We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paninis, pastries and teeny sidewalk tables” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basque Boulangerie Cafe

Basque Boulangerie Cafe
460 1st Street East, Sonoma, CA 95476-6702
+1 707-935-7687
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 106 Restaurants in Sonoma
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Bakery, Dessert, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Dessert
Description: The Basque Boulangerie Cafe opened on the historic square of Sonoma in 1994 and offers two generations of baking excellence. "The Basque", as it is affectionately known by locals and return customers, specializes in lightcrumb, crisp sourdough breads and assorted sweet French or Parisian style breads, Danish pastries, morning rolls, cookies and cakes in its lively cafe, as well as delivering these fresh products daily to its wholesale customers. The Basque Cafe offers an extended cafe style menu available all day.
Fair Oaks, California
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Paninis, pastries and teeny sidewalk tables”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We always try to stop here when we're in town, and sometimes we're willing to just drive 2 hours to enjoy the place. You can sit inside or across in the park, enjoy espresso or sandwiches and just savor every bite of everything they make.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    49
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
“1st Rate BnB Bread n Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Saturday morning, 8AM, decided to get breakfast in Sonoma, one of the few places open around the square. WHAT A PLEASANT SURPRISE! We could have been in France or Italy. Friendly service, tables inside and out, great tasting egg and cheese croissants, good strong coffee, and all those baked goods. We enjoyed the local ambiance for about 45 minutes, then left with an assortment of fresh bread and pastries. None of them survived our kids and grandkids to Sunday.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Off track? A great snack!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stopped by mid afternoon looking for a bite in between meals. The chicken salad wad good, but the Chicken painini was great! They also feature delicious baked goods.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great breakfast and coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

What a great place we found by accident. I could not decide between the fresh basked goods and the breakfast so i had both!. The pecan rolls was excellent and fresh and my croissant breakfast sandwich with ham and eggs was excellent as well. Nice selection of coffee to choose from as well. You can get a mug if you are eating in or a cup for "to go". Their are some tables both inside and out. It is crowded for a reason, it is really good!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Everything fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The freshly cooked daily breads/cakes are a must. Very popular with the locals but worth the wait (no too long as staff work very hard)

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basque Boulangerie Cafe also viewed

Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Basque Boulangerie Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basque Boulangerie Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.