We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hot Box Grill

Hot Box Grill
18350 Highway 12, Sonoma, CA 95476
707-939-8383
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hot Box Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 106 Restaurants in Sonoma
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Boyes Blvd
Description: Serving locally sourced ingredients in a relaxed atmosphere, the Hot Box Grill is a wine country gem. Chef Norman Owens is at it again creating inspired comfort food.
San Jose, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We really enjoyed our dinner at the Hotbox. We were looking for someplace we could walk to from the Fairmont and we were pleasantly surprised by the food. It was excellent and of good value. The service was very good and the corkage was $15 and if you purchased a bottle from them the corkage was waived. Normally with 4 of us that would have worked, except we were wine tasting all day!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    25
    16
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very Sonoma Local's Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is our second time visiting Hot Box Grill and it was even better than last time. The Chef serves up some nice dishes. Home made past was wonderful and the chicken pot pie were great. Their wine list focused on Sonoma County with a number of labels that were under 100 case distribution. Reasonably priced, service was Good. Kitchen is in full view allowing for chef table viewing from a number of tables. A must when visiting the town of Sonoma.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is a small place with maybe 15-20 tables. It is easily within walking distance of the Fairmont. The server started out kind of surly but turned out to be extremely helpful and nice. She helped us pick an amazing wine to pair with our dinner. My husband and I had the pot roast for two. It was absolutely delicious. Would return to Hot Box Grill in a heartbeat.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Actually I went there december 2011”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I almost forgot about this place.
I recently went to the girl and fig and just completed my review.

The seating wasn't any more comfortable, and it's also pretty cramped in here. However, I did like the effort at a very unique looking menu. Listening to the servers they have extensive knowledge of the ingredients that go into the food.

I had no complaints about the food or the service, but the seating... if they could get more comfortable chairs that would be great! It's also difficult to get into as it's really small, so if you do want to try, make sure you secure reservations.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice small Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

With only 13 table the place is small but charming. Manned by a real chef, not a cook a very nice place to visit. We had the 32 oz bone in rib-eye for 2 and had no chance of finishing it. Everything was well done and I recomend to anyone a nice small comfortable place to visit

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Box Grill also viewed

Sonoma, Sonoma County
 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Hot Box Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hot Box Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.