We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovliest Hotel resort in Sonoma Valley!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Boyes Blvd., Sonoma, CA 95476-1447   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Enhancements at The Inn
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
GreenLeadersGold level
Wilton Manors
1 review
“Lovliest Hotel resort in Sonoma Valley!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I have stayed at the Fairmont many times over the past years when visiting Sonoma Valley and intend to do so in the future. It is an all around superb destination for fine lodging, guest services and dining. You will experience remarkably comfortable and beautiful rooms, great restaurants and bars, super spa and topped off by a truly nice staff! The location is so convenient to wineries and sightseeing, too!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    94
    74
    40
    13
See reviews for
39
212
8
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

After looking at various locations prior to booking we decided to go with the Fairmont based on reviews, we were not disappointed. The location was perfect, the rooms spacious and the staff extremely friendly. The hotel is much larger than what it appears from the street and provides a large space to walk around and enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
Green Features: There were options for hotel patrons to not have their towels swapped out after each use.
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed in the Fairmont Inn for a long weekend. It is a very beautiful large property, though beware: it is an 'Inn' with hotel amenities. If you are looking for a high-end hotel property you may be disappointed. Many of the rooms are only accessible through outside walkways and some of the 'hallways' are open to the elements (rain). The rooms have an old-world look to them, are of adequate size (deluxe), with fully equipped, good size bathrooms. Service was excellent, with a friendly staff, being very responsive and helpful. The Spa is a must and is lot of fun: health and massage treatments, several thermal pools, steam room, sauna, and a Yoga studio with attached workout gym. The parking situation can only be described as 'tight', but Valet service will park your car for free in case the parking lot is full. WiFi is free - as long as you sign up for the Fairmont President's Club (free of charge). Overall we enjoyed out stay in the Mission Inn and Spa.

Room Tip: Rooms next to the main lobby seem of smaller size. Liked my room overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
Green Features: Standard notifications in the rooms. Did not notice any more than that.
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear FlorenceTraveller2, Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you so enjoyed your stay and the excellent service from our team. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Palisades, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was our 4th stay at the Fairmont Mission Inn and Spa in Sonoma. The hotel has been remodeled and looks lovely, but the little things have not been taken care of. We stayed for 2 nights on a non-busy weekend and here is what went wrong: 1. We left for the day and when we returned at 4:00 pm the maid had still not showed up to cleaner room, 2. When we ordered a fruit platter for breakfast room service, all the fruit had been cut on the same chopping block as some onion and that was the predominant flavor....yuck!, 3. Our room was over the front door and was very loud all night long, 4. The bedding came with big, high, fluffy pillows. We asked for some flat pillows and we told that the hotel didn't have any, 5. The internet service was very slow and spotty. Other than those 5 items, it's a nice hotel. Will we return? Heck no.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear robinleev, Thank you for choosing our resort for your visit. You are correct – the little things matter, a lot. I was so disappointed to read that we missed some of these items and I sincerely apologize for that. Your review is an excellent reminder that we will share with our team so we can work to ensure all those important details are in order. We do aim to ensure all areas of our resort are exceptional and I know we have, and can again, achieve this. Again, we will use your feedback to retrain staff to this avail and I do hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back again. Kind regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My girlfriend and I spent two nights in a Fairmont King room for an anniversary weekend. Despite the very nice landscaping and historic building, the entire experience at the Fairmont was very average for such a self-hyped hotel:
* The room itself is TINY. Pictures on Fairmont's site are with a wide-angle lens and are very touched up.
* The "complimentary wine and cheese happy hour" is an hour sponsored by a mediocre winery that will pour you (truly) less than a sip, offer you a $20 cheese plate and 2-for-1 tastings at their winery to drum up business
* It costs $29 per person just to use the hot tub...
* Strange location in the middle of a residential area; over 2 miles on a busy road to reach the quaint Sonoma city center (where the actual Sonoma mission, among great shops, cafes and restaurants are)

Would certainly recommend going with a local B&B, even if it costs a bit more (though many don't). Every time we passed the front desk, we heard other couples and groups complaining about one disappointment or another. Now we know!

Room Tip: Fairmont King/Queen rooms are TINY. If you do decide to stay here, I'd check out the Junior Suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Scott G, Thank you for your post. I am sorry about the disappointments you experienced. We do have a variety of rooms and suites of different sizes to suit different needs. We also have a great variety of local wineries pouring at our tastings daily. The Spa charge includes use of our entire spa facility including our Watsu pool, grape seed exfoliating showers, Eucalyptus Steam Room, etc. and also spa snacks and teas as well. We do aim to provide an exceptional experience for our guests and I was disappointed to learn that we missed the mark for you this stay. Thank you again for your feedback. Kind regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn and Spa is as perfectly suited to California's famed wine country as Cinderella's Castle is to Disneyland. It's a charming, elegant property with just the right amount of quirkiness to be wholly memorable. It's an older hotel with rooms some might judge to be a bit small, but my wife and I found it to be beautifully manicured and maintained. From the sincere young bellman, Brian, who went out of his way to write down his best picks for dining, to the concierge who saw to the safe and expedited shipment of our various wine purchases, the service was personal and exceptional. Sante, the property's high end restaurant, is a destination in its own right. My wife loved her spa experience and had we been able to spend more time there, I might have overcome my male reluctance and tried it out myself. Valet parking is available, but self-parking is so easy and proximate, even the hotel staff happily recommend it. My wife and I enjoyed the Misdion Inn experience thoroughly and if we are ever able to return to the area, we would not consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Miguel M, Thank you for your “most elegant” post. We are delighted that you and you wife so enjoyed your experiences with us. We thank you for your recommendations and commendations of Brian as well and we hope to welcome you back again very soon. I would definitely recommend the spa for both you and your wife and we have some wonderful couples treatments as well that you may enjoy together. Kind regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Not particularly near the Sonoma Mission. Walkable to downtown square but not a nice walk, better drive or take a shuttle. Inn located in a rather funky part of town, entrance across the street from a thrift shop, taco joint etc. 60 foot water tower, towers over the main building, which has seen better days as has the lobby. Dusty freeform sculpture over central fireplace, some odd modern style sconces around walls of lobby, one was not working when we arrived and still not working when we left several days later. No elevator in main building, so built in exercise program. Room was pleasant, not huge but adequate. Pool underneath water tower was large and unused, had algae along edges and near drains. Grounds could have been better kept up and fence surrounding property definitely needed some repair and a fresh coat of paint. Coffee in lobby but breakfast was either room service or you had to walk out of the "resort" through parking lot to street corner to eat at an affiliated cafe, nothing special. Mixed bag as they say, should have been better for the price; historic but needs some sophisticated updating.

Room Tip: If stairs are an issue, make sure to book a room in an area reachable by an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear 1992redzilla, Thank you for taking the time to post your detailed review. We appreciate you bringing these items to our attention so we may address them, and I am sorry for any disappointments they may have created. We strive to create a luxurious and wonderful experience for all of our guests and we will certainly use your feedback to ensure the necessary enhancements are completed. We do hope to welcome you back again soon and we appreciate your feedback. Kind regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa

Address: 100 Boyes Blvd., Sonoma, CA 95476-1447
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sonoma
#4 Spa Hotel in Sonoma
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn And Spa
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Hotel Sonoma
Sonoma Mission Inn
Fairmont Inn Mission Sonoma Spa
Sonoma Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.