We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's not to like?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fremont Diner

The Fremont Diner
2698 Fremont Dr, Sonoma, CA 95476
(707) 938-7370
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 106 Restaurants in Sonoma
Cuisines: Diner
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“What's not to like?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Third visit and it has been really enjoyable every time. Beef brisket/sausage platter and fried chicken/mac n' cheese plate were the items ordered this time. The sausage and the fried chicken were spicy and the server said they have an even spicier version of the fried chicken. Great food, alternative music and eclectic decor make for a unique experience. Weekends tend to be SRO though. Limited inside seating too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    77
    19
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Would Eat here everyday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Coffee fabulous. Milkshakes beyond good and the ham biscuit is the best! Ricotta Pancakes were amazing there is nothing on the menu I wouldn't eat! Good no Great Diner food quick service but laid back style and very friendly.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stopped here for breakfast after spending the early morning ballooning. It was mid week, so we did not have problems with crowds.

The menu was classic diner - nothing fancy. Well presented, and the service was very good.

I will keep this place in mind, and return when I am back in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to its billing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We had read many reviews of this place and it sounded like just the type of spot I like. It was funky, with the gravel eating area, picnic tables and chickens wandering about. I felt a little out of it since I didn't bring a dog (I don't have one) but they were all well behaved. The wait staff was very pleasant and efficient, unlike some of the reviews I had read. The menu choices are small but we decided on the pork platter for my wife and the Nashville spicy chicken for me. My wife loved her meal but the chicken was dry and tasted like it had been dunked in Tabasco sauce. Not so much flavor as heat. The mac and cheese side dish was so bland it had no taste at all and very little flavor either. I was very disappointed and wished I had tried one of the other highly recommended restaurants in Sonoma. Oh, well. Next time.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great breakfast in a local institution”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

If you're in Sonoma, drop by this local institution and try the Hangtown Fry or the Black Pepper Brisket Hash for breakfast. The fried chicken came strongly recommended, but even the breakfast fried chicken offerings seemed too heavy for breakfast.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fremont Diner also viewed

Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to The Fremont Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fremont Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.