We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another visit to this hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hadsten House Dining Room

Hadsten House Dining Room
1450 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463
800-457-5373
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hadsten House Dining Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 58 Restaurants in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Lompoc, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Another visit to this hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Since I was craving my lobster bisque and it was our 25th anniversary, we headed to Solvang to the Hadsten House for one of my favorite meals. Since the lobster bisque, which arrives with a bonnet of puff pastry, is so filling, I just had it and their wonderful spinach salad. My husband had his favorite, pork chop served with roasted potatoes, asparagus and a wonderful fig and dried fruit sauce. This place has a great wine list, too. We are always too full for dessert but I'm sure they are great as is the service and atmosphere. Try to get a table next to the fireplace, very romantic.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    29
    10
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Salmon and Pork Chop Tonight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed at this Inn for one night, the rooms were very nice and a great value during midweek. The bistro has a very modern and "Hitchcocky" feel to it (as does the lobby) - somewhat dark and mysterious. Service was prompt and speedy.

Start: Bread was a tiny bit hard, however I enjoyed pouring the balsamic onto the plate of oil by ourselves.

Apps: Calamari was probably the best I have had. It was breaded perfectly without the use of overpowering oils or seasoning. Also had a salad with nice greens, just a tad overload on the oil.

Middle: Salmon - we both agreed it was probably the best ever, as was with the pork chop, too.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Restaurant was recommended by our hotel staff. Gourmet food at a good price with an excellent wine list. Wait staff very attentive and professional. Will dine there again on our next Santa Ynez wine tasting trip.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excelent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Service, cuisine and ambiance were great; they could turn the music down a touch. Perry Como, Frank Sinatra, Tony Benet, and the rest of the old crooners are great to listen to during dinner, but at a slightly lower decibel level.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, California
Top Contributor
398 reviews 398 reviews
276 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 150 cities Reviews in 150 cities
658 helpful votes 658 helpful votes
“Though in a motel, it exceeds many other places here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Hadsten's 'secret' dining room turned out to be the culinary surprise of our 3-day visit to Solvang. The tasteful and romantic atmosphere of this "21st Century Hunting Lodge" venue actually exceeded the oversold, faux-"Danish" formulaic decors so common in other places in town. Staff took care of our every need for the anniversary occasion and allowed us to sample a wide variety of specialty wines from the local Santa Ynez Valley appellation, all served at exact temperatures.

Seating and utensils were comfortable and appropriate. Though somewhat expensive, the menu items lived up to their billing, especially the select seafood entrees. We were never rushed yet the staff was attentive to our every need. Reservations are advised in the busy summer season. Parking is adequate but entry/exit from or to the main street can be tricky due to visibility issues. The restaurant is towards the rear of the motel property.

Bottom line: Make at least one of your Solvang suppers at Hadsten House and live adventurous, trying something wild on the menu... you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hadsten House Dining Room also viewed

 

Been to Hadsten House Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hadsten House Dining Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.