We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for Adults” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1325 Broadway at Leveroni & Napa Roads, Sonoma, CA 95476   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bend, Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Place for Adults”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This is a gorgeous property, and the service was among the best I've ever experienced. The room was beautiful, with comfortable beds (with me & 2 kids we opted for the two beds option). We were fortunate to get a poolside room which had glass doors opening to a little patio with table & chairs. When my girlfriends joined us we enjoyed great margaritas at the poolside bar. The only disappointment for us was their policy of no pool toys, and the kids had to remain quiet (i.e., stop being kids). Apparently, even though they are a Spa hotel, they don't have a good adults-only option for adults who need a quiet, kid-less atmosphere at the pool. The kids (my girlfriend brought 2 as well) were very disappointed, but eventually we negotiated with management to allow them to use the small toys they could dive for. Again, the service was always kind & respectful, I just wish I'd known it wasn't the kind of family experience we were looking for.

Room Tip: If you're not a member of the Marriot Rewards program, join before you go. You're eligible f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    268
    97
    39
    20
See reviews for
91
431
10
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northridge, Ca.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

A quiet cottage in the middle of wine country made for a delightful stay. The staff was attentive and helpful. The grounds were spacious and clean. The pool had mini cabanas available at no charge. There was wine tasting conveniently located next door. The restaurant next door, Carneros, was excellent. Worth the extra cost.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Spent three nights there in early August. We were in a cottage room. Quite beautiful. The room are wonderful size and comfortable. Only negative was the water. This is somewhat picky, but simply couldn't rinse the soap off. My wife and I used different soap so it was the water. Staff we're very polite, friendly and helpful. The young lady at check-in gave us some suggestions for wineries which were ideal for us. The small restaurant/wine bar next to the lobby was a great spot for morning coffee. Great coffee and free refills. We did eat at the full service restaurant for one breakfast. Decent buffet but expensive for what we got. Location to Sonoma is excellent. One mile from plaza. There is a free shuttle but there are no problems with parking in plaza. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Just got back from spending 8 days in Sonoma/San Fran. This resort was amazing and very peaceful. It's right off the main hwy (121 I believe) on the edge of town. We arrived on a Saturday and stayed in a lodge room which was nice but were upgraded to a cottage. They have free wine tastings from 12-5 where the host give us some wonderful wineries/vineyards to check out. The cafe in the tasting room is also good but expensive (it is hotel prices). The pool was great with comfy lounge furniture and a great hot tub. It was warm/sunny during the day (highs in the 80s but got down in the 50s at night. What's also nice is they have water jugs. We drank a lot of water with the wine tastings and the heat of the day. The cottage is quaint yet comfortable. The staff was extremely nice. The shuttle in to Sonoma Square was very handy. You can take it up until 10:45pm at night. Everyone is so friendly in Sonoma. The one thing is a lot of the stores close at 6pm. A lot of the restaurants are open later. Once you check in, the resort offers a lists of stores/restaurants in the are which helped out a lot.

Places I recommend
Red Grape Wood Fired Pizza
Harvest Moon Cafe (wonderful food, they change their menu frequently, a little pricey but worth it)
Sunflower Cafe (Great B-Fast/Lunch Spot)
Ravenswood Winery - Zinfindel and Moscato are great. Uncle Bob is a great host!
Buena Vista Winery (the oldest one in the Sonoma) - Ali (our tasting host) was great!
Gloria Ferrer (wonderful sparkling wines)
Sonoma Cheese Factory
Hot Shots (Great Coffee/Breakfast Spot) right down the road from the resort
Sonoma Valley Cyclery. This is a local bike shop we used to rent bikes. They are open 10 until 6 Mon-Sat and 10am until 4pm on Sundays. To rent bikes for 3 or so hours, it cost us $16 for each of us. This is one of the cheaper bike places the area.

In Napa
Oxbow Public Market (Food places and Merchants) - Cupcake place there is great!
Laird Vineyard - Wonderful Sav Blanc
Andretti Winery (reminds me of being in Italy)
Luna Vineyard (great tasting room, pinot was great)
Nicholson Ranch, (wonderful red wines)

A fun excursion is to Sonoma Coast/Bodega Bay. It's about an hour or so north west of Sonoma.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Spent 3 days during the first week of August for a visit to several wineries. Proximity is ideal to many wineries within driving distance. Resort is just on the edge of Sonoma, but setting feels like it's in the country. Check-in staff was very kind providing an upgrade from a standard room to a cottage suite with a king bed. Rooms are very spacious and have a deck to enjoy being outside, especially with the fabulous weather.

Had a chance to visit the pool briefly. And although not very big, it's probably not the main draw for the location. Nice place to just lay around and enjoy morning coffee or the afternoon sun.

Didn't eat at the resort as there were many great dining options in town. Resort has a shuttle from hotel to downtown, but didn't use since we had a rental vehicle. Distance is about 1 mile from resort to downtown. And a vehicle was our preference for visiting the wineries.

Overall I'd definitely recommend the resort, especially for the location in the heart of wine country. You're anywhere from 15 - 30 minutes to dozens of wineries.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was a great ending to a week long vacation in CA. Our cottage room was well appointed and we could have easily stayed inside the whole time, but they make it easy to see Sonoma. Elizabeth, the conceirge led us on a Friday morning hike that ended at the local farmers market where an artisan was baking bread & pretzels in a portable clay fired oven. Yum! Afterward Elizabeth made sure that we were situated with activities to our liking for the rest of our trip, complete with discount coupons. The free ahuttle for drop off and pick up came in quite hamdy as well. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. The free shuttle to town square was a great added bonus and the concierge was helpful when we were looking for guidance on which vineyards to go to. This is a relatively small resort and the grounds are well kept.

Our room was spacious and clean, nice and modern. If I had to be nit picky I'd say the shower could be a bit larger but it wasn't that big of a deal.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa

Address: 1325 Broadway at Leveroni & Napa Roads, Sonoma, CA 95476
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sonoma
#3 Green Hotel in Sonoma
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in an exquisite Sonoma Hotel offering vibrant charm in a tranquil setting. Nestled in gorgeous Sonoma Valley, The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa is less than an hour north of San Francisco and centrally located among the country's finest wineries. Showcasing the incredible beauty of the valley, our Sonoma resort's accommodations combine authentically artisan surroundings with contemporary facilities to create a haven of casual sophistication. The award-winning Raindance Spa in our Sonoma Valley resort offers the ultimate in reflection, revitalization and romance. Carneros Bistro at our Sonoma resort features local wines and innovative cuisine with Mediterranean influences. In a hurry? Try Bean & Bottle, our wine & coffee bar with locally inspired items to-go. The Lodge at Sonoma is also the perfect destination for corporate meetings, social events and Sonoma Wine Country weddings and wedding receptions offering 22,000 square feet of flexible event space, both indoors and out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Sonoma Renaissance Hotel Sonoma
The Lodge At Sonoma Renaissance Resort And Spa
Hotel Sonoma Renaissance
Lodge Sonoma
Renaissance Sonoma
Sonoma Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.