We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful soundproofing, poor housekeeping” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa

Save Saved
You added Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Boyes Blvd., Sonoma, CA 95476-1447   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
4th Night Free
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Sonoma
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calabasas, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Awful soundproofing, poor housekeeping”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

The worst Fairmont that I have ever stayed in. The walls were so thin we could here our neighbors on both sides talking in a normal tone of voice. When their cell phones rang they wakened us as if they were in our own room. During our 4 day stay they never refreshed any bathroom amenities such as shampoo. In spite of repeatedly asking that they deliver the morning newspaper which I am entitled to as a Presidents Club member they failed to do so. Valet parking at $25 is outrageous. The beds are too soft, the feather pillows are worn and tired. The room size at this price is ridiculously small and cramped. What an awful place to stay with all the other wonderful choices in the wine country. Next time we will go back to the Carneros Inn

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Lasereyesdoc, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am very sorry for your disappointments with your stay. Please rest assured that I have followed up with the Housekeeping and Rooms Teams to ensure those items are corrected immediately; thank you for bringing them to our attention so we may address them. We do have a wide variety of rooms and suites to suit various stay preferences. I also apologize that the bed was too soft for you; we are always happy to provide a bed board or extra pillow top to firm up or soften the beds as per the preference of each individual guest. I do hope you will reconsider and try our resort again in the future. We are traditionally known for exceptional rooms and service and I am so sorry we fell short for you this stay. Kind regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    58
    41
    26
    7
See reviews for
27
127
5
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orinda, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed her for one night on a spa package. It included a king room, breakfast, and a couple's massage. We also ate dinner at the hotel's redone restaurant. The room was in one of the separate buildings on the grounds-nice size, good bed and a balcony. Not luxuious but very nice. The spa was lovely. Nice amenities with access to pool and smaller thermal pool. I believe the spa had been redone. The lobby definitely has been redone since I stayed here almost 15 years ago. A very nice job integrating the old building and some nice modern pieces and new lighting. The restaurant was excellent. Good service and good food. We brought our own wine but looked at the wine list which was typical for Napa-good selection but expensive. Overall a very nice rekaxing get away. Price was reasonable given we were on a package deal. Service nice Staff very pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Sftcat, Thank you for choosing The Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa for your getaway and for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted you had such a relaxing visit and enjoyed our renovations. We hope you do not wait another 15 years and we may welcome you back to our resort in the near future. Best regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Fairmont Sonoma was beautiful! Upon arrival, the car was whisked away by the parking valet. The lobby was beautiful with complimentary coffee and tea in the morning. We stayed in a suite which was recently remodeled and included a fireplace. The bed was very comfortable along with the high thread count sheets and down pillows. We stayed on the third floor which was very nice with no noise above us. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant, as I made reservations at Press in Napa which was fantastic and Bottega in Yountville. The only downside to staying at the Fairmont Sonoma was it was about at 30-40 minute drive to Napa and Yountville.

Room Tip: I recommend a third floor suite close to the pool. Also, ask for a remodeled room. Our's was b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Fortmill63, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are thrilled you so enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope to welcome you back again and hope you have the opportunity to try Santé, our Michelin Star rated restaurant right here on property. Warm regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hotel was so wonderful. The staff there is so accommodating and authentically care about your stay there. It is set in beautiful Sonoma. Sonoma is less commercialized than Napa and it makes the whole vacation very peaceful and relaxing. The Spa there is amazing and you could spend the whole day there. Every aspect of the hotel was wonderful.

Room Tip: The Junior and Mission suites are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Jeanne M, Thank you for your “wonderful” review and appreciation of Sonoma’s charm. We are glad you felt our genuine care and had the opportunity to visit our Willow Stream Spa. We hope to welcome you back soon for more Wine Country relaxation. Warm regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery Bay, Calif.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

DO NOT SAY HERE ! My husband was bringing me here for my Birthday. The room was old and worn out. The concierge was very rude he said we could not get a reservation in the restaurant. So I went to my room and called the restaurant they said to come in at 9:30. Tried to go to Dinner and showed up 30 minutes early.We sat in Lobby bar ordered drinks but the waitress never came back. Finally we were seated for Dinner. They gave us menus but never came to take an order so we walked out. Tried to check out of the hotel but they were still going to charge us so we just stayed. Then we complained about Dinner so they brought us 2 steaks in our room at 11:00. To top things off at 5:30 in the morning the room upstairs turned on the jacuzzi and shook the whole room like an earthquake. That was it! We got up and went to check out . They tried to charge us for our room again and what an Attitude John had. I could not leave fast enough. Come to think of it I don't think they really like people with Disabilities. I have bad legs and wear a brace. I have never been treated so poorly. I will never come Back and my Birthday Dinner was Bashed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Okfine_8, Thank you for speaking directly to our Director of Operations about your stay. I am glad that we found a satisfying resolution and you understand how much we value you as our Guest. Kind regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This hotel would be great if the room rate is under $100.

Pros : Very friendly staff. They go above and beyond to help you. Wine tasting everyday at 4:30 PM. Valet parking staff is very efficient.

Cons : Very Very Small room for $200/day. No balcony. Hotel is so old and things inside are old too. If you toss and turn, bed will make sound.

You have to pay $15 for parking and $25 for Valet parking. Self parking spots are very limited and you end up with Valet. You have to pay for internet or you can enroll in Presidents club and get it free. Internet keep dropping all the time.

Food inside the hotel restaurants is extremely expensive.

Not impressed with this hotel at all !!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Renju N, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is very important to us to read that our team succeeded in going above and beyond to assist you. I apologize however for the disappointments with your room and for the internet challenges. We do have team members here 24 hours a day that can usually assist with any such challenges. Thank you again for your post. Best regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I have always wanted to stay at this property and get a spa treatment. I had the opportunity to do just that as I attended a conference there. The hotel was sold out of rooms at the conference rate so I booked a room through the regular process and paid the regular rate only to find out the day before my arrival that they were oversold and that I did not have a room for the first night after all.
I was not pleased at all. When I got to the conference, I found that the conference was being held in a tent on the hotel campus. It was very cold in the mornings and tent was cold. We were all wearing coats inside the conference tent and drinking hot tea to stay warm! I checked into the hotel the following day and my room was on the second floor. There was no elevator so I had to wait for a bellman to carry my bag up the stairs. The buildings were all dated but had been remodeled a couple of years ago. The spa was all unconnected and you had to go outside with your robe on to get to the bathhouse for your massage or pedicure. My final disappointment was when I asked for a late checkout of 1230 so that I could checkout following the morning adjournment of the conference. I was told "no" and that my key would no longer work after 12 noon. I was unable to secure a room at this hotel for the 3rd and final night due to it being sold out so I booked at the Marriott a few miles away. I was glad to leave this old and unwelcoming hotel. Very disappointing. I am very upscale hotel savvy. This hotel is definitely not worth the money that they charge for a room!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa

Address: 100 Boyes Blvd., Sonoma, CA 95476-1447
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sonoma
#4 Spa Hotel in Sonoma
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn And Spa
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Hotel Sonoma
Sonoma Mission Inn
Fairmont Inn Mission Sonoma Spa
Sonoma Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.