We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing stay for a Four Sisters” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn to your Saves list
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   630 Broadway, Sonoma, CA 95476   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Second Night Free!*
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing stay for a Four Sisters”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We've stayed in several Four Sisters Inns (Blue Lantern several times, Inn at Harbor Steps in Seattle - no longer part of the chain, and one on Whidbey Island) and have always loved them. This was a major disappointment. Likely because we stayed in the new annex and not the original building. It seemed to be a case of decoration over comfort. The furnishings were very modern, the headboard of the bed a metal sheet which, unfortunately "boinged" whenever you leaned on it, then again whenever you left. The "reading" lights were drop lamps over the bed that were above your tummy and so shone in you eyes, not on your book. Their chairs were hard and uncomfortable. There was no decent place to read in the room. The bathroom light came on automatically when the bathroom was entered, awaking anyone in the room. All in all very disappointing as the room certainly isn't inexpensive and we'd come to expect so much from the Four Sisters.

Room Tip: Don't know for sure, but rooms in the original building seemed much more comfortable - we inspec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    138
    37
    7
    5
See reviews for
32
385
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
White Lake, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here as we had a wine day planned for our honeymoon. It is centrally based right off the downtown square. We were not able to check in early, but they did call us when our room was ready. We had lunch in the park at La Basque, awesome deli! The front desk was helpful in printing out maps and showing the attractions of the town. They have wine & cheese in the afternoon & fresh baked cookies in the evening. Great rooms, quiet, clean and updated bathrooms! Would highly recommend staying here while in Sonoma!

Room Tip: Choose an upper level floor for privacy & views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This inn had a great location, easy walking to downtown. Very clean, up to date, and easy to get to. Wine and cheese in the afternoon was opportunity to mix with other guests and sample some local wines. Breakfast was very good. Room was clean and had all the amenities we expected.
Highly recommended for a stay in Sonoma

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We spent two nights at the Inn at Sonoma and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We got there after the welcome wine and appetizers had been put away and they graciously made us an appetizer plate with wine even though it was late. Robert was particularly helpful in mapping a bike route for us and suggesting some great local restaurants for dinner. Our room had a fireplace and deck so it was quite comfortable. We also stayed at another Four Sisters Inn at Healdsburg the night before and they consistently do a good job. The breakfast, hot tub and bikes are nice amenities as well. We would definitely return or stay at others in this family of hotels.

Room Tip: The rooms with private decks are a nice treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights as we traveled from San Francisco to Sonoma to Napa. Hotel was great location and very comfortable. Enjoyed Tuesday night - market night- in the Sonoma Plaza only a block away. We will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My wife and I planned this trip to celebrate our 40th Anniversary so it was important that our hotel accommodations by intimate yet first class. The Inn at Sonoma, a Four Sisters Inn met our expectations during our 3 day stay. The hotel itself was charming and our room, with its corner fireplace, was elegant. The private balcony was a real plus. I can't say enough about the staff. They were friendly, professional and their wine tour and restaurant recommendations were on target. We also really enjoyed the delicious breakfasts and the late afternoon wine tastings.....A great opportunity to meet and talk with other guests. We would definitely stay there or at a sister property on a future trip.

Room Tip: Would definitely recommend the King Deluxe room. Our room was on the west side of the hotel facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We spent three nights here recently and it was nice. The room was comfortable, quiet, and clean, and we appreciated the mini fridge and coffee maker. We also enjoyed the breakfast buffet each morning, although I really wish they would set it out earlier (it starts at 8:00am). The staff were helpful and friendly. I have no complaints, except regarding the price. While the place was nice, there was nothing exceptional that warranted the nearly $300/night that we paid for a ground floor room that wasn’t a suite. No view, no spaciousness, just nothing to set it apart from other nice places I’ve stayed that were over $100 less per night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn

Address: 630 Broadway, Sonoma, CA 95476
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fall in love with the quiet pace, beautiful vistas and fabulous food and wine of the Sonoma Valley. Coupled with a year-round temperate climate, this is a wonderful place to explore - no matter what the season. Conveniently located just two blocks from the historic Sonoma Plaza, the Inn at Sonoma is the perfect destination for your Wine Country visit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Sonoma - a 4 Sisters Inn
Inn At Sonoma - a Four Sisters Hotel Sonoma
Hotel Sonoma
Inn Sonoma
Sonoma Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.