We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Pueblo Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added El Pueblo Inn to your Saves list
El Pueblo Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   896 W. Napa St., Sonoma, CA 95476   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very nice place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Staff is extraordinarily friendly. Rooms are very clean and beds are comfortable. We were on ground floor so there was little light in the rooms. The interior little garden is very nice and swimming pool is clean. Breakfast is very good (fruits, cereals, bread, ...). You can even walk to the center of Sonoma if you wanna drink and not drive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stella-Ashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaala S, Public Relations Manager at El Pueblo Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Stella-Ashley,

Thank you so very much for your review! I'm very glad that your stay with us was comfortable and I hope that you will stay with us again soon!

All of us here at El Pueblo sincerely appreciate your business.

Thank you,

Kaala Stewart
El Pueblo Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Phila.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Loved this place ! Great rooms, walking distance to downtown. rooms were very nice, hot tub & pool were great after a ling day of wine tasting. Free breakfast was very nice.

Best part was helpful Staff, (especially Michelle), who gave us excellent recommendations, discount tickets and local info on where to go and what to do, especially since we had not been there before.
Definitely would recommend and go back there.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the patio room for a great view of the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaala S, Public Relations Manager at El Pueblo Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear jimsun,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review- we appreciate it!

Thank you also for your business. It sounds like you enjoyed your stay in Sonoma- we hope you'll visit wine country again soon!

Best Regards,

Kaala Stewart
El Pueblo Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with mother & sister but the rooms have such a lovely courtyard view that it would be a romantic getaway. This was one of the hotels we got info about from the visitors center in Sonoma. Also was given a great rate. Comfortable clean room with lovely balcony view of courtyard. Very friendly helpful staff. Simple good breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjcannon63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaala S, Public Relations Manager at El Pueblo Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear sjcannon63,

Thank you for staying with us! We truly appreciate your business and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Thank you again, and we hope that you will return to Sonoma soon!

Kindest Regards,

Kaala Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I took my 11-year-old daughter and her friend for an overnight. The place was spotlessly clean, the gardens were well-maintainted, and the pool was clean and not crowded. This is a nice family place -- kids are welcome, even in the hot tub which is not scalding. It's also close to the Sonoma town square, so you can walk to restaurants and wine tasting rooms, or take a very quick drive. The staff was friendly. The only reason I am not giving it 5 stars is that the place is a little dated...but kept in great condition. As someone mentioned, El Pueblo is near a busy road, but the rooms are on the inside of the property, next to a fountain, so you never hear traffic. The pool, also next to the road, has well-kept gardens and a tall fence, so you also are unaware of the traffic. There's even a small exercise room, and plush pool towels. A great, affordable family spot.

Room Tip: Some rooms are suites with fireplaces so decide what fits your bill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SFFoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaala S, Public Relations Manager at El Pueblo Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear SFFoodies,

(We love your username!)
Thank you for taking the time to review us- we appreciate feedback!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Sonoma!
Thank you for the lovely compliments on our property and we sincerely hope to see you again.

We appreciate your business,

Kaala Stewart
El Pueblo Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

this place was really nice. The exterior does look a tad dated but don't skip this over this inn. The room (the California), was clean and comfortable, (the bed especially, not old, or lumpy), it was a large king and the linens did not look like "hotel" linens, they were contemporary. Our room had some nice touches I very rarely see...a night light, eye makeup remover cloths, and tea and hot cocoa options along with liquid coffee creamer). The complimentary breakfast area is small, but, but had a decent variety of edibles. I've seen a few complaints about the televisions not being a modern flat panel, my response to that is; why on Earth would you be on vacation to watch TV!? But I digress...this place is an affordable gem and I will return to El Pueblo Inn should I go back to the area again...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morebidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaala S, Public Relations Manager at El Pueblo Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hello Morebidd and thank you for your review!

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt comfortable in your room.

Thank you for your business,

Kaala Stewart
El Pueblo Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I always prefer independent hotels with a bit of a local vibe. I stayed here on a series of trips and always had an equally good stay - an exceptional one if you consider that it was half the price of other Sonoma hotels! It's located in the town of Sonoma, just a couple miles from the downtown square. The staff is friendly & helpful - even remembering me and asking if I wanted the same room on the return trips. The Adobe rooms are in the older section of the building. They're smaller & decorated in a rustic California feel. They're a great value! The Sonoma rooms are more modern & larger, with a gas fireplace and balcony area. Some guests may be more comfortable in these, but there is a cost difference!
There's a small but nice outdoor pool and hot tub surrounded by garden. There's also a small workout area with some machines & room to stretch. The hotel offers free wifi and a basic continental breakfast - bagels, muffins, yogurt, cereal, coffee.
The staff also tipped me off to the fact that their drop-in rate is lower than the post prices - I saved quite a bit on on mid-week trip! But do know they're usually booked on weekends. Use this tip at your own risk.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vinochica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaala S, Public Relations Manager at El Pueblo Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear La_Vino_Chica,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review!

We are so very glad to hear that you have enjoyed staying with us and we hope to see you again. Thank you for your business!

Best Regards,

Kaala Stewart
El Pueblo Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our stay here was very nice. We had a "Sonoma" room on the first floor, which meant we had a patio facing the gardens. It was a nice way to relax in the afternoon. The room itself was well furnished and comfortable. Even though the inn is situated next to a somewhat busy road, the rooms are located inward somewhat, so we noticed no road noise, and our room was one of the closer ones to the road. The provided breakfast was more than adequate for my tastes.

For the price, this is a very good option. My only real complaint is one that can be predicted: it's about a mile walk to town, so it's not quite as convenient for walking to dinner. We walked the first night we were here, and there is not sidewalk all the way, so it involves a bit of walking in the road (not much). The second night we simply drove.

If you're looking for a central place to drive to wineries, this really can't be beat. If you want a quick walk into town, you might want to pick a closer location.

Room Tip: There is a gourmet market about a 5 minute walk down the road that is extremely well stocked for a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaala S, Public Relations Manager at El Pueblo Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Scott B.,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review!
We're glad that your stay was comfortable and we are sorry that we're not closer to town...
We sure wish we were a little bit closer!

Thank you again and we hope that you return to Sonoma soon!

Kaala Stewart
El Pueblo Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
1.2 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
1.0 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#2 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
0.9 mi away
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
9.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pueblo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pueblo Inn

Address: 896 W. Napa St., Sonoma, CA 95476
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — El Pueblo Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pueblo Inn sits at the very heart of Wine Country, flanked by lush fields of grapes and filled with an ambience that blends Tuscan beauty with Adobe serenity. We're just a short drive from the famous city of San Francisco. From our door, day-trippers enjoy excursions to Sonoma Raceway, Jack London State Park, plaza wine tastings, shopping venues, fine dining eateries, pastry shops, biplane rides, hot air ballooning, and a whole host of delightful activities and sights. Guests delight in our ample amenities, including an interior garden for relaxing, 24-hour pool for swimming, and free Wi-Fi for web surfing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your El Pueblo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pueblo Hotel Sonoma
El Pueblo Sonoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing