We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic getaway in historic Sonoma” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa

Save Saved
You added MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 E. MacArthur St., Sonoma, CA 95476   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Garden Spa Special
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Sonoma
GreenLeadersGold level
Petaluma, California
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Romantic getaway in historic Sonoma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

My wife and I spent a night away at MacArthur Place just a short distance from the square at Sonoma. We booked massages at the spa and a late dinner at Saddles steakhouse which is on the property. The food at Saddles was absolutely delicious, my wife's steak was prepared perfectly and the staff was gracious and attentive. Highly recommend dinner there!
Our room was cozy and spacious with a private deck and a jacuzzi bath and enormous shower, The decor is homey and a fireplace warmed the room with two comfy chairs facing the fire.
The staff was friendly and inviting and went out of their way to accommodate our night away from home. We had spa treatments and our only regret was that we were there during a rainstorm and couldn't enjoy the pool which we imagined would be a great place to spend some time relaxing.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the cabana suites. A quiet spacious room with a private deck and a spa-like bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    334
    91
    38
    14
    2
See reviews for
42
293
5
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

One of my favorite places in the world. We came to Sonoma to taste wine but spent hours wandering the grounds of the hotel and absorbing the tranquil serenity.

At check-in we were welcomed with hot towels and an introduction to the remarkable zen yoga cat. If all cats were like her, everyone would have a cat. One of our bags was held up by the airline, so the reception gave us the necessary supplies to hold us over. And by the time we got back that evening, the bag was in our room. The staff is warm, friendly, efficient, and they all smile.

There is a large emphasis on the sculptures and gardens. Lots of the landscaping is native, and I suspect the artists are too. It's elegant: well-maintained, but not overdone. The location is good, too -- perfect strolling distance to the plaza. We loved the fabulous yet somehow still healthy continental breakfast, and the complimentary wine tasting in the library every afternoon.

The rooms are gorgeous and don't feel like a hotel. Linens are luxurious and the beds make you feel like royalty. There is plenty of room to unpack and spread out -- extra sofas, large closets. Our room had a nice sitting area with a fireplace and coffee table, plus a bar along one side of the room. And a huge bathroom. The toiletries smell wonderful.

They've done a lovely job maintaining the historical feel of the Inn while providing state-of-the-art conveniences. The buildings are quaint and well-kept and make you wonder about the history of the property (ask the staff, they can tell you!) The Western theme, with saddles in the bar, is hilarious and fun. Free Wifi throughout (of course), and an entertainment center in the room that was easy to operate. A large collection of DVDs in the library (and no charge to use them).

We will be back, though not soon enough!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denair, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed for our 20th anniversary. Upon our arrival we had a lovely little bottle of Champaign waiting for us on the table in our room. Our room was very comfortable, we loved the attention to detail and the rain shower was amazing. We enjoyed the service of having our bed turned down every night with chocolates and fresh fire logs placed on the fireplace. The grounds are absolutely beautiful to walk through. The close proximity to the town square provides a nice walk after dinner in the evening. We found the staff to be very helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

We spent three nights as part of a girl's trip and the accommodations were terrific. Our room faced MacArthur Street and it was a bit noisy, but not unbearable. The spa is cozy and the staff is wonderful. We had massages, facials and mineral baths. All of the services were superb. Ask for Gloria if you schedule a massage. Even in February the grounds were beautiful. The staff was very helpful and friendly. MacArthur Place is just a short walk from the Sonoma square and is a wonderful, quiet place to relax.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed here in December 2013, and it was our 3rd visit.
This was the best one yet! Neither of us was sick, the weather was nice, no noisy neighbors, and a great room!
We had a Deluxe King Suite, and t was really such a nice room! I could live there.
They even brought us complimentary "welcome back" gifts (snacks and such) shortly after we arrived.
The room was comfy, quiet, and just plain wonderful.
Dinner at Saddles was great, drinks at the bar were good, and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Everything about this Inn was great. We arrived late for check in and were warmly greeted. We were upgraded to a wonderful room and given a bottle of wine as we missed the wine reception. The staff went out of their way to help us with our plans. The property was lovely. The breakfast buffet is much better than at most hotels. The wine reception was also lovely and nice way to end the day/ start the evening. I love how this place includes everything in your nightly rate. There is no extras, for wifi, breakfast, etc. I wish more hotels would follow their lead. A special thanks to Bunky for making our trip great!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silicon valley
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We decided that prior to our "real" 30th anniversary bash, we would spend the weekend someplace nice and cozy, Sonoma. There are plenty of places to stay in wine country, but our choice was the MacArthur Place. We couldn't have been happier! Knowing that we were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary, they surprised us with a bottle of champange and chocolates, very nice.

The staff were excellent, from reservations to front desk. They made us feel welcome and did everything that could be asked of a property of this caliber. We stayed in a suite complete with fireplace and HUGE spa bath. Great time at a great place!!

Room Tip: Request a stay at the back of the property which abuts a high school. If you are staying the weeken...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
Charming, Mid-r...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
Free internet...
Show More
1.1 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#4 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Value, Ind...
Show More
6.9 mi away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
5.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Spa, Independen...
Show More
9.3 mi away
Kenwood Inn and Spa
Kenwood Inn and Spa
#1 of 1 in Kenwood
4.5 of 5 stars 352 reviews
Free Parking, P...
Show More
9.8 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#1 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 stars 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa

Address: 29 E. MacArthur St., Sonoma, CA 95476
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
#2 Spa Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 64 room Sonoma inn and spa set on a historic 7-acre garden estate walking distance to Sonoma Plaza. Heated pool and whirlpool. Full service Spa. Saddles Steakhouse and Martini Bar. Complimentary continental breakfast buffet, evening wine and cheese reception, DVD movies, parking, and wireless internet. Bicycle Rentals. Close to more than 30 wineries. 15 minutes to Napa. AAA 4-Diamond Award. Top 200 US Hotels - Conde Nast Annual "World's Best" Readers Poll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macarthur Place - Sonoma`s Historic Inn And Spa
Macarthur Place - Sonoma`s Historic Hotel Sonoma
Macarthur Place Sonomas Historic Hotel
Macarthur Place Inn & Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.