We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay with Girlfriends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1325 Broadway at Leveroni & Napa Roads, Sonoma, CA 95476   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% thru 5/3!
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Long Island, NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay with Girlfriends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This is a lovely hotel with cottage rooms in Sonoma. Great location close to everything you want to see.

Our cottage was clean and comfortable with a gas fireplace. The setting is very relaxing. The pool area has plenty of comfy seating and chaise lounges. The hot tub jets aren't great but we still enjoyed our time spent soaking.

Wish they had free coffee in the lobby but they do have a nice cafe where you can get your large latte fix.

We booked spa appointments for our last day right at check out time. The spa was wonderful!
The Raindance spa has a lovely outdoor area with several hot tub pools along with two heated cooler pools. Very comfortable cabanas and seating. You can order food, wine, champagne right to your cabana or chaise lounge. Eucalyptus steam room was very refreshing.

I can't say enough about the staff - very sweet and accomodating.

We would definitely come back to this property.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    287
    103
    41
    20
See reviews for
100
454
11
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed here recently in a Cottage. Room was nice and clean, bed was very comfortable. We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant both days and it was very good with excellent service. Didn't use the pool or gym. Highlights were the hotel's own nightly wine tasting - free tasting and bigger pours than any other tasting we went to! The hotel shuttle took us to town and picked us up as needed which was very helpful.

Our one complaint is the "resort fee" which covers a couple bottles of water in the room, a small bottle of wine upon arrival, Wi-Fii, gym, etc. We stayed here using some Worldwide Premier Rewards so our room was free but we still had to pay the resort fee - which is fine. I looked at the price our room would have been and it was several hundred dollars per night. For that kind of money, one would expect free wi-fi, gym, etc. Why not just do away with the resort fee and make the room $320 a night instead of $300? I'm not a cheap person but this kind of thing just drives me nuts.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor, pa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We absolutely loved our stay here. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a cottage by the spa. The room was wonderful, not opulent by any means, but very nice. We had a working fireplace, soaking tub, and the toilet and shower were separated from the rest of the room. The property was very well maintained. We only had breakfast one day (a concierge lounge for rewards members would be welcome) but it was superb. The workout facilities are nice and well maintained. The spa was outstanding, our couples massage was the best either of us ever had. I have read a number of reviews noting that the plaza is not within walking distance--I would have to disagree. We walked downtown every day the weather was nice, sometimes twice. if walking is an issue, you can always take the included shuttle. The highlight of our experience was our Navigator-Lead Concierge Jennifer. She handled every request flawlessly, making great recommendations (Walt was the find of our trip) and handling all of our reservations, including changes. We would recommend and we will be back!

Room Tip: ask to be towards the back if you like privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed at The Lodge as part of my Dad's birthday celebration. I had called the concierge in advance, Dominique, and she was kind and helpful in arranging everything. They upgraded us to a cottage on our arrival - 8B - and sent complimentary chocolate covered strawberries and a bottle of wine to the room with a lovely birthday card. The staff in the spa were attentive and the massage was excellent. The grounds of the resort are beautifully maintained and attractive. We had dinner at Carneros restaurant at the resort - delicious and well priced. Breakfast the next morning in Carneros was also excellent, though a bit expensive. I would highly recommend staying at the Lodge - great location, attentive and caring staff and a super spa and restaurant.

Room Tip: Cottage 8B faced the pool but was quiet and near to the entrance and restaurants - so a good locatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

My husband and I had a great time this past weekend at The Lodge at Sonoma. We pretty much took advantage of everything the resort had to offer -- we jogged along the nearby bike trails (awesome for running -- no stop lights!), had drinks/meals at both the cafe and the restaurant, and booked treatments at the spa. Service was wonderful every step of the way. We had a drain issue in our room and it was addressed immediately. The front desk was very helpful with our inquiries and the shuttle service was very efficient and reliable. I think people who were disappointed with the hotel are expecting "traditional" luxury because of the price. But remember that this is Sonoma -- a tiny town with a square as it's downtown, mostly B&Bs the size of my first apartment, and very few hotels. For Sonoma, The Lodge is very luxurious and is not that much more expensive than other options in the area. But if you compare with a Renaissance in a metropolitan city, it feels a little quaint and dated. So just set your expectations accordingly!

Room Tip: We stayed in the main buildling and loved the convenience. My husband said the noise from a Saturday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed in cottage room 10B. Lower level room. easy access and front of room is at least 20 feet from the walkway. Some rooms are close to walk way and complaint there was hearing everyone who walked by. Room has fireplace, nice feature since we were there the end of March and it was rain & cold. You do get to listen to those above take their shower. The restaurant's breakfast was good and reasonable price. Too far to walk to downtown area so you'll probably have to drive. We did have bugs (potato type bug) in the bathroom. Notified front desk and they sprayed room when we went out on wine tour. Shower in this room was small. There is a bath tub that has wooden slotted doors that open to sitting/bed room.. watch tv while taking bath.? Hotel staff was good. lots of parking (no charge).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed at the Sonoma Renaissance for 3 nights. My husband travels for his job and is platinum in the rewards program, so this was a rewards stay. I think wine country kind of lends itself more to smaller inns and B&B's, but this is a decent place to stay, if a little low on the personality.

The lobby and reception areas are lovely and there's a nice little cafe off to the side that does frequent free wine tastings. We went to one after check in and the host was friendly and let us try 3 different wines. They have a nice selection of wine for purchase and you can order picnic baskets or get a quick bite.

The rooms are fine - kind of a standard issue hotel room. There was a nice big soaking tub, which I enjoyed. The towels could use an upgrade. They are thin and scratchy. I expected more from a resort type property.

The location is nice. Very close to Sonoma town square. The hotel provides a free shuttle and during our stay in March, we never had to wait for it. The pick up after dinner was also very quick. It's a nice amenity and you don't have to worry about driving down and finding parking. It's just a little too far to walk in nice shoes!

We checked out the gym and it was nothing special. Small room with older equipment. Typical of a hotel. The pool and hot tub are quite nice, comfy chairs for lounging. There are a couple of fire pits in the courtyard and you can get a glass of wine in the cafe/wine bar and sit outside and enjoy the beautiful California weather.

Every employee we came across was beyond friendly. There is a concierge type person, called a navigator (I'm unsure why the name - concierge seems fitting) who will book tastings for you and provide restaurant recommendations. We already had our tastings booked but did hit her up for some coupons. Definitely take your wine tasting itinerary and see if she has any special offers for you. Buy one get one free tastings and discounts on wine purchases at the wineries were the two we were able to use. Nice perk.

Overall everything was fine and I have nothing to complain about. I also have nothing to jump up and down about. Especially if using points, this would be a good place to do it. Comparable properties in wine country are quite pricey.

Have fun!

Room Tip: I would suggest an upstairs room, I think they are a bit more private. And you can leave the shutter...
See more room tips
Green Features: I did not notice any environmentally friendly practices apart from the usual no fresh sheets or towels unless you request. The hotel leaves plastic water bottles in every room every day. Reusable bottles you could take with you or bottled water on request would be good.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa

Address: 1325 Broadway at Leveroni & Napa Roads, Sonoma, CA 95476
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#3 Green Hotel in Sonoma
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in an exquisite Sonoma Hotel offering vibrant charm in a tranquil setting. Nestled in gorgeous Sonoma Valley, The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa is less than an hour north of San Francisco and centrally located among the country's finest wineries. Showcasing the incredible beauty of the valley, our Sonoma resort's accommodations combine authentically artisan surroundings with contemporary facilities to create a haven of casual sophistication. The award-winning Raindance Spa in our Sonoma Valley resort offers the ultimate in reflection, revitalization and romance. Carneros Bistro at our Sonoma resort features local wines and innovative cuisine with Mediterranean influences. In a hurry? Try Bean & Bottle, our wine & coffee bar with locally inspired items to-go. The Lodge at Sonoma is also the perfect destination for corporate meetings, social events and Sonoma Wine Country weddings and wedding receptions offering 22,000 square feet of flexible event space, both indoors and out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Sonoma Renaissance Hotel Sonoma
The Lodge At Sonoma Renaissance Resort And Spa
Hotel Sonoma Renaissance
Lodge Sonoma
Renaissance Sonoma
Sonoma Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.