We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1997 called and they want their TV back” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Pueblo Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added El Pueblo Inn to your Saves list
El Pueblo Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   896 W. Napa St., Sonoma, CA 95476   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Malibu, California
1 review
“1997 called and they want their TV back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Our overall experience in the hotel was positive--our room was clean and the staff was helpful and courteous. Our only qualm was that for El Pueblo Inn to truly be family-friendly, they need to update their TV situation. Not that we go to hotels purely to watch TV, but we do have kids and when we travel with them, they get to watch a movie at the hotel as a fun treat, especially since we don't stay out late with them. The TV sets at El Pueblo Inn were those giant boxes from the 90s that give a distorted picture. They also didn’t have movies on demand but instead, a selection of DVDs you could check out from the lobby. There were no animated movies in the selection and the most contemporary movie they had was (get ready for it)… FLUBBER with Robin Williams. This movie is from 1997--as old as the TV we watched it on (lol). Please El Pueblo Inn, if you’re not going to update your TV sets and have the option of movies on demand for your guests, at least throw in a few newer DVDs and some animated ones. You know, to keep the kiddos--and their parents who are paying for the hotel--happy.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaala S, Guest Relations Manager at El Pueblo Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review!

I wanted to let you know that we are in the process of replacing all of our "retro" televisions with brand new, 20" HDTV flat screen TV's. We are really excited about them.
(We are also renovating all of our original bathrooms!)

And I completely argree that we need some good chirldren's movies- thank you for the great suggestion! Right now the only movies we offer at our front desk are movies that were filmed in Sonoma County... We need some good kid options!

Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Kaala Stewart
El Pueblo Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    120
    27
    9
    9
See reviews for
56
166
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

great for the price in December 2012. Super beds. Just as great as the Marriot. Rooms very large and nicely decorated. Towels very plush. Staff very very friendly.

Stay in the new two story unit. 2nd floor. ask for an upgrade to the Sonoma kings. Grounds make you feel like you're in a paradise setting.

Only bad thing is the heating unit on the wall sounds like a 747 airplane landing in your room. I would still stay there again though. We didn't use the heater just cuddled.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The hotel was fine. It was not great, but it was fine. However, after I checked out they charged my credit card $375 and accused me of burning a duvet cover and stealing a pillow! I don't smoke and the pillows were the worst part of the hotel. Now I am stuck in credit card limbo. The manager was not available to talk with and I couldn't even leave a message. Do not stay here! They can't count pillows and blame you for damage that was pre-existing. If you do stay here, film the room before and after you leave. What a pain. Not worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galt, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

We loved the fireplace. Very romantic. The bed was very comfortable and there was alot of room. I t was wonderful. Next time we come we will stay here again. We would recommend this place to everyone. We liked the DVD player we brought our own movie and watched it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Very well maintained, comfortable room with a cozy feel and very comfortable bed. Lots of attention to detail and thoughtfully appointed. Rooms are off a large central courtyard with lush landscaping providing a sense of privacy and the large fountain masks street noise wonderfully. Would definitely stay there again when in Sonoma.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

El Pueblo Inn was recommended to us by a friend and we are glad that they did. We were only in the area one night, looking for a nice hotel (not too expensive) to stay in after a day checking out wineries. This spot was wonderful. The room was cozy, the staff was very kind and helpful both through the booking and checking in/out process. The room was spacious, clean, the bed was awesome. We had no noise issues, we slept wonderfully. Overall a really great spot to stay. We got a deal due to "liking" them on facebook too. So check out their website to see if they have any specials. The location was great; close to Sonoma square. Just a few minute car ride away. Some people walk it, but it was cold so we drove. This would be a good place to check out.

Room Tip: We were in one of the California Kings and it was great. Plenty of space, really cozy bed. Slept li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Attractive and comfortable room on pleasant grounds made this an excellent stay in Sonoma. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable, ask them for wine tasting tickets. The continental breakfast was varied, with pastries, yogurt, fresh fruit, and tasty granola. There is a pool and hot tub.

It was the little things that counted. Several newspapers in the morning, a notebook full of area menus, biscotti in the room each day. Fluffy towels, attractive furnishings, friendly staff.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Pueblo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pueblo Inn

Address: 896 W. Napa St., Sonoma, CA 95476
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Pueblo Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Pueblo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pueblo Hotel Sonoma
El Pueblo Sonoma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Pueblo Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.