We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous views and tasty wines!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gloria Ferrer Champagne Caves

Gloria Ferrer Champagne Caves
23555 Highway 121, Sonoma, CA 95476
707 996 7256
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 76 Activities in Sonoma
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Winery in Sonoma Valley featuring bottles of wine that have been dipped in chocolate.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Gorgeous views and tasty wines!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I have been a fan of Gloria for quite some time so was very excited to have the opportunity to stop and taste some of their best offerings. We hit up Cline (just down the road) and then drove the short distance to Gloria, not knowing what to expect.

Arriving we saw a beautiful vinyard and then pulled up in the parking lot to a wonderful front entrance. We weren't exactly sure where to go first but ended up finding the tasting room and talked with a couple of the servers and the manager as we arrived. Everyone was incredibly helpful and said that we could sit anywhere we wanted so we found a table on the patio that overlooked the vines.

It seemed as though a sampler was the route to take because you could get 3 partial glasses and taste a variety. My girlfriend ordered reds and I ordered sparking. All of the wines we tasted were delicious and nicely sized portions. They also came with a small plate of roasted almonds that complimented the wines nicely. Wanting a little more to snack on, we grabbed some cheese and crackers from the self-serve area and had them added to our bill.

The whole experience was relaxing and peaceful. All of the servers were attentive and helpful which helped make this time well spent!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    46
    22
    14
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“She Make Me Feel Alright, and her Name is G.L.O.R.I.A”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I can only speak about my personal experience on Sunday June 9, 2013. We arrived during a members’ event so half of the tables were reserved for them; regardless, since it's a first come first serve regarding tables on the deck my husband hit the loo I found a table. Our first server was a bit aloof, but she was prompt with the bubbles. Our second server was Ryan and he was spot on with his attentiveness and his customer service skills. Now, most people play musical tables meaning when a better-situated spot becomes available people MOVE, so after about half an hour we moved – unfortunately it was out of Ryan’s section but he continued to stop by and check on us. We had a class of the Brute Rosé and the 1993 Royal Cuvée, both delicious; after a bit, Ryan offered us a complimentary glass from a bottle that was opened by mistake (the offer was extended to other tables as well) and we happily accepted. We had been considering becoming members for a very long time and since Gloria Ferrer is almost always the last stop on the way back home we decided to go for it. We came home with a bottle of the 2008 Anniversary Cuvée and the 2008 José S. Ferrer Pinot Noir, a free tasting, complimentary glass of the JSF Pinot Noir and let’s not forget the complimentary glass of the mistakenly opened bottle of bubbly. Great ending to our wine tasting jaunt. Salud!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Top Contributor
565 reviews 565 reviews
152 attraction reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
“This was the sole bad memory of the entire weekend.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I would never come back here. We were treated so terribly by multiple people, and even though they make good bubbly-- and I'm a sucker for bubbly-- I am not eager to repeat the experience.

We came because the Wine Taster app told us they had a buy-one-get-one free tasting deal going on. We get there, and it was: buy a $35-40 glass of wine and get a $6 one for free. What a great deal! We felt like the deal was mis-advertised.

We (politely) asked to see the manager, who snidely asked us to read the fine print and ended up getting very condescending and angry. In the end, she aggressively demanded, "what would make you people happy?" We said, to purchase a tasting deal and to get the same deal for free. She stormed away.

The best part was then when her co-manager (presumably? he never introduced himself-- he just rolled his eyes at us while standing behind her) came over after she left and told us we had been there earlier in the day (we hadn't), that we should just have been happy that we were getting anything for free in the first place (are you kidding?), and that it was inappropriate for us to raise our voices (the female manager was the loudest one among us!).

The female manager came back and gave us both tastings for free. Above and beyond...maybe.... (hence the two-stars, not one) but it also made us suspicious they had spat in them or something. Ugh. This was the sole bad memory of the entire weekend.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“They could have sparkled but fell flat”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

So we headed up to Sonoma for some wine tastings on Memorial Day weekend. The husband comes across an ap that gives you access to deals at the wineries. The deal for Gloria Ferrer is 2 for 1 wine tasting. Now to me that means just what it says - 2 for 1. Well not so here.

We walked up to the tasting area and were told that only wine club members could sit outside and enjoy the view. Non members were confined to indoors. It was a bit cool so we weren't too disappointed but on a nicer day would have.

We entered the tasting room and having been told that there was only table service we were confused by the line at the bar. We asked a server if we could just sit anywhere and were told yes. We grabbed a table and took a look at the menu that was on the table. They sold many wines by the glass and had a few (four, I think) tasting flights. Now one would thing that the 2 for 1 tasting would apply to the "tasting" flights. But our waitress said no - not so. Not only did it not apply to the tasting flights it wasn't even buy one glass get one free. It was actually buy one glass get one crappy (lowest priced) glass free.

We complained, she said she would check with her supervisor, supervisor said that's the deal, we asked for the manager, ,manager arrived and showed us the fine print. Okay but really! She then did a nice turn around and not only gave us the two for one flight tasting but gave us both tastings for free! Normally this save from her would have been enough to save the entire review and get them a good score....

BUT though the female knew how to make a customer happy and save their reputation a male manager also arrived with her. He stood there silently while she handled the situation appropriately. Then after she left to take care of our order he steps back, looks at our table, sneers and rolls his eyes. He starts to walk away but comes back and says scolds us for "raising our voices" ( we hadn't) and says "weren't you here earlier". No, we hadn't been there earlier.

So:1. They have been having this same problem all day, so they should have found a solution by now. 2. There is no excuse for rolling your eyes and sneering at customers!

Two stars for the save by the female manager and the "Anniversary" sparkler was excellent - we did buy a bottle. The guy needs to find another job where he doesn't actually see or talk to real people.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Used to be great - now service stinks, members treated like "whatever"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We've been members here for quite sometime, and this past visit on Saturday is the last time I'll go back to Gloria Ferrer. Here is why:

1) When you're a member, you are shuffled off to a side seating area and often times you end up getting bad views of the valley. You join here because of two things: nice sparkling wine and the view. If you're a member, you often get screwed on the view in lieu of non-members.

2) The service is consistently terrible. You feel like a burden to all involved there. There used to be an older gentleman who used to wait on us, and he was really wonderful, but, the past couple of years it appears to be mainly 18-22 year olds serving drinks who seem like they'd rather be someplace else. They also have an air of "control" over them - we control what you drink, so you will sit here and we will roll our eyes at you. That's a depressing way to feel when you're a customer, regardless of if you're a club member or not.

3) I can get the drinks cheaper at the liquor store.

4) They got rid of their tastings and now it's only bottle and glass service. That's OK, and more traditional in regards to sparkling/champagne, but, it's a shame - they have nice pinots!

5) The only time you should ever go if you are a member anymore is if it's a Tuesday or Wednesday and no tourists are there.

I used to love coming to Gloria to bring friends from out of town, and to meet my family who lives down the street. But, the past year it's just become dreadful. As of Sunday afternoon we are no longer members of Gloria.

Sadly, most of the other sparkling houses in Napa/Sonoma are tourist traps and massive productions. So just go to France if you want something less touristy and more real.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gloria Ferrer Champagne Caves also viewed

 

Been to Gloria Ferrer Champagne Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gloria Ferrer Champagne Caves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.