We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pizza, love the garlicky sauce” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Giovanni's Pizzeria

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Giovanni's Pizzeria
1988 Old Mission Dr, Suite 7, Solvang, CA 93463-2261
805-688-1888
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 57 Restaurants in Solvang
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good pizza, love the garlicky sauce”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Located in a small plaza just outside of the touristy part of Solvang, Giovanni's is a small pizza joint that has a pretty extensive menu. I had the house special pizza and it was baked to perfection. Lots of bell peppers, mushrooms, olives, pepperoni, canadian bacon and gooey mozzarella cheese. I loved the garlicky sauce and even though it was distributed evenly, I wish it had more to get more of the garlic taste. They also had draft beef, about 4 or 5 selections. They also had a few pasta offerings on the menu but the salad was limited to an antipasto and garden salad. If you're craving for some good pizza without the tourist price attach to it then hop in the car and take the 3 minute drive down Mission Dr, about a mile down from Mission Santa Ynez is Giovanni's.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    7
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newport beach, ca
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Good family friendly pizzeria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is pizzeria where you order at the counter and pick it up from the counter when it is ready. The food is good, the selection enough for everyone to find something.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Burned Pizza”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We went to Giovannis after not having been there for several months. We rarely go out but have gone there several times over the last 20 years we have lived in Santa Ynez. We always got the Giovannis special with thin crust and it was always excellent until this last time on Wednesday.

The pizza toppings were scorched and totally dried out. The crust was dark brown and so crispy that it was impossible to cut through it. This was the worst pizza I have ever had. We told the counterman who seemed to think that burned pizza was perfectly acceptable and how it should be since it was thin crust.

Will never go back there again and spend almost $20.00 for a burned pizza and be scorned by the staff as well. If there were a rating less than terrible I would use it. Even my dogs would not eat the left overs.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
“garden pesto to die for!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

great pizza, great employees, just hard to get into parking lot. love the ranch dressing. manager recommended it and was spot on!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
local16
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Giovannis Pizza, Solvang Ca.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Not a bad pizza although I liked their original sauce better than the newer owners' mix. Less zing.
The garden pesto is great but a little watery.
Another good one - the bbq chicken with cilantro I have enjoyed since 1983 when Joe, the handicapped founder offered it.
Bet that I will be back in the near future.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni's Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Giovanni's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giovanni's Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.