We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andrea's Hidden Cottage

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sonoma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Andrea's Hidden Cottage
Save
You added Andrea's Hidden Cottage to your Saves list
138 East Spain Street, Sonoma, CA 95476   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
“Very Nice Again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed at this very cute cottage for about out 6th time in September. Small bed, new spa on the spacious patio. Nice people and just a great location. Must go to the main house to get towels. Small kitchen with a microwave and sink and a small table. About a 2 min walk to Sonoma Square so can't beat the location. Parking spot. No frills.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    8
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This cottage is a perfect setting and value for a couple's weekend! Don't be fooled by its address on one of the main roads of Sonoma Square. Although it is walking distance to the main square where you can enjoy tastings and excellent cuisine, the cottage is set back from the street and allows for plenty of privacy. It is nestled amidst grapevines and even has a private patio complete with a clean, new spa.

Management is very helpful and quite hospitable. The bathroom and kitchenette are clean and equipped with most everything that you need. I'll definitely be recommending this to friends and family!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

I noticed that this cottage doesn't have a lot of TripAdvisor reviews and wondered why. Well, the guestbook dating back over five years were chock full of satisfied guests and their thank yous, which gave us immediate comfort when checking in. This was a great find. First, the location is impeccable - usually when they say a block away, it is a long block away - however, this is a half block away and literally less than a two minute walk away from the Plaza. Second, while a small cottage, the patio is a very nice size and the hot tub is amazing (even during the summer, it gets cold enough at night where a soak in the tub feels quite nice). Third, the cottage has everything you need for a longer stay minus a stove or hot plate (they provide a grill outside and charcoal, but I'm not much for grilling). I recommend this Cottage considering the price, location, and comfort of having your own cottage.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here while we toured Sonoma and Napa Valleys. We couldn't have asked for a better location! It's a cute little bungalow, with a private jacuzzi, backyard vineyards, and rose gardens. The cottage is located 1 block from Sonoma Plaza, with plenty of good dining options as well as shopping. We rented bikes from a company right off the plaza and toured Sonoma wine country that way =)

Maybe the best part was the estate bottled Chardonay waiting for us when we arrived.

Can't wait to go back!

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

Had a pretty nice quiet stay until I returned home and received a nasty demeaning letter from them. Received letter stating that basically we were slobs and left the place so dirty and disgusting that she was going to warn other inn keepers not to take reservations from us. Now don't get me wrong I didn't get down and scrub floors or wash sheets, but all garbage was placed in bags and dishes were washed. I was unaware that we were to do those things as we payed good money for the room, I have never had a problem before and even if there would have ever had a problem never would I expect to have been addressed as rudely as I was by this women. So if you plan to clean the place to be able to eat off the floor before you leave its great, if not pay the few more dollars to stay in a place were you will not be insulted.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

We LOVED this little place! It was the perfect size for the two of us. There is a small kitchen, bathroom, bedroom, and private patio/jacuzzi, and it's cheaper than the hotel rooms we looked at! Everything was very comfortable and clean and it is literally 2 or 3 houses away from Sonoma Square, so it's a wonderful location for wandering downtown. The private hot tub was a relaxing way to end a long day of wine touring and window shopping. The older lady that runs the place is very friendly and available for questions, but she leaves you in privacy.

If you're looking for luxury, this is not the place for you, but if you want a quaint, comfortable, and private retreat during your wine country stay, this is it!

If we ever make it back to Sonoma, we are staying here again for sure!

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blonde6138
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

This cottage is within walking distance from the Square in Sonoma, where there are three tasting rooms. You get a free bottle of wine with your stay and the hot tub is awesome. Its cool to stay right at a vineyard. its small but quaint and has great water pressure in the shower. Bring your own toiletries and your all set.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andrea's Hidden Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrea's Hidden Cottage

Address: 138 East Spain Street, Sonoma, CA 95476
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Number of rooms: 1

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andrea's Hidden Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.