We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place of Tranquility!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa to your Saves list
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 E. MacArthur St., Sonoma, CA 95476   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Resort Credit Offer
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Place of Tranquility!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

MacArthur Place is truly amazing, with professional staff, impeccable service, spectacular grounds...and oh yea, the rooms are so beautiful, you may not want to leave them! My sister's maternity leave was just about to end, so we decided to take the baby for a over-night stay in Sonoma. We checked in and did not leave the property until check-out the next day. My sister got a wonderful facial in the Garden Spa. She came back to the room, still in her robe and looked so relaxed. Then we walked down to the library and enjoyed the complimentary wine & cheese hour, next to the fire. We then went to the restaurant on property, Saddles Steakhouse. We were a little nervous bringing a 3 month old into the restaurant, but the staff greeted us so graciously and sat us in an area where we could park the stroller. Luckily, little Lucas slept like and angel. Neither my sister or I consider ourselves big meat eaters, but we decided to splurge and both ordered the petite filet mignon. I wasn't even sure if I was supposed to order sauce with it and Sandy, our server, suggested we wait to see if we felt it needed it. The steaks were juicy & delicious, no sauce needed! This trip was so special it being Lucas' first time staying in a hotel, but more importantly because I knew how badly my sister deserved some real relaxation. MacArthur Place exceeded all our expectations. I'm sure it's more popular as a romantic getaway, but even 2 sisters with a small baby had an incredible experience. Thank you MacArthur Place, we will for sure be back!

Room Tip: Each room is designed a little different so I suggest you indicate your specific requests or desires...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    104
    39
    14
    2
See reviews for
49
322
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent the weekend here for a destination wedding in the area. The property is exquisitely maintained and a beautiful backdrop to spend a weekend relaxing! The pool area was lovely as well as the gardens and the staff was exemplary. The rooms were tastefully done and the bathrooms were magnificent! My only negatives is that parking is difficult with not enough spaces for guests of the hotel and restaurant which was annoying and the rooms are not insulated well so you can hear your neighbors at times. We are light sleepers so it was annoying at times but once our neighbors checked out it was very quiet. Overall, this is a wonderful place to spend a weekend chilling out and enjoying the area or cuddling with a favorite someone!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stokesdale, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

the staff is excellent and helpful. Went out of there way to make sure we where happy.
The rooms are very cool, try to get a first floor suite. They have a nice patio in the back, as well as a front porch. Very homey, and comfortable. Great bed.
Small spa but again great treatment.
Sat by the fire every night with a glass of wine, quite a little gem.
Not much of a view because it is in town, but the grounds are laid out to help you forget that. Would feel secluded if it where not for the traffic noises.


Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a belated review of MacArthur Place - we stayed in October 2013, not 2014 as the date indicates. But MacArthur Place is unforgettable. We felt as if we were the only guests there, even though it was the height of harvest season. By far our favorite time of day was the evening wine in the library, second to lazy afternoons by the pool. A massage at the spa is on our list for the next visit; we just couldn't tear ourselves away from the relaxing poolside chair and glass of merlot to drag ourselves inside. Conveniently located in Sonoma, we walked to town frequently. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhead, Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent three nights at MacArthur Place and were very sad to leave.

Shortly after we made our reservation, my husband called to chat with the owner about our 42nd anniversary we celebrated while there... we were most pleased to be upgraded to what must be the best little cottage ever - Jasmine 38! And we were presented with champagne to toast ourselves. The champagne and chocolates were a lovely, lovely touch.

The suite was very nicely appointed - mighty fine bed, a sofa, chairs, a bar & fireplace, double sinks and soaking tub in the bathroom. The soaps, lotions and other unctions were first rate. We were impressed with the outdoor sitting areas - both a front porch and a back patio.

We enjoyed the movies we checked out from the on-site Library; the Continental Breakfasts, and walking/taking pictures of the beautiful grounds. After much thinking back, we decided MacArthur Place, Blackberry Farm (in Tennessee) and The Davenport (in Spokane WA) are the best places we've ever stayed.

Room Tip: Jasmine 38 is quite private and has both a front porch and back patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our 2nd trip to Sonoma & our 2nd time staying at MacArthur Place. We spent 7 wonderful nights here in room 42 which is a spa room. The bed is very comfortable, the fireplace perfect for the evening. The outdoor shower & tub were wonderful. This was our 25th anniversary & everyone at MP was superb. Nancy the concierge helped us with planning our dinner reservations-all top notch. Everyone at the spa were great & the treatments were extra special. Since it was our anniversary we received numerous cards & gifts from everyone at MP. Bob & Matt the bartenders are the best. They made us feel just like family. The morning breakfast staff are very attentive & knowledgeable ( they even gave us a card on our anniversary).
Continental breakfast is included but we did order from the menu a couple of mornings since we were staying 7 nights. The free breakfast is plentiful but the menu breakfast is fantastic.
Lunch at saddles is wonderful-very fresh & very creative. The Martini bar is small but the drinks are excellent.
There is complimentary wine & cheese from a different vineyard nightly. It is a great way to try new wines.
On site parking is free & you are close enough to town to walk.

Room Tip: Choose a spa room for peace & quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Have enjoyed our 8 day excursion here at MacArthur Place. The grounds are lovely- whimsical in some places, highly manicured in others; beautiful fountains and sculptures throughout. The continental breakfast is more than adequate in both choices and amounts... Room is large w/ a lovely fireplace, comfortable seating, nice linens and bath condiments... Overall, very nice. We're I to offer any suggestion, it might be to separate those traveling with families and those traveling just with adults. There was some noise from a baby in a unit nearby but not enough to even call the front desk. I'd certainly stay her again!

Stayed November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa

Address: 29 E. MacArthur St., Sonoma, CA 95476
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
#2 Spa Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 64 room Sonoma inn and spa set on a historic 7-acre garden estate walking distance to Sonoma Plaza. Heated pool and whirlpool. Full service Spa. Saddles Steakhouse and Martini Bar. Complimentary continental breakfast buffet, evening wine and cheese reception, DVD movies, parking, and wireless internet. Bicycle Rentals. Close to more than 30 wineries. 15 minutes to Napa. AAA 4-Diamond Award. Top 200 US Hotels - Conde Nast Annual "World's Best" Readers Poll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, T4B, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macarthur Place - Sonoma`s Historic Inn And Spa
Macarthur Place - Sonoma`s Historic Hotel Sonoma
Macarthur Place Sonomas Historic Hotel
Macarthur Place Inn & Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.