is first rate for those seeking peace and quiet. The location is right downtown and convenient to restaurants and other activities. There are only 6 rooms so book in advance!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was one of my favorite hotel stay experiences I've ever had, and I travel quite frequently with work. It is a boutique hotel, only 6 rooms and everyone goes home at 9pm. The room is excellent, the shower itself deserves a special praise and I thought the staff were excellent - everything the concierge Vinny recommended was excellent. We ate several meals there, including an excellent lamb shank - recommended by the chef himself. It's right in the heart of Sonoma, walking distance to everything. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ledson Hotel & Centre du Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ledson Hotel & Centre du Vin

Address: 480 First Street East, Sonoma, CA 95476
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sonoma
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ledson Hotel is situated on the historic Sonoma Plaza. The 14-acre plaza was the birthplace of the state of California and is also home to the last mission on the El Camino Real. Richly appointed with antique grandeur and paired with modern amenities, each elegant room reflects a different personality. Visit the lounge and bar for a glass of wine, cocktails, mouth-watering light-fare and the occasional top flight national music act. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ledson Hotel And Centre Du Vin
Ledson Hotel Sonoma
Ledson Hotel Harmony Lounge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ledson Hotel & Centre du Vin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ledson Hotel & Centre du Vin to your Saves list