We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, outdated amenities, very expensive!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sonoma Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sonoma Hotel to your Saves list
Sonoma Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   110 W. Spain St., Sonoma, CA 95476   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location, outdated amenities, very expensive!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The location is fabulous-- right on Sonoma Square. It's very quaint, however the rooms are small and the facilities are outdated. There is no elevator. We had to pay extra to have a third person in our hotel room, and even the largest room in the hotel was very crowded for the three of us-- and we're New Yorkers, so we're not used to very much space. (Side note: there isn't a full length mirror-- bring your own if you're getting ready for a wedding!)

The pastries served for breakfast were out-of-this-world delicious. Wake up hungry!

There's a great trail behind the hotel for hiking and running, and there's also a nice bike bath for casual strolling.

Overall, I had a good stay, but I think the price was too high given the size of the room and the outdated amenities.

Room Tip: Be prepared that they charge extra if you plan to have more than 2 guests in a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    33
    16
    15
    12
See reviews for
5
48
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at the Sonoma Hotel. It is at the corner of the square. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff is very friendly. In this tight net community you feel safe and free to be yourself. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: For better lighting to put on makeup choose a room with the vanity in the room and not the bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This was my 2nd visit, and it will not be my last, that I can guarantee.

Love the antiques throughout the hotel. Having stayed here before, I knew there was no elevator, so we repacked before arriving, leaving our big suitcases in the trunk and only brought our carry ons into the room. Street parking was close to the hotel. The beds were comfortable. Loved that there was air conditioning as it was a bit warm with the sunshine. Although in fall when the temps cool down, the windows can be opened.

Appreciated the continental breakfast - best sweet rolls and a nice variety to accompany the coffee, tea and juice offered. The wine sampling in the evening was a very nice touch.

Loved that the hotel was low in occupancy - I think a maximum of 16 people.

Great restaurant directly adjacent to the hotel.

Rest assured, I will be returning for a 3rd time and beyond.

Room Tip: Our room was directly over the street on what I think was the east side of the building, so we could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton PA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Room was clean but on the third floor - no elevator. No amenities to speak of. Arrived in the evening after a long day of travel. Lukewarm welcome. Front desk staff during our stay was excellent or half asleep -varied from shift to shift. I expected better. Town is lovely (Except Tuesday evenings after market day. The local bars and roaring pickup trucks were out first impression of the town-the rest of the week was fine. Did not stay on weekend). No comfortable seating in room or lobby.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coppell texas usa
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We found the hotel to be clean, comfortable, with friendly staff. The location is perfect! There is a good pastry selection for breakfast with a large variety of teas to choose from. I would suggest requesting a room on the 3rd floor due to creaking boards over head.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

A group of us stayed here for a weekend in March.
Pros: The location is great, right on the square. The rooms are small-ish but super clean and the price was reasonable. It's a historic hotel within walking distance to coffee and some great restaurants. (Girl and the Fig was sold out so we dined at the Harvest Moon Cafe which served fantastic food.) Coffee and OJ and some pastries are offered in the morning and wine in the afternoon. Rooms have air conditioning. We were on the front of the hotel and it was not noisy even with our window open.
Cons: I'm giving this hotel a decent review but actually our queen bed was wonky. It sagged in the middle which meant we had problems sleeping. Also, some of our friends complained about noise from other rooms. Check in was super slow due to their reservation system (so said the woman who checked us in.)

I would probably stay here again if I could give the bed a comfort test.
There is no room service and I'm giving a neutral rating for the restaurant since I don't consider Girl and the Fig part of the hotel, despite being connected.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayfield, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We had booked a regular room with 2 beds but on the morning of our arrival I got a call from the hotel staff advising us that the housekeeper called in sick and that they would not be able to get our room cleaned in time, so would we mind taking a suite with 1 queen bed and a sofa bed in the living area? It was a lovely room and my daughter said the sofa bed was nice and comfortable. I had stayed at this hotel about 14 years earlier and I'm glad we went back. The building is old with wonderful creaky floors and stairs. We were on the 3rd floor and there is no elevator, but we managed. The bathroom was huge but could use a bit more counter/storage space for toiletries. Great location at the corner of the town square, so easy walking distance to lots of restaurants and tasting rooms. They have a free local wine happy hour and a simple but nice continental breakfast in the lobby. Parking is on the street and a bit hard to fine at times.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonoma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonoma Hotel

Address: 110 W. Spain St., Sonoma, CA 95476
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonoma Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sonoma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonoma Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.