We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cycling in the Vineyards!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonoma Valley Bike Tours & Rentals

Sonoma Valley Bike Tours & Rentals
1254 Broadway, Sonoma, CA 95476
+1 707-996-2453
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 76 Activities in Sonoma
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pedal along Sonoma's scenic country roads and visit boutique wineries by bike! We'll steer you to unique tasting rooms that you might otherwise miss.
Jackson, Mississippi
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cycling in the Vineyards!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

My husband and I were excited at the prospect of riding fat-tire bikes through the vineyards of the California wine country, and we were not disappointed! In fact, the whole enjoyable day exceeded our expectations in every way. Our affable, witty, and knowledgeable guide, "North," kept us entertained as we pedaled along the paths among the growing grapes, visiting three quite diverse wineries for tasting their special offerings.

The bikes themselves were in superb shape, and the company made sure they were appropriate to our size (a crucial factor on a long ride!) The cycling itself was not difficult, although there were a few long hills to pull, and a few short portions of the tour that involved a bit of riding on the roads with cars (traffic is very light in the area, though). Our small group of four thoroughly enjoyed getting to know one another, and "North," and I think we were all sorry when the day ended!

A delicious picnic lunch of fat succulent wraps was provided, which we ate on the beautiful terrace of the Ceja family winery. We "provided" ourselves with a chilled bottle from their cellars, as well.

If you're looking for a unique way to learn about California wines, and get a good day's exercise, book a group ride next time you're in the area. Highly recommend!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BikeNapaSonoma, Manager at Sonoma Valley Bike Tours & Rentals, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Thank you, Brendan! Our team is reinvigorated every time we earn another 5-star review. Your review is so descriptive there's no doubt it will be immensely helpful to readers coming here to get a realistic guest's perspective.

While all of our guided tours are designed for casual tourists (i.e. not avid cyclists), our Cycling IN the Vineyards Tour does offer an extra dose of adventure. The detour we take off-road through the vineyards on mountain bikes requires more dexterity and confidence compared to bicycling on paved roads.

We're so pleased you found the tour educational and had a great time hosted by North. We hope to see you back on a return visit!

Kellie M.
Sonoma Valley Bike Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    8
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Way to See Sonoma!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We had a great time on the afternoon tour. We met some great people who we ended up spending the rest of the evening with. We were able to visit 3 wineries, lots of shade, pretty easy ride. We actually rented bikes on our own the next day because we thought it was such a great way to see Sonoma. The girl in the shop was very helpful in mapping out a route for my husband and I to take. I would do it again!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BikeNapaSonoma, Manager at Sonoma Valley Bike Tours & Rentals, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Thank you for riding with us! We're thrilled to see it was a 5-star experience and even inspired you to rent bikes with us the next day! We love hearing stories about tour guests connecting on tour and hitting it off. We've even had guests who met on our bike tour and then planned a return trip together!

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We hope to have the chance to host you again sometime!

Kellie M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This is a great way to visit a couple of wineries in Sonoma. Beautiful streets and downtown to see. Sufficient shade on the routes too. I would do it again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BikeNapaSonoma, Manager at Sonoma Valley Bike Tours & Rentals, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Thank you, Veronica! We're delighted it was a 5-star experience for you and look forward to hosting you when you make it back to wine country.

Kellie M.
Sonoma Valley Bike Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great day in Sonoma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I highly recommend using Sonoma Valley Bike Tours for rentals in Sonoma. The bikes we rented were all in great shape (almost brand new), comfortable, and perfect for taking in a beautiful day in wine country. Jay and Lyn at the shop were extremely helpful and aided us in setting up a perfect itinerary for the day. Our group of 4 loved it and I will surely use them again.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good Quality Road Rentals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We were very happy with our rentals from Sonoma Valley Bike Tours. The bikes were current year Specialized Roubaix, a great bike for casual roadies and perfect for some hilly rides. We took one of their maps for the Carneros ride, a nice up and down route with very little traffic. On the second day we downloaded a map from the Santa Rosa Cycling club and headed into the Russian River Valley area. The bikes were $55 a day, not a super-bargain, but not ridiculous either. Pick up was right of the plaza in Sonoma, which made for good carb loading at the Basque Cafe.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonoma Valley Bike Tours & Rentals also viewed

 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Sonoma Valley Bike Tours & Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonoma Valley Bike Tours & Rentals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.