We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Helpful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonoma County Tourism Office

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sonoma County Tourism Office
Sonoma, CA
800-576-6662
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 21 Attractions in Sonoma
Type: Other
Attraction details
Sacramento, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Helpful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The 2 people working on Thursday morning when we stopped by were very friendly & helpful. They offered us 2 for 1 wine tasting coupons, gave us maps & information on area attractions

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Look for promotional materials”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Our hosts during our stay in Sonoma provided us with cards from various wineries that came from the tourism bureau. These cards not only give you directions to wineries and what wine they specialize in, but also give you discounts such as free or BOGO tastings. If you don't have these promotional discounts it may be worth to stop at the tourism office and inquire where you can get them.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalama
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Helpful for our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

They helped us with accommodations and our tours. During the summer afternoon it was nice to stay away from the crowds.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calif
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good information site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

What to know something go here, I was a little disappointed that they seemed to be more slanted to the wine tours and such but what the heck it is the wine area right?

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ask detailed questions before making reservations with winecountrytrekking.com”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Below is the feedback from my husband and I regarding our trekking trip with WINECOUNTRYTREKKING.COM:

Positives:
Trekking materials and guidebooks were very well done.
Nice touch with the water bottles and note at the first hotel.
First and last hotels met expectations (Casa Madrona in Sausalito/Gaige House in Sonoma)
Meals provided were very good and and it was nice to have options from the delis.
The wineries and wine tastings we attended in Sonoma were very nice.
Kim, who provided transportation for us in Sonoma, was wonderful.
Negatives/Perceptions:
The hike from Sausalito to Muir Beach is not a hike for recreational hikers. For my husband and I it was OK but certainly did not meet the critieria of recreational and "if you can walk you can do it". In places the "trail" was nothing more than what appeared to be ruts caused by rain and covered in rocks. It was actually quite treacherous in places.
The Pelican Inn was OK but the bathroom was one of the worst I have experienced. We were in room 7 and taking a "shower" was out of the question.
Only my husband and I did the hike from Muir Woods to the Mtn. Home Inn. The hike was good until we got to the part where the trail had been closed a month ago and will be closed until the end of the year (future reference for future hikers). Fortunately they had a map at the trail closure so we found an alternate route. I really felt like this should have been known and communicated in advance and possibly an alternative trek offered if possible.
The Mtn. Home Inn did not meet expectations. It was reminescent of state park lodging with stained carpet and furniture.
We chose not to do the trekking in Sonoma for a couple of reasons:
- we were burned out from the previous hiking and lodging accommodations and wanted to unwind and enjoy the Gaige House
- much of the trekking in Sonoma included walking on two-lane roads without shoulders and it didn't feel safe after dodging traffic from Benzinger Winery to Gaige House.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonoma County Tourism Office also viewed

Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Sonoma County Tourism Office? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonoma County Tourism Office, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.