We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa

Save Saved
You added MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 E. MacArthur St., Sonoma, CA 95476   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Sonoma
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“very comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We spent 3 nights in this great hotel. Great location, within easy walking distance from the centre of town where most things happen. Rooms are very big and comfortable. We ate at Saddles restaurant on the premises one of the nights and had a good meal. We never used the spa, but the pool area and gym are very nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    346
    94
    38
    14
    2
See reviews for
43
301
5
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have just spent 4 nights in this absolutely amazing hotel - the rooms are excellent and the atmosphere of the whole hotel and grounds was informal and very relaxing and immaculately maintained
Saddles restaurant fantastic food and great service - best steak ever! Lovely staff special mention for Sandy.
Walking distance to a lovely town
After three weeks of travelling throughout the west this was by far the best in terms of accommodation amenities and service
Garffild and Sian

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a great hotel in Sonoma. Walking distance from the square and all the restaurants, but far enough away that its quiet.

Each "cabin" has ~4 units, but you never hear your neighbors and you feel isolated which is great.

Perfect staging area for visiting Sonoma and Napa's wineries

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I spent three nights in a great room at MacArthur Place. We had two queen beds, a fireplace and a kitchenette. It was perfect for two women traveling together. Lunch at Saddles the day we arrived was delicious and the complimentary wine and cheese everyday at 5 o'clock hit the spot. The wine hostess was so friendly and helpful about the area and restaurants. To top things off I left my pillow which was returned to me in the mail. Very customer friendly with great service. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms off the main road would be quitter. we faced the main road and could hear slight road noise du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We just returned from our one year anniversary trip to Napa/ Sonoma. This was undoubtedly one of the nicest places we have ever stayed. The check in process was seamless. There was wine tasting every night that we were there in the library...yum! The room was spacious and very comfortable. We loved the bed and pillows. The service was impeccable; we had to turn housekeeping away a couple of times. The property is quiet and has a sense of seclusion (at least #42 does) We only heard our neighbors one time when they were out on the patio at the same time as us. There is an outdoor shower and soaking tub that we used daily. Heaven!! Nothing like a brisk morning air in combination with a hot outdoor shower. I was also in love with the hotel's signature scent (bath wash) We would have been content eating at the on-site restaurant every night (Saddles). The location is within walking distance of the square. Also, this is one of the few hotels that the wine tours will stop to pick up. Nothing negative to say at all.

Room Tip: We loved # 42!!
See more room tips
Green Features: They are conscientious. There is a wooden leaf to place on the bed if you don't require linen change. Other than that, I'm not sure. I'm gonna blame it on the wine:)
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Where do I start. It's difficult to pick out one thing because everyting was wonderful. The Staff, friendly, so helpfull and attentive. The rooms, spacious and so relaxing. The grounds, beautiful and full of adventure with all the paths and the outdoor chess game. The pool, restaruant and afternoon events are so...well they just make you smile. And the Martini's and Burgers are just wonderful. And you can have them while you are enjoying the pool too. Don't forget to try the steam room then jump in the pool to cool yourself off. FUN!

Room Tip: just give them your dream list and they will find the room for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a lovely hotel, within walking distance of Sonoma Plaza and restaurants, shopping and wine tasting. We received a great welcome. The hotel is a series of buildings around walkways and beautiful grounds. Our room was comfortable - - although there were some issues with poor drainage in the shower, which led to some flooding of the bathroom floor. Bed was comfy. there were a few things that would have improved the room - - a magnifying mirror, some complimentary water. We loved the wine and cheese reception in the afternoon, which featured local wineries and an olive oil tasting. complimentary continental breakfast was adequate - - the basics of yogourt, fruit, bagels, toast, cereal, etc.
We adored Sonoma City, and wish we had had more time there. Overall, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa

Address: 29 E. MacArthur St., Sonoma, CA 95476
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Green Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#2 Spa Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 64 room Sonoma inn and spa set on a historic 7-acre garden estate walking distance to Sonoma Plaza. Heated pool and whirlpool. Full service Spa. Saddles Steakhouse and Martini Bar. Complimentary continental breakfast buffet, evening wine and cheese reception, DVD movies, parking, and wireless internet. Bicycle Rentals. Close to more than 30 wineries. 15 minutes to Napa. AAA 4-Diamond Award. Top 200 US Hotels - Conde Nast Annual "World's Best" Readers Poll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macarthur Place - Sonoma`s Historic Inn And Spa
Macarthur Place - Sonoma`s Historic Hotel Sonoma
Macarthur Place Sonomas Historic Hotel
Macarthur Place Inn & Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.