We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUM YUM” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mortensen's Danish Bakery

Mortensen's Danish Bakery
1588 Mission Dr, Ste 2, Solvang, CA 93463-2634
805-688-8373
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 57 Restaurants in Solvang
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout, Dessert
Seal Beach, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“YUM YUM”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

i think that these are the best cookies. I got three tubs for $46.50. However I ate one tub in one day when I got home so i should have bought more. The place was not crowded on the Sunday morning i was there due to the Danish Days celebration in the streets going on. Usually it is packed with people trying to pay at the counters. I have eaten cookies from some of the other places in Solvang and I think that the cookies here are the best. And then cost more so they must be, right...lol

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    53
    19
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“nice stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Enjoyed walking around this little town. Stopping at Mortensen's was icing on the cake :) nice ambience, attentive service (even though we were just eating a pastry and drinking water), good bakery. Tried a danish waffle which was yummy!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Pastries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great pastries, great service and lots of selection. We bought for takeout, but decided to sit at a table and they we're happy to provide water.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Couldn't fault it - Delicious Danish Pastries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were recommended to visit Solvang during our drive up the coast and stumbled across this place whilst walking around. The pastries were delicious and the warm friendly service was a breath of fresh air. The restaurant had the warm feel like it hadn't changed inside for 20 years (but in a good way), i was surprised when they said they accepted credit cards. We would definitely visit again if we went back to Solvang.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Danish Pastry Paradise at Mortensen's Danish Bakery in Solvang”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

A few years ago, we met a man on a bus from LAX to the car rental area who struck up a conversation with us about Mortensen's. He said that he used to live in Solvang and now lives in So Cal but still had a certain pastry sent to him by Mortensen's every month. We weren't going to Solvang that trip, but we made mental note and this trip to Solvang tried the famous Danish bakery. It's quite overwhelming checking out all of the pastries available. There are Danish looking lasses waiting to take your order and wrap or box it all up for you, or put it on a plate to eat in the shop. We bought a cinnamon ring and ate it at a table. A waiter appeared and took our drink order. Husband and I shared the cinnamon ring which was quite good. We also purchased a few other pastries to take back to our hotel for the next morning. They were both quite flaky and tasty. I also purchased a pistachio pastry that was way too sweet for me. I ate part of the pistachio nuts, but had to throw out the rest as it was sickeningly sweet. I love the flaky pastries and the butter ring and will stick to those as they weren't as overloaded and sugary as the pistachio

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mortensen's Danish Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Mortensen's Danish Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mortensen's Danish Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.