We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Italian Food in Sonoma” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mamma Tanino's Ristorante

Mamma Tanino's Ristorante
500 W. Napa Street, Sonoma, CA 95476
707-933-8826
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mamma Tanino's Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 107 restaurants in Sonoma
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Fifth Street West
Sonoma, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Italian Food in Sonoma”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Mamma Tanino's serves the best Italian food in and is one of the most friendly restaurants in Sonoma.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    23
    8
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Libertyville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“The food is spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Sonoma has several wonderful Italian restaurants, but Mama Tonino's is the best, by far. The food is wonderful. I love Bolognaisse sauce, and Mama's is among the very best I've ever had. My wife has an eggplant dish and was very, very pleased. The prices are very fair. We visit Sonoma every year and I only wish that we'd known about this place sooner.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchard Park, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“dont be fooled with the location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Never thought I would find myself in an urban commercial plaza experiencing fine authentic Italian food in Sonoma BUT I was at this awesome ristorante recommended by one of the local wineries I trust. Kim (wife & host) was truly a delight to speak with and enjoyed her company before the crowd came in. The cuisine was exceptional as was the dessert....and wine! I hope to get the opportunity to get back to enjoy another meal sometime in the near future.
Mike
Orchard Park

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Too Salty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Service was fine, ambiance was ok, all of the food was VERY salty, unfortunately. Too afraid to go back and try again.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Our group of 8 had dinner here on our trip to wine country. I had called in advance to order a family style dinner for our group. The chef had recommended a few customer favorites and with our picks he put together a superb meal for all of us. I could not recommend this place more! Its comfortable, home-y and the food is outstanding (even the Italians in our group thought so). Its located in a strip mall, so you'd never expect it to be this good---but it is.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamma Tanino's Ristorante also viewed

 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Mamma Tanino's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamma Tanino's Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.