We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great retreat in wine country” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1325 Broadway at Leveroni & Napa Roads, Sonoma, CA 95476   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great retreat in wine country”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The hotel has a great set up as most of the rooms are in little cottages which provides a great feeling of privacy. Very large and comfortable rooms with a gas fire place. Also, Concierge was able to set us up with some private wine tastings and vineyard tours that we never would've found on our own but were the best experiences we had in Sonoma.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
67SonomaFan, Director of Operations at The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you so much for the great feedback! Our Navigators are some of the best in Sonoma Valley and truly know how to create the ultimate "Sonoma Experience" for our guests. Please come back soon!

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    289
    104
    41
    20
See reviews for
101
456
11
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maine, USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Lodge. We stayed in a bungalow/cottage that was independent from the main hotel, so it felt very private. The room felt very upscale, comfortable, and quiet. I really enjoyed the pool area. The pool furniture is fantastic. There are plenty of places to lay out and also areas to eat or hang out.

The spa was fantastic. I had a wonderful facial from Maria who customized the whole experience to my needs. It felt like five facials in one. We also hung out in the spa pool area that day which I definitely recommend. It is very private and the thermal pools are fantastic.

The location was great, right in the heart of Sonoma. If you want to go to vineyards, restaurants, or shops, you definitely need a car. Sonoma is pretty spread out so you probably need a car wherever you stay.

We stayed with our small dog and it went great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
67SonomaFan, Director of Operations at The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you! I am so glad that you enjoyed your experience at both the resort and Raindance Spa. Please come back and visit us soon.

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was our second stay at the Lodge, and we definitely enjoyed it. This is a beautiful and modern hotel, but it has plenty of Wine Country charm. We are loyal Marriott travelers, and both times we have stayed, have received the complimentary upgrade to the suites. The suites have a fireplace, large (and very comfortable!) beds, soaking tubs, patio, etc. The rooms are also very clean and the staff is friendly and accommodating, which is always appreciated. The prices are a bit on the high side for this property, but comparable to similar properties in the area.

The location is a long walk from Sonoma Square, but the property offers a free shuttle in the afternoons and evenings (until 10:45PM I believe), which is great if you want to have a bottle of wine with dinner.

The only downside to this hotel is that the pool area can get very crowded and even rowdy, which does not lend itself to relaxation. There are plenty of chairs, but I saw many, many used towels and cups laying around the pool area even after it emptied out in the evening. It could have just been a particularly busy weekend when we stayed, but it was something I noticed.

Overall, great property in a great location. We will absolutely stay again when in Wine Country.

Room Tip: If you can, go for the suite/standalone rooms. It is a little quieter towards the back of the proper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and stayed here for 3 nights in mid-June. My wife has stayed here before and says it is one of her favorite properties. The check-in was quick and effortless. We were upgraded to an upstairs cottage room. It was very clean, well-appointed with tub/shower, fireplace and a big comfy bed. The wine and cheese platter waiting for us was a very nice touch. We enjoyed the pool/spa everyday of our stay and lunched/snacked from the Bean & Bottle (nice poolside service as well). Unfortunately, we did not try the Carneros Bistro. Heard good things about it (read an article about the sommalier, too), but the plethora of restaurants in downtown Sonoma, as well as (fairly) nearby Napa and Yountville limited us. The location is "southern" compared to most of the wineries and other towns, but the drives are beautiful so we rarely minded. It is about a mile walk to downtown, but sure didn't seem it (I'm told there is a hotel shuttle, too). The staff is very friendly and helpful. The concierge pointed us to a lot of fun activities. Well done.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs cottage room, if available, but the rooms in the main building are probably very...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel uses compostable cups at all their "hydration stations".
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
67SonomaFan, Director of Operations at The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for the awesome feedback! On your next visit, definitely try Carneros Bistro! Guests are often hesitant to try the on-site restaurant at a hotel, but our food is absolutely amazing and the scores have never been higher. We look forward to seeing you back at the Lodge at Sonoma in the very near future!

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I spent a weekend at The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa. We stayed in a cottage with a king size bed, sitting area with fire place, tub and shower.
Room was comfortable and cleaned spotless.

On a very minor negative side – just a few pieces of tissue in the box, a very skimpy quantity of tea, coffee and creamer.
Good for a special occasion when planning to use available variety of $$$$ services. Way too costly just for the overnight stay.

Room Tip: Good for a special occasions when planning to use available services. Way too costly just for the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I was expecting so much more from this hotel. It was nice, but not 4-star worthy in my experience.

The pros:
-The staff! The staff were awesome. From being greeted from the moment I stepped into the lobby to help finding my room, the staff were accommodating and extremely nice.
-The shuttle was nice to have and useful.
-The pool area (although I didn't get a chance to use it) was beautiful, had plenty of chairs, and it seemed extremely popular.
-The beds were comfortable.
-You CAN walk to the square, if you feel like taking a nice long stroll through a neighborhood (and then walking down a busy street sidewalk for a couple blocks)

The cons:
-The location is not extremely near the square. It's about a mile away (which was a fine walk or you can hop on the shuttle), but if you're looking for a hotel at the square, this is not the one for you.
-No free breakfast. I know this isn't something I was expecting, but it's always nice to be able to grab a bowl of cereal or some coffee before getting moving in the morning.

Cons that might be specific to my experience:
-NOISE! My room was on the 2nd floor, but right next to event rooms and the lobby. I could hear the lobby noise with the door shut and the TV on. This didn't particularly keep me awake since I was so tired, but it was not ideal for a nice getaway.
-The view from my room overlooked the street, train town, and the hotel restaurant. It wasn't so nice.
-My bathroom was NOT clean. There were random hairs (that didn't belong to me) everywhere in the shower and sink area. It was gross.
-When we did request the shuttle, it took quite a while to get a driver out. Once the driver came he was extremely pleasant though.

All in all, I'm okay with this hotel since I got an awesome deal on staying, but rather displeased with it overall. There are better rooms that aren't near the lobby and I imagine would've been quieter. Not sure about the cleanliness.

Room Tip: Do not get a room near the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel several times and love the location, the comfortable rooms, and helpful staff - always a relaxing and enjoyable stay. The shuttle for the short trip to downtown Sonoma a big plus. After our last visit, we were at the airport when we realized we had left some things in the room. The concierge, Elizabeth, immediately understood our concern and urgency, and went to the room, where housekeeping had found our items. She quickly called us back to let us know the items had been found and she would send them to us - all before we boarded. The awareness of our concern and the need for a quick response meant a great deal to us and show the helpful nature of the staff - Many thanks!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa

Address: 1325 Broadway at Leveroni & Napa Roads, Sonoma, CA 95476
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#3 Green Hotel in Sonoma
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in an exquisite Sonoma Hotel offering vibrant charm in a tranquil setting. Nestled in gorgeous Sonoma Valley, The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa is less than an hour north of San Francisco and centrally located among the country's finest wineries. Showcasing the incredible beauty of the valley, our Sonoma resort's accommodations combine authentically artisan surroundings with contemporary facilities to create a haven of casual sophistication. The award-winning Raindance Spa in our Sonoma Valley resort offers the ultimate in reflection, revitalization and romance. Carneros Bistro at our Sonoma resort features local wines and innovative cuisine with Mediterranean influences. In a hurry? Try Bean & Bottle, our wine & coffee bar with locally inspired items to-go. The Lodge at Sonoma is also the perfect destination for corporate meetings, social events and Sonoma Wine Country weddings and wedding receptions offering 22,000 square feet of flexible event space, both indoors and out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Sonoma Renaissance Resort And Spa
The Lodge At Sonoma Renaissance Hotel Sonoma
Hotel Sonoma Renaissance
Lodge Sonoma
Renaissance Sonoma
Sonoma Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.