We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accessible "Get Away"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andrea's Hidden Cottage

Andrea's Hidden Cottage
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sonoma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Andrea's Hidden Cottage
138 East Spain Street, Sonoma, CA 95476   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 11 hotels in Sonoma
San Francisco, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very accessible "Get Away"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This cottage is a perfect setting and value for a couple's weekend! Don't be fooled by its address on one of the main roads of Sonoma Square. Although it is walking distance to the main square where you can enjoy tastings and excellent cuisine, the cottage is set back from the street and allows for plenty of privacy. It is nestled amidst grapevines and even has a private patio complete with a clean, new spa.

Management is very helpful and quite hospitable. The bathroom and kitchenette are clean and equipped with most everything that you need. I'll definitely be recommending this to friends and family!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

I noticed that this cottage doesn't have a lot of TripAdvisor reviews and wondered why. Well, the guestbook dating back over five years were chock full of satisfied guests and their thank yous, which gave us immediate comfort when checking in. This was a great find. First, the location is impeccable - usually when they say a block away, it is a long block away - however, this is a half block away and literally less than a two minute walk away from the Plaza. Second, while a small cottage, the patio is a very nice size and the hot tub is amazing (even during the summer, it gets cold enough at night where a soak in the tub feels quite nice). Third, the cottage has everything you need for a longer stay minus a stove or hot plate (they provide a grill outside and charcoal, but I'm not much for grilling). I recommend this Cottage considering the price, location, and comfort of having your own cottage.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here while we toured Sonoma and Napa Valleys. We couldn't have asked for a better location! It's a cute little bungalow, with a private jacuzzi, backyard vineyards, and rose gardens. The cottage is located 1 block from Sonoma Plaza, with plenty of good dining options as well as shopping. We rented bikes from a company right off the plaza and toured Sonoma wine country that way =)

Maybe the best part was the estate bottled Chardonay waiting for us when we arrived.

Can't wait to go back!

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

Had a pretty nice quiet stay until I returned home and received a nasty demeaning letter from them. Received letter stating that basically we were slobs and left the place so dirty and disgusting that she was going to warn other inn keepers not to take reservations from us. Now don't get me wrong I didn't get down and scrub floors or wash sheets, but all garbage was placed in bags and dishes were washed. I was unaware that we were to do those things as we payed good money for the room, I have never had a problem before and even if there would have ever had a problem never would I expect to have been addressed as rudely as I was by this women. So if you plan to clean the place to be able to eat off the floor before you leave its great, if not pay the few more dollars to stay in a place were you will not be insulted.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

We LOVED this little place! It was the perfect size for the two of us. There is a small kitchen, bathroom, bedroom, and private patio/jacuzzi, and it's cheaper than the hotel rooms we looked at! Everything was very comfortable and clean and it is literally 2 or 3 houses away from Sonoma Square, so it's a wonderful location for wandering downtown. The private hot tub was a relaxing way to end a long day of wine touring and window shopping. The older lady that runs the place is very friendly and available for questions, but she leaves you in privacy.

If you're looking for luxury, this is not the place for you, but if you want a quaint, comfortable, and private retreat during your wine country stay, this is it!

If we ever make it back to Sonoma, we are staying here again for sure!

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blonde6138
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

This cottage is within walking distance from the Square in Sonoma, where there are three tasting rooms. You get a free bottle of wine with your stay and the hot tub is awesome. Its cool to stay right at a vineyard. its small but quaint and has great water pressure in the shower. Bring your own toiletries and your all set.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in Korea
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

This cottage was recommended to us by a friend and we felt fortunate to secure a 3-night August booking a month or so beforehand. It's located in the large backyard of an Italian grandmother's house, surrounded by her small vineyard, and with horses grazing close by. It's also incredibly close to Sonoma's town square - about a 30 second walk away. The cottage bookings are done by another lady (Barbara) who was very helpful via email prior to our arrival.

The cottage itself has three rooms - the main bedroom with an elevated TV, a small bathroom and a functional kitchen with fridge, microwave, coffee maker and ample supplies for tea & coffee. Down a couple of steps from the bedroom is a fenced-off area surrounded by grapevines containing a huge hot tub, outdoor table and chairs and small BBQ. We didn't use the BBQ but the hot tub was awesome. The cottage is very private, quiet and has free parking just metres away - and the car is hidden from view from the street. The guest book was also a nice touch.

We loved Nonna and the free bottle of wine from her own vineyard!
We also loved the proximity to Sonoma's town square, which has truly fantastic shopping and restaurants.
The only thing we didn't love was the bed - it was only a double (which is on the small side for many couples) and very soft and saggy - not a comfortable night's sleep.

Overall, a delightful stay and highly recommended for couples seeking a quiet, romantic time in Sonoma.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Andrea's Hidden Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrea's Hidden Cottage

Address: 138 East Spain Street, Sonoma, CA 95476
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 hotels in Sonoma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andrea's Hidden Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Andrea's Hidden Cottage to your Saves list