We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills, but clean” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sonoma Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sonoma Creek Inn to your Saves list
Sonoma Creek Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   239 Boyes Blvd., Sonoma, CA 95476   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 Sonoma B&B and Inns
Los Angeles
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No frills, but clean”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2009

This place looks like a converted motel. The rooms are clean but absolutely no frills. The bed was a full which is kind of small. The heater was really noisy so it was impossible to have it on at night and we had to really heat up the room before going to bed but by morning we were freezing. I was shocked to see that we actually had a coffee maker, (that was the only "frill"). Perhaps the worst part were the sheets. They were really harsh and scratchy with the pillows being lumpy. There was also more street noise than I would have prefered but I guess that gets tuned out when you fall asleep.

The thing that really bothered me was that the office staff went home at 6pm and we're back until 9am so there was no one to ask any advice about local stuff or directions or anything.

It's not right in the central part of town but it's just a short 7 minutes drive.

Also, on this website it's lested as a B&B but it's really not - it's a motel.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    84
    32
    13
    2
See reviews for
16
101
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

Vacationing in Sonoma isn't cheap. But staying at the Sonoma Creek Inn is easy on the wallet. For less than half the price of the Sonoma Mission Inn up the street, you get a large clean room with a fridge, a private little outdoor courtyard with a fountain where two can sip their free bottle of wine given to the guests upon arrival. The manager had all the skill and knowledge of a concierge at a five star hotel. She was able to give us numerous options in terms of local restaurants, sites and entertainment. The place was clean and quiet. A fine breakfast and lunch restaurant is right around the corner from the hotel and it opens at 7 AM so you can get a good cup of coffee or a latte. The hotel is located on the Glen Ellen (west) side of town--and although it is not within walking distance of the plaza, it's a five minute drive. Why spend twice as much for a hotel when you can use the money to purchase a few bottles of Sonoma wine?

  • Liked — affordable
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

When you drive into the parking lot you are suspicious. The outward appearance is not encouraging. However, the service at the front desk; the room; the patio; the cleanliness; the price; and the location all made this a wonderul 5 day stay for us. We were very impressed with how clean the room maids kept the room and their attention to detail. My wife smokes and she used our outdoor patio (room 8) for that; very convenient. The internet connection was very good; TV selection was also very good. The room was small but there was plenty of room to stash stuff in the closet; in the drawers under the TV; and next to the desk, along the walls, and next to the reading chair. The bathroom was large enough with plenty of counter space. Best of all, this hotel is centrally located; only 8-10 minutes from the square in Sonoma and right in the middle of plenty of wineries. Also, there is a 7-11 down the street (.4 miles, I measured) to the west where one can get newspapers; and a very good coffee shop (The Barking Dog, also .4 miles in the other direction). We felt very safe at this hotel even though it is in the middle of a working class neighborhood with some traffic. The owner's and manager's attention to detail made the difference for our stay. When we go back, this place will be our choice.

  • Liked — Cleanliness; location
  • Disliked — Neighborhood
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2008

Found this small Inn (16 units) through the AAA travel guide, bit hidden away, but worth it. Rate was reasonable due to walking in and getting the last room. The patio is the best, spanish/meditteranian style, room was clean and location not far from down town. Gentleman who checked us in, was very helpful with directions, restaurants, etc. Breakfast at the attached cafe was tasty and plenty. Really enjoyed this hotel with personality.

  • Liked — the meditterranian style & patio
  • Disliked — hidden, needs a better signage from main road
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2008

I chose this hotel because at $169 a night it was the most affordable option for a room in Sonoma on Memorial Day weekend. It is located in a somewhat falling-down residential neighborhood, but don't let that scare you as you drive up. We reserved one of the less expensive rooms, which was on the first floor with the window facing the parking lot. It was nice and quiet with no road noise.

The room itself was nicely decorated with a comfortable bed and pillows. It was also very clean. Our bathroom was spacious with plenty of hot water and a minifridge under the sink.

The woman working the front desk when we got there was very helpful. We were headed to a festival in downtown Sonoma and she gave us directions and tips on where to park to avoid the crowds.

The little cafe attached to the hotel is very tasty and clearly popular with the locals. Try the french toast!

All in all, I was very happy with this great little inn. The rates are very affordable for Sonoma and it was everything we need from a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the SCI during valentines/presidents day weekend with another couple. We had the two balcony rooms between us. Although, we had beautiful weather, the evenings were too cool to use the patio outside of our rooms.

We actually liked the rooms. There were two negatives that I will address. First, the queen size bed was too small. We're used to a King so that was a bummer. The room wasn't huge so I get it. Second, like other travellers mentioned there is definately noise from the road out back. The SCI is not on a busy main road, but a busy side street and the noise woke me up a couple of times.

The room itself was small, but clean and had everything you would need. Oddly, we really liked the sink/shower fixtures. They were very nice. The shower great pressure and was very high. I am 6'3" and hate going to a shower with a head that is 5 feet. I was really happy to not have to bend over to wash my hair.

The SCI is very convenient to everything you need to do in Sonoma. It's only a few miles from sonoma square and about 20 minutes from Santa Rosa. There are some beautiful wineries just minutes up the road.

This is a great place for someone that wants a clean and convenient place to stay. We would definately stay there again.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — Road noise
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2008

This is my third stay at the Sonoma Creek Inn. The balcony rooms are particularly enjoyable for sitting outside (if the weather is nice). Unfortunately, during this stay the weather was very chilly. The blankets and bed spread were very light and due to the cold weather, we needed to turn on the room heaters which were extremely loud. All three room heaters were so loud that they woke up all of our friends several times throughout the night. The traffic noise outside the windows was also a bit loud at random times.

On the positive side, the hotel is very inexpensive for the general area. The restaurant attached to the hotel is very good. The rooms were clean and parking is free.

Be aware that there are no wineries or shops within walking distance, in fact, we didn't feel very comfortable walking very far from the hotel at night.

The front desk closes at night, if you are going to arrive late, make sure you advise the hotel prior to arrival!

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonoma Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonoma Creek Inn

Address: 239 Boyes Blvd., Sonoma, CA 95476
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sonoma Creek Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sonoma on Boyes Boulevard, just down the road from the world-renowned Sonoma Mission Inn, the Sonoma Creek Inn offers an affordable and casual alternative to pricey wine country Sonoma hotels - without sacrificing style and convenience. GUESTROOMSSonoma Creek Inn's 16 updated hotel rooms don't skimp on amenities. Many rooms have private outdoor patios or porches - just the ticket for relaxation after a busy day exploring the wine country. SPECIALSAvailable select times of the year, unbeatable specials, discounts and packages are offered. Check out our specials by clicking here and be sure to sign up on our email list to receive periodic offers. SONOMA LOCATIONThe neighborhood is close to wineries, parks and the downtown area of Sonoma is just a short drive away, with its historic Plaza, innovative restaurants and enticing shops. Our staff can assist you with arrangements for fun things to do in town such as tennis or golf at a nearby course in Sonoma, or an afternoon of pampering at the local spa while staying at our Sonoma hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sonoma Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonoma Creek Hotel Sonoma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonoma Creek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.