We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Winery

Buena Vista Winery
18000 Old Winery Rd, Sonoma, CA 95476
800.926.1266
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 80 things to do in Sonoma
Activities: Wine tasting, Picnicking, Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A recommended wine-tasting venue in Sonoma Valley.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Visited 4 vineyards and felt that Buena Vista was by far the most beautiful, had a very unique tour
and had the best quality wines...so much we joined their wine club and ordered a case of a variety of wines.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    41
    11
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Norriton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very Good Winery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Tasting room was ok, service wasn't that bad, but the wines where very good. A little over priced but not bad value for what you get.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Girls' Getaway”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We 5 women enjoyed the wine tasting, especially the luscious 2012 Buena Vista Legendary Badge Limited Edition & the 2010 Buena Vista Sparkling Brut.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Beautifully Restored, Lovely Wines & Bubbly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Four of us recently had the pleasure of a private tasting at this historic winery. The winery and caves are fully restored, but the gardens and the vineyards near the winery are still being installed. Our very knowledgable and charming host was Vasile Chicu. We enjoyed all the wines and the port we tasted so much so that we joined the wine club. What a great experience! We would recommend this tour to anyone visiting Sonoma Valley.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainier, Oregon
Top Contributor
503 reviews 503 reviews
186 attraction reviews
Reviews in 162 cities Reviews in 162 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Old winery, being restored”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

BV is the oldest winery in California still operating. It is a bit difficult to find, hidden amongst huge eucalyptus trees, down a winding road. They are in the process of renovating and rebuilding, so it doesn't look as nice as it did (or, hopefully, will). BV wine is average; good for daily drinking. Visiting the winery is good for the historical soul.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buena Vista Winery also viewed

 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Buena Vista Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buena Vista Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.