We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant dining in a hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hadsten House Dining Room

Hadsten House Dining Room
1450 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463
800-457-5373
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hadsten House Dining Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 58 Restaurants in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Pleasant dining in a hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Good food and good service. Nice wine list with very good prices for California wines. The menu selections are varied. A quiet dining experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    29
    10
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Trying to hard...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

The food is just OK bordering on eh. There is a variety, but no clear direction or connecting thread. This saturday night dining experience should have been better

I started with the lobster bisque which was watery and didn't have a lot of depth of flavor. The soups bowl was also topped with puff pastry. My wife had a spinach salad that was overdressed and mushy and our friends Caesar salad looked like it came from a bag.

I had the chicken marsala. The chicken breast was dry and served on top of a portobello mushroom, with mashed potatoes, sautéed spinach and then sauced. The sauce was thin and flavorless.

My wife had the pork chop. It was again a tower of food. The potatoes were under seasoned as we're the asparagus tips. The double chop was cooked nicely. The chutney chunks should have been chopped finer. The pieces were too big.

Our friend did like his short ribs.

We opted out of dessert.

I'm a little confused at why this place is in the top 10 in Solvang.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cozy with good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Lovely fireplace, service excellent and food wonderful. Salmon dinner was very well prepared. Good value and quality.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very nice ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Friendly service, delicious food that looked amazing and cozy seating. Recommend the calamari and vegetarian raviolo with pesto. Only thing missing is a full bar.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“LOVE THIS PLACE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is one of our favorites in the Santa Ynez Valley. With its beautiful dining room, friendly staff and fantastic food its a WIN WIN WIN.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hadsten House Dining Room also viewed

 

Been to Hadsten House Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hadsten House Dining Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.