We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cottages Rentals - "Top 10 Most Romantic Get-Away"

Saved Save
You added Cottages Rentals - "Top 10 Most Romantic Get-Away" to your Saves list.
Garden
Garden
Garden
Spring Flowers Cottage Exterior
Summer Sun Cottage Bedroom
Community Garden with Picnic Tables
Fall Harvest Lounge - Sleeps 2
Sonoma
|
Rental Home – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
travelexp...
Mentor
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just the way we hoped it would be.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
2
people found this review helpful

The best part of the trip was the cottage complex itself. It was like our own vacation home. The arrival instructions sent well in advance were clear and complete with directions and instructions on how to access the cottage. The welcome information included all the information we needed to access the bikes and use the internet. It was self-service for the most part.
The cottage was charming. Very clean, comfortable, and well appointed with bath robes, nice towels, and private labeled bath products. Their store,'Sonoma's Best' is found just in front of the cottage complex. The store is stocked with gourmet local goodies, a wine shop, a deli, and coffee shop with great coffee and breakfast treats. We had our morning coffee and muffins there daily. The kitchen was more than adequate for cooking great meals with the fresh foods bought at the markets. We did miss a good knife and a colander.
The gardens and courtyards were meticulously kept. The private courtyard with chairs, table and chimenea provided the perfect evening venue to enjoy the starlit sky while sipping the wonderful wine we had purchased at the local wineries.
The location was less than a mile from Sonoma Square and located within a mile or so of several excellent wineries which we walked and biked to (Buena Vista, Gundlach Bundschu, and Bartholomew Park). There was an article in the store by Frommer's that detailed a few of the local 'walking tours' that helped us find our way around even better.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The cottage complex and access to the store.
Liked least: Cooking utensils/supplies could have been better.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
ktizme
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Les Petites Maisons et Tres Magnificique est Romantique!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011 for a stay in July 2010
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed for four days/nights at Les Petites Maisons cottages in Sonoma and had such a magnificent time! We took advantage of a two-for-one offer -- and it was so worth it! The cottages are absolutely adorable -- clean as a whistle - so tranquil - and perfectly located. The cottage was so lovely - and even included nice welcoming gifts! We tasted wine at nearby wineries, slept late each morning, made yummy breakfasts at our cottage, read, napped, walked, and enjoyed lovely summer evenings by the chimineria in the gated front area of our cottage. The gardens were so nice... and we hardly saw a soul. We had hoped to go back this summer -- but life intervened. We are planning for a trip next summer to reprise our wonderful sojourn at Les Petites Maison -- fantastique! Oh....accidentally left my wallet in the bureau -- called and the owner was so accommodating -- drove back and picked it up without a problem. The entire experience was so positive!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The beauty, cleanliness and serene atmosphere
Liked least: N/A - Can't think of a thing we didn't like.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Ann Arbor
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011 for a stay in August 2010
3
people found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The property and accomodations are phenomenal!
Liked least: Wish it was easier to walk to Sonoma Square.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Pleasanton CA
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011 for a stay in February 2011
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
the_artis...
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great home away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011 for a stay in December 2010
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed in the one bedroom cottage called Trois Fleurs at Les Petites Maisons for one month at the end of December '10 through to January 2011. The cozy cottage had everything we required for a stay of that length. It was spotlessly clean, quiet and comfortable. Gayle, the owner, was often on site, but never obtrusive, and always contactable by email or mobile phone.

Although Sonoma is packed full of really nice places to dine out, we cooked quite a few meals in the well equipped kitchen (I even did some Christmas cooking there!) and were able to procure lovely pre-made things to eat, when we were feeling lazy, at the little adjacent market/wine/deli shop. (I would especially recommend the meatballs if they are still making them!) Incidentally, the market, Sonoma's Best (owned and operated by the same people that own the cottages), was a real plus as we bought our morning espresso from the lovely staff there every day.

We walked into Sonoma most days, which was about a 10 minute walk up the road. We did not get to use the bikes or bbq available because the weather was a bit too rainy, but I can see it would be wonderful in the summer. It seems churlish to mention that the wireless reception was a bit patchy, and there were a few things in the cottage that were a bit worn, but all things considered, it was an excellent place to stay and we enjoyed it very, very much.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Ben Lomond CA
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010 for a stay in May 2010
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location and comfort
Liked least: N/A
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
maureensba
California
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010 for a stay in March 2010
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Peacefulness
Liked least: Everything was perfect!
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Tourists
Large groups Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$199
/
Night
Week
Month
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Book this property
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
Owner
Les Petites Maisons
Speaks English
Listed since : Feb 2010
Response Rate: 80 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
$10,000 Peace of Mind Guarantee
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing