We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel in Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1325 Broadway at Leveroni & Napa Roads, Sonoma, CA 95476   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up To 20% Off Resorts
Ranked #5 of 11 hotels in Sonoma
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel in Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was our second stay at the Lodge, and we definitely enjoyed it. This is a beautiful and modern hotel, but it has plenty of Wine Country charm. We are loyal Marriott travelers, and both times we have stayed, have received the complimentary upgrade to the suites. The suites have a fireplace, large (and very comfortable!) beds, soaking tubs, patio, etc. The rooms are also very clean and the staff is friendly and accommodating, which is always appreciated. The prices are a bit on the high side for this property, but comparable to similar properties in the area.

The location is a long walk from Sonoma Square, but the property offers a free shuttle in the afternoons and evenings (until 10:45PM I believe), which is great if you want to have a bottle of wine with dinner.

The only downside to this hotel is that the pool area can get very crowded and even rowdy, which does not lend itself to relaxation. There are plenty of chairs, but I saw many, many used towels and cups laying around the pool area even after it emptied out in the evening. It could have just been a particularly busy weekend when we stayed, but it was something I noticed.

Overall, great property in a great location. We will absolutely stay again when in Wine Country.

Room Tip: If you can, go for the suite/standalone rooms. It is a little quieter towards the back of the proper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    339
    223
    81
    33
    19
See reviews for
68
351
9
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and stayed here for 3 nights in mid-June. My wife has stayed here before and says it is one of her favorite properties. The check-in was quick and effortless. We were upgraded to an upstairs cottage room. It was very clean, well-appointed with tub/shower, fireplace and a big comfy bed. The wine and cheese platter waiting for us was a very nice touch. We enjoyed the pool/spa everyday of our stay and lunched/snacked from the Bean & Bottle (nice poolside service as well). Unfortunately, we did not try the Carneros Bistro. Heard good things about it (read an article about the sommalier, too), but the plethora of restaurants in downtown Sonoma, as well as (fairly) nearby Napa and Yountville limited us. The location is "southern" compared to most of the wineries and other towns, but the drives are beautiful so we rarely minded. It is about a mile walk to downtown, but sure didn't seem it (I'm told there is a hotel shuttle, too). The staff is very friendly and helpful. The concierge pointed us to a lot of fun activities. Well done.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs cottage room, if available, but the rooms in the main building are probably very...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel uses compostable cups at all their "hydration stations".
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
67SonomaFan, Director of Operations at The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for the awesome feedback! On your next visit, definitely try Carneros Bistro! Guests are often hesitant to try the on-site restaurant at a hotel, but our food is absolutely amazing and the scores have never been higher. We look forward to seeing you back at the Lodge at Sonoma in the very near future!

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I spent a weekend at The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa. We stayed in a cottage with a king size bed, sitting area with fire place, tub and shower.
Room was comfortable and cleaned spotless.

On a very minor negative side – just a few pieces of tissue in the box, a very skimpy quantity of tea, coffee and creamer.
Good for a special occasion when planning to use available variety of $$$$ services. Way too costly just for the overnight stay.

Room Tip: Good for a special occasions when planning to use available services. Way too costly just for the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I was expecting so much more from this hotel. It was nice, but not 4-star worthy in my experience.

The pros:
-The staff! The staff were awesome. From being greeted from the moment I stepped into the lobby to help finding my room, the staff were accommodating and extremely nice.
-The shuttle was nice to have and useful.
-The pool area (although I didn't get a chance to use it) was beautiful, had plenty of chairs, and it seemed extremely popular.
-The beds were comfortable.
-You CAN walk to the square, if you feel like taking a nice long stroll through a neighborhood (and then walking down a busy street sidewalk for a couple blocks)

The cons:
-The location is not extremely near the square. It's about a mile away (which was a fine walk or you can hop on the shuttle), but if you're looking for a hotel at the square, this is not the one for you.
-No free breakfast. I know this isn't something I was expecting, but it's always nice to be able to grab a bowl of cereal or some coffee before getting moving in the morning.

Cons that might be specific to my experience:
-NOISE! My room was on the 2nd floor, but right next to event rooms and the lobby. I could hear the lobby noise with the door shut and the TV on. This didn't particularly keep me awake since I was so tired, but it was not ideal for a nice getaway.
-The view from my room overlooked the street, train town, and the hotel restaurant. It wasn't so nice.
-My bathroom was NOT clean. There were random hairs (that didn't belong to me) everywhere in the shower and sink area. It was gross.
-When we did request the shuttle, it took quite a while to get a driver out. Once the driver came he was extremely pleasant though.

All in all, I'm okay with this hotel since I got an awesome deal on staying, but rather displeased with it overall. There are better rooms that aren't near the lobby and I imagine would've been quieter. Not sure about the cleanliness.

Room Tip: Do not get a room near the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel several times and love the location, the comfortable rooms, and helpful staff - always a relaxing and enjoyable stay. The shuttle for the short trip to downtown Sonoma a big plus. After our last visit, we were at the airport when we realized we had left some things in the room. The concierge, Elizabeth, immediately understood our concern and urgency, and went to the room, where housekeeping had found our items. She quickly called us back to let us know the items had been found and she would send them to us - all before we boarded. The awareness of our concern and the need for a quick response meant a great deal to us and show the helpful nature of the staff - Many thanks!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arroyo grande
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I used my Marriott points recently to book two nights at The Lodge - Rennaisance Resort in Sonoma, CA, and made reservations two months in advance. There are suppose to be benefits, including upgrades if available, from being a Rewards Club member but I found none at this establishment. All of their Inn rooms, with the exception of the cottage type rooms behind the main building, are standard but very attractive rooms, in which case the benefit of having a nicer room is strictly "location." I was given a room facing the front of the Inn looking at the home improvement center across Broadway Street, which is the main thoroughfare leading into downtown Sonoma. Additionally, this room was adjacent to the second floor conference center and directly across from the public bathrooms.

My reservation was mid-week and I was an early afternoon arrival, at a time when many rooms were available. I immediately asked to be placed into a different room, preferably one overlooking the pool and center courtyard. Although many were currently vacant, the guest relations manager refused to move me, stating a big group was coming in and they had pre-assigned many of the rooms. I then asked to be placed in a more quiet spot and guest relations again refused my request. A short time later there must have been a shift change because another guest relations manager called to ask about the accommodations. I, once again made another request for either a Rewards Member upgrade or another room in a different location. This guest relations person simply ignored my request at which time I asked to speak with the Hotel manager. She said he would call me but I never heard from anyone again. I feel that some accommodation could have been made as rooms were available.

The entire experience made me feel that I was actually being discriminated against because I was a Rewards Club member and not a cash paying guest. I opted not to stay an additional night at the location and made a reservation at a 5-Star resort in Napa. Upon check-in to that location, a number of rooms were apparently available and they immediately upgraded me to their "Superior" room without my having to say a word. Wow! What a difference in customer relations...and I was not even a member of any rewards plan with this new resort.

Marriott is just too big a corporation that apparently feels they do not need to show any loyalty to their Rewards Club members...too bad!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Lovely one night stay in this resort with friends. There was always plenty of staff to assist us with everything from opening doors to getting poolside drinks. I really enjoyed the atmosphere and sophistication of this resort. They offer shuttle service to downtown Sonoma (1 mile away).

The beds were very comfortable and the rooms were large with a nice balcony overlooking the pool. Even on a very hot Saturday night, the noise from the pool area was not distracting from the serenity of the resort.

Cindy, at concierge, was very helpful in explaining area to us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main lodge, overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
67SonomaFan, Director of Operations at The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you! We are fortunate to have an amazing staff who truly understands what guest service is all about. Please come back soon!

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
The Lodge At Sonoma Renaissance Resort And Spa
The Lodge At Sonoma Renaissance Hotel
The Lodge At Sonoma Renaissance Hotel Sonoma
Hotel Sonoma Renaissance
Lodge Sonoma
Renaissance Sonoma
Sonoma Renaissance
Address: 1325 Broadway at Leveroni & Napa Roads, Sonoma, CA 95476
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
#2 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#3 Green Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in an exquisite Sonoma Hotel offering vibrant charm in a tranquil setting. Nestled in gorgeous Sonoma Valley, The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa is less than an hour north of San Francisco and centrally located among the country's finest wineries. Showcasing the incredible beauty of the valley, our Sonoma resort's accommodations combine authentically artisan surroundings with contemporary facilities to create a haven of casual sophistication. The award-winning Raindance Spa in our Sonoma Valley resort offers the ultimate in reflection, revitalization and romance. Carneros Bistro at our Sonoma resort features local wines and innovative cuisine with Mediterranean influences. In a hurry? Try Bean & Bottle, our wine & coffee bar with locally inspired items to-go. The Lodge at Sonoma is also the perfect destination for corporate meetings, social events and Sonoma Wine Country weddings and wedding receptions offering 22,000 square feet of flexible event space, both indoors and out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Venere, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.