We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite dated and a little dull” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Boyes Blvd., Sonoma, CA 95476-1447   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Off Room/Food & Drink
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
GreenLeadersGold level
Suburban Philadelphia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Quite dated and a little dull”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is a charming hotel and it is a Fairmont after all but that may be why it was disappointing. It's off in a strange town, quiet and a bit dull. Restaurant Sante staff (the women) were miserable and very unhelpful although the young manager (?) tried to make up for his hostesses snarly attitude (we'd asked for Pizzas at the Firepitt!). In general, strangely, the women who worked the front desk, the restaurant (Sante) and the Spa all seemed a little supercilious, unhelpful and unhappy. The manager, Todd, was charming and the men who worked there just seemed much nicer. How very peculiar. I can honestly say I've not experienced that before. The Spa facilities were nice but our massages were mediocre. This wasn't quite the lux experience we expected (and we upgraded to a Mission Suite) but the decor and grounds were rustic and very charming. Things are dated and need a good spiffing up - including some of the service,

Room Tip: Fairmont rooms are small. Decor nice but the are tiny. Place not well lit at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    88
    62
    37
    11
See reviews for
38
189
7
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naperville
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Room was very small and not updated. The cost was extremely high for not very luxurious accommodations. Hotel was dated and resort small. We had a very loud air conditioning unit, a strange odor in our room and loud outside noises. Located outside of the town of Sonoma

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Though pricey, it's a wonderful hotel with many amenities and well located. This was my second stay there and I will probably come back again in the far future. Make sure to eat at their restaurants and eat the lemon pancakes at Big 3 for breakfast and Sante was also wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was the second time my husband I stayed at the Mission Inn in Sonoma. Fortunately, they have renovated the older rooms in a charming decor since our last visit..
The staff is friendly and accomodating. It is quiet and rest is easy to come by. The food is very good-fresh and local.
The yoga lady, Leslie?, is the best ever.
The spa/indoor pool is very highly chlorinated--very unhealthy. That probably off sets any of the benefits of the natural springs.
Some of the spa staff are stiff and smug. Some are very nice.
The surroundings are immaculately kept and quite pleasant to view.
Take a bicycle ride a round town courtesy of the helpful bell staff
It's quite expensive, especially the spa packages but I guess, hopefully, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I would recommend finding another hotel in Sonoma or Napa. The $600/night price does not come close to the experience. Although historic and close to downtown Sonoma, the place is very worn. One can do much better elsewhere. This is more like a $150 hotel.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This resort proved to be quiet and relaxing. We spent 4 nights here in October. We had a junior suite and the room was a good size. The bed was extremely comfortable and the pillows were plush. Given the size of the room, the TV was too small (we watched a movie one evening) and the lighting was a bit dim. We had a balcony which was tight but the first floor units have large patios if you are interested in having an outside area. The spa is worth visiting and the pools in that part of the resort were less crowded. The grounds were well maintained. The food at the bar and pool was just okay. The resort is conveniently located to vineyards in both Sonoma and Napa. Great valet service.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear kberg1, Thank you for choosing the Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa for your getaway and for taking the time to share your feedback. We certainly appreciate your patronage and your review. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stay at the Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa.if you ever go to the Sonoma area.The rooms are beautiful, Frig. fully stocked, Bed, very comfortable,
Food outstanding,great menu selection,Staff very pleasant.


  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Marjorie B, Thank you for your post and recommendations. We appreciate it and hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa

Address: 100 Boyes Blvd., Sonoma, CA 95476-1447
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sonoma
#4 Spa Hotel in Sonoma
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn And Spa
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Hotel Sonoma
Sonoma Mission Inn
Fairmont Inn Mission Sonoma Spa
Sonoma Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.