We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place was a pleasant surprise...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Pueblo Inn

Save Saved
You added El Pueblo Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Pueblo Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   896 W. Napa St., Sonoma, CA 95476   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Sonoma
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This place was a pleasant surprise...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We arrived at the Inn for a late check-in and the night clerk was very busy but handled himself very professionally. After seeing our rooms we decided to stay for 2 nights. The location of the hotel is on a very busy intersection. You can only make a right turn exiting but you just go around the block back to the town square. We didn't use the pool or exercise room but it was nice to know that it was there if we had the desire to use them.
This is a very pleasant comfortable place with lovely gardens and amenities. Continental breakfast was very nice.

Room Tip: I had a single King with a patio on the first floor and it was quite lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    107
    23
    9
    9
See reviews for
48
147
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Found the place easily and glad to discover very close to the centre of Sonoma. Unfortunately when we checked in we found we must have been given one of the worst rooms in the place on the end of a row by a passage from the car park and underneath a staircase! Before even getting settled we asked to change rooms and they did oblige immediately with a much better room. The rooms are well furnished and comfortable and spotlessly clean but rather dark, lights needed on all day even on a sunny day.
Why give out a badly situated room when the place is not full I don't understand? The pool and hot tub were lovely we didn't use it as we were on our way back to the airport for a flight home and mainly packed up to travel. They recommended eating in the square at Marias and it was excelent and we then went to the little cinema and saw an excellent movie. A good last night of our holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The truth is for the money you get a lot:
The location is perfect (close to the downtown Sonoma) which is great for food and wine bar hopping. You have access to breakfast included in the price of the room which can be anything from hard boiled eggs to croissant, cereal, toast, banana, juice and coffee. The staff is very nice and will help you with anything and everything. The room we were in was very well taken care(cleaning lady outstanding).
The only concern could be the noise. The wall are very thin and if you have a screaming baby two doors down or some noisy neighbors as some people think that because they pay a price for a room they "owned" the room and are careless. Thus that is the only, as far as I am concerned, possible problem-noise.
Again quality price it is definitely a great deal

Room Tip: Second floor away from the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We too were a bit skeptical upon arrival but quickly noticed the clean and tasteful decor of the lobby and then found our room to be super comfortable and nice. We were on the first floor and loved the garden right outside our patio door. I really like having a waterfall outside that you can hear at night (vs. any of the other guest noise). There was nothing happening at the hotel this weekend so we found our stay and sleep very quiet. The fireplace took away the night chill. We walked to and from the square but it did take a good 15 minutes at a good pace. You may want to drive if you're not in to that.

Room Tip: I'm not sure if there is an elevator or not but if not you will need to carry your luggage to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Pulling into the parking lot had us worried...then we opened our very clean fresh-smelling room (without the masking of room freshners), walked into a beautifully landscaped center court, clean pool and hot tub (open 24 hours). We had a fridge for snacks...the location was great for wine country. No luxury hotel but compared to places we stayed at Dominican Republic or Aruba, this place has them beat. The weather is perfect. There is a no noise policy so you sleep peacefully which we did in a king size bed. Clean clean clean to the max and the folks staying here are international or San Francisco travelers. We were very happy with our choice and find and stay. Great for families as well because of the pool. Highly recommend for the price.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed two nights during a recent visit to Sonoma, and were not disappointed. We had a very warm welcome from staff, with a clean and well appointed room. Breakfast was a tasty buffet with plenty of choice of cold dishes, both sweet and not, eggs, and hot drinks. Location is close to downtown Sonoma (a couple of minutes drive away) and there is a market close by.
We were pleased we'd chosen the El Pueblo, and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

the staff was completely unprepared to deal with all the events that were going on the weekend that we stayed here. The hotel was very loud. The rooms were small and dark. On the upside, breakfast was included and since the winetasting event was cancelled, the hotel offered us vouchers for free wine tasting in town and at a few select wineries.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Pueblo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pueblo Inn

Address: 896 W. Napa St., Sonoma, CA 95476
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Pueblo Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your El Pueblo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pueblo Hotel Sonoma
El Pueblo Sonoma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Pueblo Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.