We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Time's A Charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa to your Saves list
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 E. MacArthur St., Sonoma, CA 95476   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Garden Spa Special - $95
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“2nd Time's A Charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Second trip to MP. This time was even better than the first. Once inside the property, it is tranquil and luxurious. Spa was nice - food was good - pool was a great escape from the heat. Clean and comfortable. Place makes you feel like a wanted guest. Service and staff were top notch. Easy walk to Sonoma Square for dinner and drinks without the worry and risk of driving. I highly recommend MP.

Green Features: Ahead or on-par with many hotels. Water use and linen washing policies are good.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    103
    39
    14
    2
See reviews for
48
316
5
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Cedro, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Wow....great place to stay and relax. Bungalow-like easy going vibe but with all the posh-ness you need. Great restaurant, great breakfast, wine & cheese in the library, a real fireplace in the room, beautiful spa and great massage! All around wonderful....AND, I forgot my shoes in my room. I didn't realize until I got home (3 hours away). I called and was immediately told that they had them and would mail them back to me (no charge). This is quite a departure from what I'm used to regarding lost items. Usually, when I've stayed at hotels and have left my child's pillow or a shirt, or our phone charger - when I call, no one has seen it. It was just another example of the wonderful customer service at MacArthur Place.

Room Tip: I'd try to stay in an uper room for a great view from your balcony....but a lower room is still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

In my humble opinion this place has the best massage therapists in Sonoma & Napa. I have been to most spas in the valley and believe this spa is really a cut above with attention to health and wellness.

Went away with group of girlfriends for a spa weekend and we all booked treatments. I was really surprised that I was the only one that requested a male masseuse. "Your loss ladies and my gain!" Massage was so good I booked Travis for the next day!! He gives a really firm massage and works out all the kinks while at the same time giving a calm relaxing massage.

I will definitely be back to The Spa!Nice steam room and they provide tea and cookies in the waiting area...and these are like Mom's home baked cookies.

Also nice we could use the pool afterward and order lunch and cocktails at the pool.

Great place all around with excellent service and well decorated rooms.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel on a beautiful property. Landscaping, gardens and paths felt like a botanical garden. We had a wonderful stay, the staff is very attentive and everything is clean and well maintained. Pool and spa showed and steam room were a nice way to relax after a day of wine tasting. Free Continental breakfasts and wine tastings in the Library are a nice touch. Only downside to our stay was road noise in the middle of the night -room 62 in Acacia is very close to the hwy and trucks backing up in the middle of the night woke us up.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Fantastic stay at MacArthur Place. Great room, great staff, wonderful experience! From the wine and cheese every day at 5pm to the continental breakfast in the morning. Couldn't ask for a more perfectly located (walking distance to the square and tasting rooms) hotel! AND they gave us a bottle of sparkling wine for our anniversary. Terrific!!!

Room Tip: Oak suite was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I visted Sonoma after a business trip to San Francisco in the third week of June and was reminded of the lovely time I had ten years prior....only difference now is that the town square offers more satellite or stand alone wine tasting rooms than ever before. When looking for a place to stay, I actually checked Trip Advisor first (my prior visits included B&Bs and the Sonoma Mission Inn and & Spa) and noticed that MacArthur Place had great reviews.

More than any other hotel/inn in recent memory (and I travel a lot), MacArthur Place had by far the most helpful and attentive phone reservation agents. They offered advice on driving directions (NASCAR was in town), restaurants, the spa, wineries, shops, etc. And when it came to hotel rooms and what made sense for a varying number of female friends staying together, they were honest and sensitive to financial as well as personal needs.

The room we ended up with is lovingly referred to as a "Ya Ya Deluxe" - nicely accomodating 3 people with a spacious bathroom and right next to the spa. We arrived to find champagne, yummy chocolates and tasteful decor. I'd say it was slightly better than I expected.

Two of us had spa appointments that Friday evening and although the spa is small, the treatment rooms are well appointed (very nice tubs) and the services (lavender dream for me) were great (also fairly priced).

We did eat one dinner on-site and although Saddles has cool decor, the food was not as good as I had hoped (by wine country standards).

Overall, great place and I'd stay there any time. Cheers to the staff.

Room Tip: Phone agents will help you through this - look at pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We had our wedding here in May 2014. Linda, the event co-ordinator, and the whole team at MacArthur made it an easy, stress-free and memorable event. When we arrived, the scent from the garden swept us off our feet and created a fairy tale atmosphere for us. The steakhouse was amazing! The whole facility was family friendly and also allowed every couple/family to have privacy and space to themselves. Costs are on the high side but well worth it down to all the little details.

Room Tip: The "Secret Garden" like feel of this venue made every room location seem amazing. We sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa

Address: 29 E. MacArthur St., Sonoma, CA 95476
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sonoma
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
#2 Spa Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 64 room Sonoma inn and spa set on a historic 7-acre garden estate walking distance to Sonoma Plaza. Heated pool and whirlpool. Full service Spa. Saddles Steakhouse and Martini Bar. Complimentary continental breakfast buffet, evening wine and cheese reception, DVD movies, parking, and wireless internet. Bicycle Rentals. Close to more than 30 wineries. 15 minutes to Napa. AAA 4-Diamond Award. Top 200 US Hotels - Conde Nast Annual "World's Best" Readers Poll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, T4B, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macarthur Place - Sonoma`s Historic Inn And Spa
Macarthur Place - Sonoma`s Historic Hotel Sonoma
Macarthur Place Sonomas Historic Hotel
Macarthur Place Inn & Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.