We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bakery items are outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basque Boulangerie Cafe

Basque Boulangerie Cafe
460 1st Street East, Sonoma, CA 95476-6702
+1 707-935-7687
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 106 Restaurants in Sonoma
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Bakery, Dessert, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Dessert
Description: The Basque Boulangerie Cafe opened on the historic square of Sonoma in 1994 and offers two generations of baking excellence. "The Basque", as it is affectionately known by locals and return customers, specializes in lightcrumb, crisp sourdough breads and assorted sweet French or Parisian style breads, Danish pastries, morning rolls, cookies and cakes in its lively cafe, as well as delivering these fresh products daily to its wholesale customers. The Basque Cafe offers an extended cafe style menu available all day.
Madison
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Bakery items are outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Raspberry raisin scone, chocolate walnut muffin, chocolate cherry muffin! I came back day after day for the baked goods. They were huge and only $2.15 each. I can't vouch for the meals, but the bakery is excellent and a tremendously good value.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    49
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing hot spot on the Square”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Sonoma square needs a decent cafe for breakfast. We went here because there was no where else to grab a coffee and pastry in the morning. It was jam-packed. The pastries were disappointing as they did not seem fresh. The quiche was dense and flat and seemed like it could have come out of a Marie-Callendars frozen box. The croissants were not fresh. The best thing shared by our table was the French Toast. The cashiers made several mistakes so watch what you are paying for and that you get what you asked for. (In one case they brought us a dish that had been cancelled, in one case they forgot to give us the pastry-although they quickly offered it up when it was mentioned).
At the end of the day of wine tasting, we were again circling the square and an older gentleman was sitting outside near the door promoting all the passers-by to come in and have some of the fantastic food, which he said had been featured on TV.
The coffee is fine and there are no other options in the square but the food we had was a major disappointment.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Bakery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We went here for breakfast and were so impressed with he food we also bought bread here for a lunch we packed. Very friendly people and also they have good coffee.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great spot for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Nothing much to say against this place. The bread was tasty, the tomato and carrot soup we had was definately a hit for us. One of the best soup we have had for a while.

Great food, decent price, definately a winner for sonoma.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cute little bakery/cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

The aromas coming from this bakery/cafe are heavenly and so we were enticed inside. There isn't a great deal of seating inside the cafe but we were able to secure a spot to eat our chocolate croissant which was very tasty. I also bought some football-shaped ginger cookies (it was Super Bowl weekend) which were a mild-ginger flavor and some apple strudel which was very good. The treats we purchased were very good rather than outstanding but I will return to sample more.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basque Boulangerie Cafe also viewed

Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Basque Boulangerie Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basque Boulangerie Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.