We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1325 Broadway at Leveroni & Napa Roads, Sonoma, CA 95476   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Nightly Credit
Ranked #5 of 11 hotels in Sonoma
GreenLeadersBronze level
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

We were here for 3 nights in an upstairs, King bed cottage and were in a very quiet location of the property overlooking the spa (room 18E). We loved this resort and my husband is already planning a return trip next year. Things we really appreciated: great location with easy parking and a short walk or drive downtown, beautiful grounds, great common areas perfect for sharing that stunning bottle of wine you found earlier that day, romantic lighting and candles near the pool at night (stake out a claim early), good exercise room and a running trail not far away, good coffee bar, and very comfortable rooms. We also had dinner at the restaurant, Carneros, and it was one of the best meals we had on the trip.
Overall...not really any faults that we could find here.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    380
    245
    86
    35
    19
See reviews for
82
391
10
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Loved the Lodge at Sonoma. We were upgraded to a cottage room due to my Marriott status upon check-in. The room was large and clean. The pool area was very nice and offered a nice view of sunset over the mountains. They have a free shuttle to take you downtown Sonoma for dinner or it is about a mile walk. I would stay again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This hotel is made up mostly of small cottages...we had an upper room which was nice and quiet and we were also far away from the pool, which can be rather noisy....the restaurant on premises was excellent...and the pool itself was beautiful with comfortable chaises and lounge chairs...also nice to sit by fire-pit at night....about a mile from town square, 20-30 minutes to most Sonoma area wineries and 30-40 mins to Napa valley...also went for lunch in Petaluma one day - very nice only 20 mins away....

Room Tip: If you want quiet- stay away from pool area....upper floors may be quieter as well....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We upgraded to a cottage and loved the space and comfort. We also appreciated the fact that dogs are allowed, although the $75 dog fee was probably the highest in the area. Very close to the quaint town of Sonoma.
August is high season, so visit during the week for better hotel availability and price.
Wine tasting tip: if you are flying, get one of the $10 wine shipping boxes available from many of the wineries. The box has excellent packing, and holds a dozen bottles. The hotel supplied package tape to seal the carton. Checked the wine at curbside, and remember that Southwest has no baggage fees. Wine arrived in perfect shape.

Room Tip: Ask for a room more in the middle of the property. Inside cottage was very quiet #11.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, GA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights..... our room was beautitful and quiet. We enjoyed the poolside quiet spots at night while we had a glass of wine from the bar. We ate one night at the restaurant and it was good as well. Walked into Sonoma for a few other meals- not a far walk.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I and our three children, ages 11, 8, and 6, recently stayed at this property in beautiful Sonoma.

Once within the walls of the Lodge it has a very calming and relaxing feel to the property, which as what we had hoped for after spendin the previous 5 days in San Francisco. We were upgraded to a "cottage" and it was a good amnt of space for our family of 5. Two Double Beds and a pull-out sofa were plenty for us. Bathroom was updated and nicely done. Room also had a mini fridge. The best part of the Lodge were the grounds at night. The comfortable couches and loungers were perfect for relaxing at the end of the day, while nestled among large enclosed fire "pits" (tall, like candles, not sure what to call them!) The grounds themselves were beautiful manicured--grapefruit trees, flowers, bushes, etc...all lent to a very classy feel of the property.

The service was great as the employees were very friendly. This property had several other families as well so we felt very happy with our choice to stay at The Lodge.

Room Tip: If you can, upgrade or get upgraded to a cottage--a nice little "oasis" :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at the Lodge for business but were able to use most amenities. Recently renovated, we had high expectations, considering a previous brief visit during which the Lodge looked kind of tired. The environment is unimpressive, the Lodge is situated on a corner and next to an ugly transfer station. Welcome was friendly and the lobby looked indeed clean and renovated. We had a room on the first floor with a patio facing the parking lot: A major drawback, since you have to keep the blinds drawn all day for privacy. It was also a few doors from the hallway and we could hear the lobby music loud and clear, even at night. Despite two requests to lower the volume, nothing happened. Sitting on the patio was not enticing since it was next to the parking lot with significant foot traffic right past your chair. The room itself was large and nicely decorated. It included a fire place, and a bath tub divided the bathroom from the room. The bathroom itself was poorly designed for a spa hotel. The shower stall was very small, hardly any room to move around. It should have traded places with the separate toilet, which was right next to the sink. There was no handle or hook to hang a hand towel and a soap dish was missing. When we asked about this we were told it was built in in the counter: it wasn't. in other rooms there were soap dishes. In 4 days, housekeeping never brought one while it was obvious there was none. We used a coffee cup lid instead. The only easy chair in the fairly large room was so hard we needed to use a pillow from the outdoor furniture to make it relatively comfortable.
The bar/lounge was nice, service a bit slow despite enough staff. They were mostly talking with people sitting at the bar. Food during the meetings was good, nothing exceptional but a quality expected from a place like this with fresh produce at hand. The service during the meals was excellent.
The spa was nearly renovated and due to the renovation treatments were discounted, a nice gesture. It is not very large and once again some poor design features. The men's locker room is small and while changing, people in the hall can look straight at you any time the door opens: Not very private. The relaxation room looks like a living room with way too much furniture in it and it is very dark. Bright light is too much, but this spa goes the other way. However, we both had one of the best massages ever in the US. Overall the spa is average at best, I don't understand the high ratings, but the massages made up at least.
The pool area was not too inviting for us but we did use the seating areas next to it. Nice touch is the fact that the covers from the benches can be lowered when the sun disappears.
The meeting rooms were adequate for our needs.
Overall, the experience was average to good. If you just use it as a starting point for all day wine tasting with a massage at the end of the day, it is a decent choice.

Room Tip: Get a cottage with view of court yard or, if in the main building, a room on the second floor. Even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa

Address: 1325 Broadway at Leveroni & Napa Roads, Sonoma, CA 95476
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#3 Spa Hotel in Sonoma
#4 Green Hotel in Sonoma
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in an exquisite Sonoma Hotel offering vibrant charm in a tranquil setting. Nestled in gorgeous Sonoma Valley, The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa is less than an hour north of San Francisco and centrally located among the country's finest wineries. Showcasing the incredible beauty of the valley, our Sonoma resort's accommodations combine authentically artisan surroundings with contemporary facilities to create a haven of casual sophistication. The award-winning Raindance Spa in our Sonoma Valley resort offers the ultimate in reflection, revitalization and romance. Carneros Bistro at our Sonoma resort features local wines and innovative cuisine with Mediterranean influences. In a hurry? Try Bean & Bottle, our wine & coffee bar with locally inspired items to-go. The Lodge at Sonoma is also the perfect destination for corporate meetings, social events and Sonoma Wine Country weddings and wedding receptions offering 22,000 square feet of flexible event space, both indoors and out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Sonoma Renaissance Resort And Spa
The Lodge At Sonoma Renaissance Hotel Sonoma
Hotel Sonoma Renaissance
Lodge Sonoma
Renaissance Sonoma
Sonoma Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.