We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff, poor value” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa

Save Saved
You added Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Boyes Blvd., Sonoma, CA 95476-1447   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% Off Room/Double Miles
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
GreenLeadersGold level
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful staff, poor value”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We booked a last minute room for $800/night. The staff was lovely. The room felt like an airport Marriott (and not a recently renovated one). The mattress sagged but was otherwise comfortable (nice linens). Service was cheerful and attentive but the property felt uncared for - sidewalks cracked, room decor dated. The lobby is nice and the pools are lovely but staff have to keep pool umbrellas open with pens because the pegs are broken off. The coffee was out in the lobby at 8 am but when asked staff brought it promptly. The in-room checkout system didn't work. Was annoyed to be charged an extra $35 for parking. While the staff were uniformly lovely and helpful the place needs upgrades and better maintenance and a friendlier price tag.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Cmbbelmont, Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am delighted to read about how wonderful our staff was, but I do apologize for your disappointments with the rooms. We have just received many new mattresses so will be replacing those shortly. Thank you for bringing to our attending the in-room check-out and incorrect umbrella tool so we may correct those issues right away. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    81
    53
    33
    10
See reviews for
35
172
7
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The overall experience was less than what I would have expected from a Fairmont. There were issues with the delivery of luggage to our room, the room itself was very average and had an air conditioner that sounded like a jet airplane ready to take off. We tried to get this repaired while we were out at dinner, but clearly nothing was done so we had to shut it down entirely and endure a stuffy nights sleep. We had a delightful breakfast at a neighbouring diner - not the hotel and were quite happy to check out.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the street as it is extremely noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked a last minute rate and it was still pricy. The rooms are small, smelled like mildew and feels very corporate. The pool has no scenery whatsoever, except for a dirty water tower. The lounge chairs were very uncomfortable - really encourages guests not to lounge. I'd shell out a bit more to stay somewhere that actually feels like wine country. We've stayed at many places in Napa and this one disappoints (our first time staying in Sonoma). They should at least throw in breakfast or free wifi. Sorry, never coming back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayville, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed there for 5 nights in August and thought the hotel had nice rooms and the grounds were very pretty. The staff at this hotel was great while we were there. Amy at the front desk was so helpful and always smiling. The cleaning staff at this hotel did a great job and they were also very pleasant. We met a lot of nice people at the pools and in the front by the fire pit. We would definitely recommend this hotel in the sonoma area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've had a chance to stay here twice and probably appreciated it even more the second time. The quality of the property and service is wonderful. Access to a lovely pool as well as a very qualified set of spa services was also a treat.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stlouis,usa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

this famous hotel/inn doesnt disappoint. quiet elegance and nice rooms with good amenities. the lobby is a wonderful spot to read ,relax and meet friends. we stayed here while cycling in sonoma and found it a very nice respite.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We decided to come to Sonoma for a weekend away, and the Fairmont Sonoma seemed like a good central place to stay. Upon arriving, the property is very pretty, and we were greeted with a glass of champagne. Although the property is not in downtown, they offer a free shuttle into town (if you can get it, usually booked).

Our room was where the problems were. We were on the 3rd floor which was great so that we did not have anyone on top of us making noise. However, the walls were very thin and the AC unit kicked on extremely loud (like diesel engine loud) every 10 minutes making it impossible to sleep...which meant what should have been a relaxing stay was more tiring than anything else. When we went to the front desk to check out the next morning, we let them know of the issues but you could tell the front desk woman, Samantha, was not interested at all. So we paid our $600 for the night and went our separate ways. For that amount of money, I would have expected a better accommodations and a more attentive ear after the stay. We will likely not return, and just book an AirBnb next time, or head over to Healdsburg and stay at Le Mars.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear jonathanmcnulty, Thank you for choosing the Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa for your getaway and for taking the time to post your review. I am so sorry that the air conditioning unit impacted your stay and especially that you did not receive the warm, attentive service that we strive for. Please rest assured that we have used your feedback for the necessary re-training so we can be sure all of our guests receive the exceptional service they deserve. Thank you again for your post and I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa

Address: 100 Boyes Blvd., Sonoma, CA 95476-1447
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sonoma
#4 Spa Hotel in Sonoma
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn And Spa
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Hotel Sonoma
Sonoma Mission Inn
Fairmont Inn Mission Sonoma Spa
Sonoma Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.