We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Boyes Blvd., Sonoma, CA 95476-1447   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Off Room/Food & Drink
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
GreenLeadersGold level
Foster City, California
1 review
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great hotel! I surprised the hubs with a mini weekend getaway in Sonoma for his 30th birthday and this was the perfect choice.

The service was excellent. As we visited in early January, it was the down season. We've found that service can be lacking at resorts during down seasons because things are slower and people seem to get lazy, but that certainly wasn't the case here! We are members of the Presidents Club, which I highly recommend. One of the perks includes early check in online - we had requested a 1 pm check in but I got an email around 11 am saying that our room was already ready - a pleasant surprise. We were able to get our room keys from the valet, which was even better. The valet and bellhop were both pleasant and helpful.

We enjoyed the room, it was on the small side but we loved the fireplace and comfortable yet modern decor. My only complaint was the lack of a microwave (although there was a refrigerator).

Room service was on point. They brought and opened up a bottle of champagne in our room, along with a card wishing my husband a happy 30th. Very nice touch that we appreciated. We ordered dinner through room service on our first night and were pleased with the food and service. Christopher took excellent care of us - he's a star employee and I hope they manage to keep him around!

We utilized the house car, which I would also recommend. We used it to go to Sonoma Plaza during the day; it was great to not have to worry about driving after wine tasting. The driver was informative and pleasant (wish I could remember his name!).

The Big 3 was good but a bit overpriced. Wish I could review Sante but it was closed. We tried out Cafe La Haye for dinner instead - definitely recommend.

All in all, a great experience. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    109
    88
    43
    14
See reviews for
48
251
9
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Visited Fairmont Sonoma Mission inn & spa in Feb with friends. The outside and Spa was good. The room was boring, the fixtures were very old. It did have old charm but overall it wasn't what you pay per night to stay. Staff were good but bit uptight. The corridor carpet was visibly dirty. Overall it was pretty average..

Room Tip: Bldg 1 was better then Bldg 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The staff was exceptional and our dinner at Sante was the perfect choice since we were able to enjoy the experience without worrying about driving afterwards. The rooms are ample and comfortable, they offer self parking, which is convenient, and the staff are all very lovely and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFSMI, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Linda B, Thank you for your “great” Valentine’s Day review. We appreciate your patronage and are delighted you so enjoyed your visit. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Fairmont did not disappoint - what a grand hotel. The rooms and grounds are beautiful. The Spa was a wonderful escape. The staff was delightful. The food and wine selections were amazing. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFSMI, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for your “wonderful" post. We look forward to your return and thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This was our second stay at this hotel. Very nice and friendly staff. Breakfast was outstanding.

However it was hard to enjoy a drink in their very nice lobby area since the fireplace was going the whole time and wasn't ventilated well.

FYI, the wines they offered were not local on their menu but their daily tastings do feature local.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFSMI, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear KayBee89, Thank you so much for you post. We appreciate your feedback and are delighted you had a nice stay overall. Thank you for bringing to our attention the lobby ventilation; we have not had this issue before that I am aware of, but we will be sure to look into it as the comfort of our guests is our top priority. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed here for my birthday and it was a total let down. The wicker chairs at the spa pools had no pads and there were none available. Did I say they are wicker lounge chairs. Ouch. The indoor spa had over 20 women in it chatting away and one was checking her email on her phone. There were tons of leaves in the pool and a huge hairball in the other relaxation spa. The grounds are extremely unkempt. The only time it got better was at night when I had a glass of wine and could pretend that this was a nice property. The manager did offer for my husband and I to try the spa again for free. Huh?

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFSMI, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Susan G, Thank you for your post. I sincerely apologize for your disappointments with the spa. Thank you for working with us directly so we may resolve the issue to your satisfaction. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort, and spa as well, so we may share with you the exceptional experience that we are traditionally known for. Kind regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Suffield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This property is one of the finest spa's I have every stayed over many years of worldwide travel. The hot springs are southing. The facilities are warm and inviting. Meals are gourmet in style and ingredients. Rooms are five star as is the world class customer service. This facility has been a retreat for the Hollywood elite as well as world travelers.

Room Tip: Select a room on the second floor behind the main desk. It is close to the spa and main pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFSMI, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Bard W, Thank you for your post. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your patronage and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa

Address: 100 Boyes Blvd., Sonoma, CA 95476-1447
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sonoma
#3 Spa Hotel in Sonoma
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Amex, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn And Spa
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Hotel Sonoma
Sonoma Mission Inn
Fairmont Inn Mission Sonoma Spa
Sonoma Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.