We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in wine country” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn to your Saves list
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   630 Broadway, Sonoma, CA 95476   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Celebration Package
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence 2014
NY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great stay in wine country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Large,pretty rooms with fireplace. Many have patios as well. Inn staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast options changed daily. Afternoon wine and cheese is a nice touch. I look forward to trying another Four Sisters property.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    150
    38
    8
    5
See reviews for
38
423
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We loved our stay at the Inn at Sonoma! The staff was SO friendly, and our room was adorable and a very nice size. The nightly rate was very reasonable compared to other B&Bs, and included complementary wine and snacks in addition to a truly delicious breakfast. The Inn is walking distance to all the restaurants and shops of the main plaza, but isn't too noisy or busy outside.We enjoyed everything about our stay and would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

There were some nice factors if you are considering a stay here. It’s in a good location (easy walk to the plaza), cute, and it’s clean. The staff was also very nice. We left very early so we didn't have a chance to have breakfast, but they did have cookies out which was a nice touch. However, for us, it wasn’t enough. The bed was very uncomfortable, sheets and comforter were rough, and the air conditioner was very, very loud. I’m a light sleeper so rather made it impossible to sleep. Even my husband, who is a very sound sleeper, had trouble staying asleep. I thought for the price, it should have been a bit nicer. I can easily see how this would be a good choice for some, but just not for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSInns, Manager at Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the staff, location and cookies during your recent stay. I was dismayed to read that the bed, a new Serta pillow top, was not to your liking and that the air conditioning was noisy. While we have not experienced other problems with that unit, I certainly wish we had been notified so that we could have had our maintenance team inspect it for adjustments.

I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. Should your travels bring you back to California, and you experience a similar situation, please contact one of our staff so that we can immediately address the situation. My entire staff and I are dedicated to providing guests with a wonderful stay, and so hope that you give us another try.

Gina Massolo
Regional Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Joseph,
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We just spent 4 nights at the Inn at Sonoma. There are many positives with the Inn. Nice location in a quaint town. Easy walking distance to restaurants, wine tasting venues and shopping. Good breakfast and afternoon wine and snacks. However, you need to choose your room wisely or you could be disappointed. We stayed in the newer rooms, not the main building. Our room #27 was small and our bed very uncomfortable. The beds in the newer building are very low to the floor and again, soft and not comfortable. Our sink in the bathroom was quite small and annoying. The rooms in the main building had normal beds and the rooms appeared much more appealing. Another plus to staying in the main building is the hot tub is on the second level of this facility. In order to use the hot tub if you are in the newer building you have to walk across the parking lot, we didn't use it.
I would stay here again, but only if I could get a room in the main building.

Room Tip: Away from the road and in the main building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Rooms great, service excellent, with complementary wine and cheese late afternoon, and a truly excellent breakfast. Also central to the square and restaurants. Great atmosphere to the place also, particularly noted once back in San Francisco in one of the large chain hotels.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts,UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Not quite sure why this is rated highly by so many people. Yes, it's in a very convenient location only 5 minutes walk to the plaza but the building itself is off a suburban road between a petrol station and a school so not a 'great' location by any stretch of the imagination. The rooms are not overlarge but have enough room for a couple of armchairs with doors to a small balcony either over-looking the school if you are on the second floor at the back or with no view at all if you are on the ground floor. The first night we were on the second floor (115?) but had the worst nights sleep in the 3 weeks we spent in California due to the noise from either a/c or an extractor or pump that was on continuously - it was never established whether this was in an adjacent room or part of the hotel systems. We were moved to a ground floor room for the second night and this was fine. Afternoon canapés were good but if you're going to serve wine in a wine area then please make sure it's drinkable - even if it's free. Staff were generally very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

My wife and I just finished a 3-night stay here. You need to understand what you are getting before you book a stay here. The Inn is located a short walk from the square in the city of Sonoma. This hotel is not a high-end spa resort. It's a small (less than 30 rooms) inn that is located in town. It's not close to a vineyard or out in the country. It's set back off a main drag with a couple smaller buildings out front in the parking lot. One is a tiny office and the other is an annex containing a couple additional rooms. Yes, there's a gas station on the corner and you can see it from your balcony if you have a room that faces the street. However it does not have a big neon sign. There's also a daycare center behind the hotel and you can hear the kids during the day.

All that being said, I like this hotel. It is extremely well taken care of and is spotlessly clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was on the second floor and faced the street, #19. It had a nice king-sized bed, two comfortable chairs, a nice balcony with a table and chairs, and was nicely decorated with yellow-striped wallpaper. There was plenty of lighting in order to read. The bathroom was good-sized. My only issue with the bathroom was the sink. It was a shallow bowl with a faucet that stuck out awkwardly and had a funky lever for controlling the water. The shower was normal-sized and the water pressure was strong. Although our room faced the street, the noise was minimal and did not impact our sleep.
The hotel lacks a swimming pool, but does have a large hot tub on the second floor. The lobby/reception area is large and nice. This is also where the hotel serves breakfast every morning and has an afternoon wine reception. We only attended the reception once. There were only a couple of other people there. But the wine was fine ( one red, one white). The appetizers where basic cheese, crackers, and a hot items that was pastry with some type of filling. Breakfast was okay, French toast one day and an egg dish the second day. Always some kind of baked good, a couple types of cold cereal, juice and coffee. They also have cookies available in the lobby all day which were just fine.
Overall, was happy with our stay and would consider staying again if we wanted to be in Sonoma proper.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn

Address: 630 Broadway, Sonoma, CA 95476
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fall in love with the quiet pace, beautiful vistas and fabulous food and wine of the Sonoma Valley. Coupled with a year-round temperate climate, this is a wonderful place to explore - no matter what the season. Conveniently located just two blocks from the historic Sonoma Plaza, the Inn at Sonoma is the perfect destination for your Wine Country visit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Sonoma - a Four Sisters Hotel Sonoma
Inn At Sonoma - a 4 Sisters Inn
Hotel Sonoma
Inn Sonoma
Sonoma Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.