We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parents” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mission San Francisco Solano

Mission San Francisco Solano
114 Spain St. at First St., Spain, Sonoma, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 21 attractions in Sonoma
Type: Missions
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This mission is noted for having been founded under Mexican rule.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Parents”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

My parents got married here years ago and they a
Ways talked about how nice is is here and we were recently out west for Christmas and went here and is not just nice here is paridice if I already didn't have a job and home with a wife this would be where I run away to its perfect here

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    19
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Interesting Visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This Mission is very interesting with good historical information and (when we visited) an art exhibition of the different Missions in California painted by a local artist and donated by his son. Not a long visit but the displays and the Chapel are well worth a visit if you are spending some time in the Sonoma Plaza. You get free entry to the Barracks next door if you pay the entrance fee which is also interesting with a video presentation on the history of the area.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Interesting Piece of California History.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Enjoyed seeing this location along with the General Vallejo Home. I liked that it was located in the Sonoma Plaza and we were able to leisurely walk through the Barracks and Mission. The Barracks had an interesting black powder demonstration where they shot off a cannon and gun.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our CA past comes to life here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

You have three different parts of the Mission to visit in charming Sonoma... Great Italian restaurant in town...

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mission San Francisco Solano”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Historical landmark with interesting information. This is the last of the missions in California. The chapel was beautiful, worth a visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mission San Francisco Solano also viewed

 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Mission San Francisco Solano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mission San Francisco Solano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mission San Francisco Solano to your Saves list