We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and charming hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen to your Saves list
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   405 First St. W, Sonoma, CA 95476   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Modern and charming hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We came here for a quick getaway and it was our first time staying at the hotel. The rooms are tidy and the staff is so nice and courteous.

We wanted to order room service right before the kitchen closed and they went out of their way to make sure our order was put in! The food is some of the best I've had in Sonoma.

I recommend taking advantage of their winter rates as the hotel and Sonoma in general is a lot less crowded. We'll definitely be back!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    86
    26
    25
    12
See reviews for
16
125
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The location is great. The bed was extremely uncomfortable. Lots of noise from the restaurant in the room. No elevator so had to carry bags up the stairs. No liquid soap in the shower.
Staff did not differentiate between someone eating at the restaurant and a hotel guest.
Would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Really good time went back three times and always had fun servers and great drinks and food!

Would go back for sure, we had a private home l1/2 mile from here and never bothered cooking at home.

Be sure to enjoy this stop...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed at the El Dorado for 2 nights in Mid October. Very nice hotel for the value and very comfortable beds. The restaurant is great with a nice cocktail and wine list. The El Dorado is right in the Sonoma Town square so walking to breakfast, lunch, dinner is a breeze. I felt very pleased with the value for the rooms. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The location of the hotel right on the plaza was perfect for walking around to get a bite to eat or just explore. We happened to stay on a Tuesday night, which meant the Farmer's Market took over the center of town. You can bring your own wine and enjoy the sights and sounds just a short walk away, so I definitely recommend it if you're in town at the right time.

I would also suggest requested a room overlooking the courtyard, as it's quieter and makes for a nice balcony view as well. The staff was excellent in helping us check out a few vineyards as we did not have much time to research before our trip. The price was great, and I would definitely stay here again if we find ourselves in the area.

Room Tip: Definitely go with a room overlooking the courtyard if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Spoke to both Courtney and Katrina regarding website "stay and save", Courtney also discussed with manager Treg. Will not acknowledge both for a 4 night stay. Plus means in addition to
Rooms are small. Facing street is loud.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed in one of the rooms near the pool and enjoyed the quiet patio and easy access to parking lot. Parking lot is small and we had to park on street one day but it is such a great location that you don't need to drive other than going to wineries. Great food and service. Apparently a very popular place for dinner/drinks because it was consistently busy. Breakfast was good and easy to get into eat.

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool were quiet and you can enter/leave without walking through the lobby. Room a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen

Address: 405 First St. W, Sonoma, CA 95476
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the historic downtown Sonoma Plaza, 45 minutes north of San Francisco, our boutique hotel reflects the simple charm of the wine country as well as the urban sophistication of our guests.From world class dining at our El Dorado Kitchen, to relaxing poolside, to enjoying the area’s many local activities the El Dorado Hotel is a one of a kind destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Hotel And Kitchen
El Dorado Hotel Kitchen
El Dorado Sonoma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.