We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Request Downstairs Cottage” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1325 Broadway at Leveroni & Napa Roads, Sonoma, CA 95476   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
GreenLeadersBronze level
Amelia Island, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Request Downstairs Cottage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Great cottage with king bed, sitting area, fireplace, makeup area for the ladies, tub with shutters that open into bedroom, and glass enclosed shower. We had an issue with the television but the service person came immediately and it was fixed. We had a balcony with a table and chairs.

The only negative for us was it was up 12 stairs and my luggage was very heavy. Be sure and request a downstairs cottage!

Great location for Sonoma wineries but 30 minutes from most Napa wineries.

We stayed here before in May and the roses were beautiful in full bloom which made the area gorgeous. This time, in September, the grapevines were loaded with grapes rather than being bare. Something interesting, each season.

Room Tip: Definitely request downstairs. We were in the last building and the parking was close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
67SonomaFan, Public Relations Manager at The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am delighted that your stay was so positive and that you found great places to discover in both Sonoma and Napa. We are fortunate to have over 820 rose bushes on our property which we incorporate in some of our Raindance Spa services and we harvest our grapes each season! We hope to see you back next season!

Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    258
    94
    37
    19
See reviews for
87
412
10
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at The Lodge at Sonoma during Tauck's San Francisco/Wine Country tour. Overall the property is very nice. The lobby is very welcoming and the pool area is well laid out. Our room was a nice size and opened to a small patio with chairs and a table just off the pool area. It had a great bathroom with separate shower stall and inclosed commode. One big drawback was the bed. It simply was not comfortable. It was hard, a bit lumpy and reminded us of a previous sleeping experience at a resort in Ireland. Attached to the lobby was the Bean & Bottle, Wine & Coffee Bar which offered excellent dark roast coffee and pastry in the morning as well as a wonderful selection of panninis in the evening. The Carneros Bistro (the attached restaurant which we'll review separately) offered a great breakfast menu. With the downtown area of Sonoma Square nearby and the excellent location in wine country, this is a solid choice for travelers.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I spent two night's at The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa. It wasn't back but could have been better. They had a courtesy shuttle to downtown Sonoma, although it is an easy 10-12 minute walk. Also a nice little bottle of wine in your room when you check in.

The room was nice, had a fireplace and this was for a lower end room. I have seen reviews that complain about the price, but I must say I did not pay the 350-500 dollars some people have complained about. I used Priceline.com and got it for 150. I definitely would not pay anything more than that. If I did then I would not be as kind in the review because it definitely is not worth those prices. It also has a nice pool area.

The only issue I had was that I left a nice shirt in the closest and didn't realize it until about an hour after I left, and I couldn't go back and get it. I called and left a message at their lost and found and they called me back and said they did not have any turned in meaning the person cleaning the room took it.

There spa prices are also crazy. You can get something better in downtown Napa or a little boutique spa.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Lodge is one of the few high end places in Sonoma since most go to Napa area. This is a quiet, very service oriented hotel that is lovely and restful. There is a large pool with couches and large lounge chairs all over and tables near the bar area so you can be served cheese, dried meats and drinks while enjoying the pool and surrounding area. The bar in the evening has a wine tasting and a happy hour selection although it is sometimes difficult to attract the attention of the barstaff (they are all very knowledgeable and sometimes get discussing with certain customers and leave others wanting). I pointed this out to them so it may be corrected. The room was lovely and had a fireplace and special bath products and very nice bedding. We had breakfast included each morning which was very good. There is a large spa area but unfortunately we didn't have time to do that.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room - not downstairs if you are in the bungalows. The balconies are beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
67SonomaFan, Public Relations Manager at The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback! On your next visit, definitely try to visit The Raindance Spa! The Spa offers a variety of incredible services that include authentic and local ingredients from the valley as well as a beautiful outdoor garden that includes warm soaking pools and cabanas.
I will be sure to pass along your feedback regarding our bar staff, and we appreciate you taking the time so that we may continue to improve! We look forward to seeing you back at the Lodge at Sonoma soon!

Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We paid $400 per night for what we were told was an "upgrade" to a cottage. Wow!! As beautiful and modern as the Lobby was we were excited. What a huge disappointment. The cottages are cheap and outdated. I'm thinking the GOOD reviews here were for rooms with balconies and ones that were updated. The cottages are disgraceful for this kind of money and for an establishment that calls itself a "resort". The negatives were: most TV channels were analog and so distorted we couldn't watch them, old, plastic trash cans with no liners, plastic drinking cups (as you would find in a Motel Six), uncomfortable, NOISY beds, vibrating AC vent, low water pressure, inconvenient parking and no exhaust fan in the bathroom. Positives?? There was no one above us, free wine tasting in the evening, complimentary shuttle to downtown Sonoma. The cost for this hotel is ridiculous. Obviously, they price it the way they do for the convenience. I do not mind paying this amount for a top-notch resort (oh, and we were charged a $20 resort fee each day) but NOT for accommodations worse than a low-budget Marriott property.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We paid $509/night for a room with a king size bed. The lobby is modern and clean but, the rooms are outdated. The decor is early 90's, the refrigerator is loud, our sink has a crack in it and the grout in the bathroom is dirty. Carpets and floorboards are old. The bed is somewhat comfortable but creeky. There is a gap at the bottom of the door that is 3 inches on one side and 1 inches on the other side, allowing alot of light into the room. The tv isnt even a new flat screen, the alarm clock has a CD player...um who uses CDs these days. I wouldve preferred an iPod dock. I was really surprised to see the info on the hotel and in-room dining on a cheap paper pamphlet, flyer style. Pool is old, just a square shape, one you would find in an old motel. It does have a jacuzzi and lots of patio furniture.
I would not call it a resort at all. On the other hand, the service of the friendly staff was great.
The reason why i am so disappointed is because renaissance is an established hotel group and i would hope they would pay closer attention to detail for the price i am paying.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, WI
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We chose this hotel in Sonoma because it was one of the recommended ones by the wedding party for which we were attending. It turned out to be convenient as two of the wedding events were held here.

We selected to stay in one of the cottages which provided more room than the conventional guest room. We had a suite with a king bed which was very confortable. There was complimentary wine in our room. Our room had a couch and a fireplace. In addition to the sink area, there was a separate dressing/makeup area with seat.

The grounds of the hotel were very lovely with plenty of seating outdoor by the pool and bar area. Twice we ordered sandwiches from the cafe and sat outside just relaxing. There wasn't a large seletion of food, but the food was very good.

Two of my favorite things about the hotel was first, they provided me with a palm size card that had 2 running paths marked -a 3 mile and 6 mile course. Genius!
The second was that it was within walking distance of the quilt store. Perfect combination for me.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The service was excellent, the rooms well maintained, and the grounds beautiful. A great place for a relaxing couple of days.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa

Address: 1325 Broadway at Leveroni & Napa Roads, Sonoma, CA 95476
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sonoma
#3 Spa Hotel in Sonoma
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in an exquisite Sonoma Hotel offering vibrant charm in a tranquil setting. Nestled in gorgeous Sonoma Valley, The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa is less than an hour north of San Francisco and centrally located among the country's finest wineries. Showcasing the incredible beauty of the valley, our Sonoma resort's accommodations combine authentically artisan surroundings with contemporary facilities to create a haven of casual sophistication. The award-winning Raindance Spa in our Sonoma Valley resort offers the ultimate in reflection, revitalization and romance. Carneros Bistro at our Sonoma resort features local wines and innovative cuisine with Mediterranean influences. In a hurry? Try Bean & Bottle, our wine & coffee bar with locally inspired items to-go. The Lodge at Sonoma is also the perfect destination for corporate meetings, social events and Sonoma Wine Country weddings and wedding receptions offering 22,000 square feet of flexible event space, both indoors and out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Sonoma Renaissance Resort And Spa
The Lodge At Sonoma Renaissance Hotel Sonoma
Hotel Sonoma Renaissance
Lodge Sonoma
Renaissance Sonoma
Sonoma Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.