We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible experience - highlight of our trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Valley Wine Tours

Valley Wine Tours
Sonoma, CA
707-975-6462
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 58 Food & Drink in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Valley Wine Tours (formerly Jake's Valley Wine Tours) offers Napa and Sonoma wine country visitors the real “inside” wine tour experience. We guide you through hard-to-find, small family-owned wineries. Taste award- winning wines and learn all about wine, vineyards and Napa and Sonoma viticulture.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incredible experience - highlight of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This is a really fantastic experience. Bob was wonderful - so personable and genuinely interested in making sure we had a wonderful time. He listened carefully and discreetly to our wine preferences and then changed our itinerary to reflect this. Lunch was delicious and plentiful in a beautiful setting. We would absolutely recommend this and would certainly book again if we came back. Book with confidence and enjoy!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    3
    1
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Valley Wine Tours, Sonoma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This is a great tour company for Wine Country! Bob was a wonderful guide - very laid back, funny and personable. He and I corresponded a few times before our tour of the Russian River area. I requested smaller, boutique wineries and we went to five great places. VWT has relationships with wineries so there is often not a charge to taste. We had a wonderful picnic lunch overlooking a vineyard on linens and china. This was a lovely break during our tour. We also booked VWT for later in our trip for the upper Napa area and again went to mostly smaller, boutique wineries. We had another great day. Bob took care of shipping our wine home so that we did not have to check it or go to UPS ourselves. He made it very easy to enjoy ourselves and knows the smaller wineries well. I would highly recommend VWT and will use them again when we travel to the California Wine Country.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“WOW, what a tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This was my first trip to the Sonoma area, but my third wine tour. We were scheduled to tour with another couple (who never showed up), but we had a very interesting tour with Ron. We left from our hotel in Novato and 15-20 minutes later we were at our first winery.
As luck would have it, Ron also works part-time at the winery, so we made a short stop in the tasting room, we then saw the complete manufacturing operation, heard some very interesting historical info, then went back for additional wine tasting & purchases. That day we went to four additional medium sized wineries, went to an olive oil/balsamic mill saw various production techniques and were provided a wonderful lunch.
We started at 10AM and finished a little after 4PM, saw quite a bit, tasted a lot of wine and truly
enjoyed ourselves. It was a GREAT DEAL, and I would do it again.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wine tour Sonoma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I found this company on TripAdvisor and have to say it was a wonderful experience! Our tour was listed as a group tour but there was only one other couple besides my husband and I. We were picked up and dropped off right at our hotel in Sonoma. We toured 5 wonderful wineries and had lunch at the third one. All of the wineries were very friendly! We had a terrific time! Thanks again Bob and Valley Wine Tours for a great experience! I will be sending more friends your way!
Sincerely, Elaina

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Grove, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Sonoma Wine Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

After looking at many tours available, we decided on Valley Wine Tours. We took the tour on June 12. Thanks to Ron who was our guide for the day. Ron's knowledge was excellent. It was by far the best day during our week in the area. Perfect is the best description. Thanks Ron! Tom and Debbie

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valley Wine Tours also viewed

 

Been to Valley Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valley Wine Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.