We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Varied Views But All Are Really Nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonoma Coast State Beach

Sonoma Coast State Beach
HIghway 1, Between Jenner and Bodega Bay, Sonoma, CA
707-875-3483
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 80 things to do in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Fishing, Picnicking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A state park and beach recommended for fishing, walking and picnicking.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
87 attraction reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Varied Views But All Are Really Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is a large beach that consists of various overlooks and stopping points. You can see quite a bit in an hour or so but to really explore the area you may need an entire day. The views are quite scenic and camera friendly. The Arch and Goat Rock were two of the nicest stopping points. Goat Rock also features a beach with white sand not as typical of others in this area. Some areas are more crowded than others.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    19
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Camping at the Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We went camping over Labor Day weekend at Wrights Beach camp site, which is situated on the beach. It has approximately 27 private sites, divided into two sections- campsites with a clear view to the beach and water, and camp sites with a bank of low growing trees between the site and beach. While the view from the sites without out the bank of trees is unbeatable, the bank of trees from the other side shelter your tent from the very windy beach. We stayed on the side with the tree bank and never had to worry about our tent blowing around, tying it down or losing sleep over the wind. The bathrooms were always clean & stocked and there were plenty of them, we never had to wait. The camp host was gracious and friendly, even hosting karaoke a couple of the nights. Each of the camp sites have a picnic table, fire pit and are generous in size- enough for a trailer, truck and personal space (although we only had our car and tent so we had even more room). It was wonderful walking down to the water to watch the sunset (1 minute from the camp site to the water) and then going to bed at night with the sound of the waves to lull you to sleep. Wrights Beach camp site is reasonably priced and approximately a 7 minute drive from the center of Bodega Bay town. There is only one negative about this camp site- there are no on site showers, however the showers at Bodega Dunes camp (a 5 minute drive) site can be used and are free.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivehurst, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Amazing ocean views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is one of the best ever. Amazing ocean views, and at the right time of year great whale watching too. There is a deep trough near the beach frequented by mothers and calves. It's expensive, no doubt about it. Considering the amenities, or lack thereof, the price sounds crazy - unless you get one of the few sites at Wright's beach. Reservations are almost impossible to get, so you might wind up along the entrance road in the overflow spots. They still have fire rings and tables, and some have views.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful Scenic Drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My sister and I recently drove north from Bodega Bay, CA to Jenner on Highway 1 along the Sonoma Coast. There are several places to park and walk down to the Beach. We stopped at South Salmon Creek Beach and Goat Rock Beach. Both were breathtaking with lots of waves and interesting rock formations. I'm ready to go back!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Breath Taking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I love visiting the Sonoma Coast... I grew up there. It is beautiful every time I go there and one of my favorite place to camping.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonoma Coast State Beach also viewed

Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Sonoma Coast State Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonoma Coast State Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.