We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Renovation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa

Save Saved
You added Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Boyes Blvd., Sonoma, CA 95476-1447   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% Off Room/Double Miles
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Sonoma
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Renovation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We recently spent a weekend at the hotel and was greatly pleased with the newer renovation and service. We have been there a few years ago prior to the hotel's recent renovation, and the change has been amazing. While the price per night now reflects the updated look, it is well worth it. The rooms are modernized -- the lobby and bar are also looking a lot more chic and modern.

The Spa was good -- the co-ed bathing ritual was a bit crowded, but the service was still good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    72
    47
    30
    9
See reviews for
32
159
7
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This resort is truely beautiful all around. The rooms are very spacious and offer a very comfortable feeling. I especially liked the spa! My wife and I enjoyed the different areas of the spa to use. You take a shower, then get in the hot spay, then the cold plunge pool, ehen the steam room and then the shower again. There is also a sauna if you would rather go in there. We repeated this process a number of time and felt wonderful. I highly recommend the spa for a weekend get away for relaxation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear 007agentcalifornia, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted that you so enjoyed our signature Bathing Ritual Experience in our geothermal mineral waters at the Willow Stream Spa. Thank you for choosing our resort for your getaway and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was our second visit here and it was great! Our room was very comfortable, the bed amazing, and all staff we dealt with was outstanding! We were unfortunately here for the 6.0 earthquake and that made things a little interesting. We list power for a few hours and again, the staff was very helpful and accommodating. The only meal we had was breakfast at Big3. It was great! Our server was perfect. She even announced to us that she was going on break and someone else would be taking over. I really thought that was great. I had the California Scramble which was perfect! I did not get to use the spa but had planned to before the earthquake happened. I just decided I was too " shaken up" afterwards. Their spa menu looked amazing and I've heard great things about it. I will definitely plan to do that next visit! I highly recommend a stay at this great hotel!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Christine K, Thank you for your patronage to our resort and for your wonderful review and recommendations. It is delightful to read that you really enjoyed the warm, engaging service that we aim to offer at every guest encounter. We do hope to welcome you back again soon to our resort and spa; the spa is a great place to de-stress, unwind and rejuvenate. Kind regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel room was in one of the outlying building, so was quite peaceful. It had a whirlpool tub and a fireplace, although I did not need to use the fireplace. There is a lot of shade and the room was on the ground floor so despite having big french windows it was quite a dark room, a little more natural light is the reason I gave this a very good rating and not excellent. The rooms on the 2nd floor or in different parts of the hotel may benefit from more natural light. The bed was very comfortable. The spa which I used was really quite special and I would go there again. The hotel restaurant is excellent and if you stay in the hotel I would definitely recommend eating in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Try for a room that is not on the ground floor if you like a lot of daylight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Alastair B, Thank you for choosing the Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa for your getaway and for taking the time to post your review. We are thrilled to read how much you enjoyed the resort, your comfortable bed, our Willow Stream Spa, and excellent cuisine. Thank you for your recommendations and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I spent three nights at the Sonoma Mission Inn. Every aspect of service was outstanding from when we pulled up to Valet and Registration to check out. We had a fantastic meal at their Sante restaurant. Our lamb entree was simply the best lamb we have ever enjoyed.

Room Tip: Choose one of the Mission Suites near the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Ansel C, Thank you for your “outstanding” review. We are thrilled to read how much you enjoyed the resort, service and Santé dining experience. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was here in July & stayed in a ground floor Mission Suite. I absolutely love the lush grounds of this property. You immediately feel relaxed upon arrival. There are so many beautiful places to sit. At night there's a friendly gathering around the outdoor fire pit.
The Mission Suite was beautiful. One of my favorite suites to date. The suite was spacious & included a huge bathroom, sitting area, draped soaking tub, fireplace, & tranquil outdoor lanai with a view of the fountain. Really beautiful room! The spa is wonderful & I would recommend spending a full day there. The on property restaurant Sante is lovely as well. If you're looking for a romantic, spa getaway this is a wonderful destination.

Room Tip: I loved our ground floor suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Fairmont really knows how to run a hotel. WE just came back from a 5 night stay at this glorious site. It's our second year in a row-what better rec can that be! The rooms and grounds are very special. Great service and attention to details. Seems like everyone there wants so very much to please guests. Love the paths, the pools and the spa. Wine tasting every day in the beautiful lobby. Special callout to Deborah DeMartini, the concierge who made our vacation-finding special places to taste wine, dine and experience the Sonoma and Napa hospitality and beauty. What can I say-we love this place....and will be back again next year.

Room Tip: I love the rooms near the pool
See more room tips
Green Features: Seems like they really are very concientious about the environment
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear tucker24, Thank you for your “spectacular” review and your patronage. We are thrilled to read how much you enjoyed your second visit to our resort in beautiful Sonoma Wine Country and we look forward to welcoming you back for your third visit soon. Kind regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa

Address: 100 Boyes Blvd., Sonoma, CA 95476-1447
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sonoma
#4 Spa Hotel in Sonoma
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn And Spa
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Hotel Sonoma
Sonoma Mission Inn
Fairmont Inn Mission Sonoma Spa
Sonoma Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.