We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adored Every Moment of Our Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1325 Broadway at Leveroni & Napa Roads, Sonoma, CA 95476   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mason, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Adored Every Moment of Our Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

My husband stayed here Wednesday-Saturday to celebrate a wedding anniversary. We stayed in one of the quality rooms (a standard room in the main lodge building).

The grounds are beautiful to say the least, the rooms are so clean and spacious, and the front desk met our needs (they did not go above and beyond, but they met our expectations).

My only warning is watch the use of smartphones in the room (ensure your settings are set for your phone service provider, not to pick up any wi-fi). Wi-fi is only free in the lobby/public areas.

We absolutely loved the Bean & Bottle. They have awesome coffee in the morning, and the staff at the bar is awesome. We visited there each night for a cocktail, and the charcuterie and cheese they have there rivals anything else you'd find in wine country.

We were so relaxed and felt as though we has our privacy. There was even a huge wedding there during our stay, and we were not disturbed at all.

The location is just South of the main plaza area. It's not too far of a walk, but they have a shuttle that will readily take you to the plaza at your call.

Overall, a wonderful stay. I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    287
    104
    41
    20
See reviews for
101
454
11
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

My sister and I stayed at the Lodge from 6/5 - 6/10. It is absolutely beautiful. We stayed in one of the cottages which was very nice. Cottage has electric fireplace, refrig, beautiful pool with cabana sofas,etc. The grounds are very pretty and maintained. But mostly we felt the staff was very helpful. We highly recommend it. On the grounds, there is a restaurant called Carneros Bistro. The food is delicious with excellent wines, with fantastic service. They also have a separate little inside bar area for sandwiches, drinks, breakfast foods and coffee (things for on-the-go or eat in). There is an outside firepit as well. The beds were comfortable. I just can't say enough...lovely.

Room Tip: The cottages...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Beautiful property with a very professional & courtesy staff. The rooms were clean & very quiet. The only complaint I have is the beds were to firm for our backs.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, OH
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

The cottages are surrounded by beautiful flowers and trees and the room is
so cozy and quiet, it has more of a feel of a residence than a hotel. It was
very relaxing. The lobby, on the other hand, reminds you that you're in a
luxurious resort. It is decorated very nicely with great service at the
reception as well as a concierge desk. Another nice thing is that it is in a
walking distance from the city center, the "plaza." There is a sidewalk the
entire way and it's a very pleasant walk. We would definitely stay here
again and would recommend this resort to anyone who comes to Sonoma.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

The Lodge at Sonoma is a great property with all ammenities on site. There are rooms in the main hotel, along with many luxury cottages found on winding pathways the pass through the well manicured gardens. The beds are exceptionally comfortable and the cottage we stayed in had a fireplace and bathtub with moving shutters, that when moved out of the way, allowed the tub area to become central to the room. Very romantic for honeymooners! There is a restaurant on site (Carneros) that offers gourmet food, but was pricey. The Raindance Spa is at the far end of the property and open daily from 9am to 7 pm. There is also wine tasting daily in the Cellar Room, and is perfect for outdoor receptions. The swimming pool is in the main courtyard between the hotel area and the cottages, and offers numerous chaise lounges (towels provided), and fire pits for evenings where you just want to sit an relax outside by a fire. Staff are very helpful and all areas are wonderfully clean and well kept. You'll definitely enjoy your stay at The Lodge at Sonoma. It's only a short drive to the town centre and about a 15 minute drive to the Sonoma Raceway (for those motorsport fans).

Room Tip: the cottages offer lots of privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The rooms are overpriced. On the weekend we were there, there was a wedding and the music from the wedding could be heard throughout the grounds. We were in a first floor room and could hear the people above us walking back and forth. The waitresses in the Carneros restaurant were very pleasant.

Room Tip: Choose a second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Lovely landscaping and great service. This place has been updated and renovated and the cottage rooms are fantastic. We brought our in-laws here and loved every minute. We have NO complaints. The staff made it clear that they were here to make our stay more comfortable.

Room Tip: The pool is open late, so we chose the cottage room to get us away from that area. Go upstairs for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa

Address: 1325 Broadway at Leveroni & Napa Roads, Sonoma, CA 95476
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sonoma
#3 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in an exquisite Sonoma Hotel offering vibrant charm in a tranquil setting. Nestled in gorgeous Sonoma Valley, The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa is less than an hour north of San Francisco and centrally located among the country's finest wineries. Showcasing the incredible beauty of the valley, our Sonoma resort's accommodations combine authentically artisan surroundings with contemporary facilities to create a haven of casual sophistication. The award-winning Raindance Spa in our Sonoma Valley resort offers the ultimate in reflection, revitalization and romance. Carneros Bistro at our Sonoma resort features local wines and innovative cuisine with Mediterranean influences. In a hurry? Try Bean & Bottle, our wine & coffee bar with locally inspired items to-go. The Lodge at Sonoma is also the perfect destination for corporate meetings, social events and Sonoma Wine Country weddings and wedding receptions offering 22,000 square feet of flexible event space, both indoors and out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Sonoma Renaissance Resort And Spa
The Lodge At Sonoma Renaissance Hotel Sonoma
Hotel Sonoma Renaissance
Lodge Sonoma
Renaissance Sonoma
Sonoma Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.